We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“No plus points I can think of” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of San Marco Hotel and Casino

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
San Marco Hotel and Casino
Ranked #24 of 32 Hotels in Willemstad
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“No plus points I can think of”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Stayed here with work with 3 other colleagues. It would appear the higher the floor the better the room as my colleagues room on the floor below was average to say the least and the other colleague on the floor below that was terrible. My room was acceptable and didn't have too many complaints but the other rooms were bad. Breakfast was terrible and after two days we skipped it completely. Location is good but the alleyway along the hotel is very unkept. Overall I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    56
    60
    23
    21
See reviews for
40
72
24
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

So we stayed at this hotel for the location. And is in the middle of the tourist town. We spent two nights. The rooms smelled and were dirty. The safe in two of the three rooms we booked were broken and were not fixed even after we said something. Did I say my room smelled...gross. Staff was pleasant.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Jecker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Willemstad hotels

Trinidad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

This was the third and last time am staying in San Marco thinking it would improve but they just keep getting worst. Same cheap breakfast every morning, cheese, sausage, only 2 stale slice bread and dry leftover sweetbread made a week ago and when I ask for another slice of bread i was embarrassed by one of the cooks saying they cant give more,and imagine I payed for that .The room has a funny scent when u enter an even after the grumpy maids halfway clean. The ceiling has brown water marks all over, the shower has cracks, the bed sheets has stains. u could barely fit in the toilet. The two fat front desk assistants are very grumpy and unfriendly. I hope the manager or owner can read this and do some research. All the Trinidadians i met said they are never staying there again.

Room Tip: If you have to stay on business or vacation choose another hotel than San marco.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rishi365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st john's NL
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

You have fabulous food, particularly your breakfast food but what this hotel is serving is disappointing, the room is ok, the service ok the location pretty good except that at the time of my stay they are digging up all the paving around the hotel. There is a seedy casino on the ground floor, but the price is right if you want to explore Willemstad for a day and watch the cruise ship passengers float in their bowl, did I mention - one day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spindoctor_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Payne, Alabama
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

Friendly staff, breakfast included in rate, we paid $100 USD for a three bed room. The hotel is in walking distance of excellent shops and restaurants. The room itself was basic, but that was all we needed for the night. We had arrived early, so we just picked somewhere and made the best of it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank southernx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trinidad
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012

SAN MARCO hotel is in an excellent LOCATION .........shopping is at its front door all around you...... brand name stores ....... like tommy hilfiger , lacoste,,guess etc........ other stores had some great deals on non brand name items ............FOOD......... breakfast @ san marco was not the best for me but u can choose between cheese ,eggs , sausages ....that was the choices daily i spent 5 days here and i had toast and cheese every day ,basic orange juice , coffe, hot chocolate ... for me i can say they can upgrade the menu FOOD around on the street was junk foos kfc, subway mc donalds a bit expensive .....STAFF........ very unfriendly not much eye contact , no service with a smile.........ROOMS ......... very clean ,clean towels daily ,bed made daily which i really appreciated house keeeping starts their duties very early which made it a bit difficult to sleep in late on morning i think its the tiled floors caused the noises from dragging the mop bucket around but the good thing is u are sure to step out your room to a clean corridor ...........SAFETY ..........was not an issue the card sytem for the elevator was great ........i felt very safe here ........ PRICE ....... was great value .all together my stay at san marco was a great one i will definately be staying @ san marco again...........

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nalini s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

The hotel has some character to it with the antiques located in the hallways but the room did not look anything like the plush rooms featured on their website. It was clean though and we had a peaceful night's sleep.
We just stayed here one night while laying over to another destination and left before breakfast so I have no comment on the food.
I would like to return just to experience the local. It is situated right in the middle of a large shopping district which looks like it would be fun to explore.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pembina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Willemstad hotels
0.2 mi away
Plaza Hotel Curacao
Plaza Hotel Curacao
#27 of 32 in Willemstad
3.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
0.3 mi away
Otrobanda Hotel and Casino
Otrobanda Hotel and Casino
#23 of 32 in Willemstad
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.4 mi away
Curacao Suites Hotel
Curacao Suites Hotel
#12 of 32 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Holiday Beach Hotel and Casino
0.4 mi away
The Ritz Village Hotel
The Ritz Village Hotel
#19 of 32 in Willemstad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
2.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Suites Curacao
Clarion Hotel & Suites Curacao
#26 of 32 in Willemstad
3.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Marco Hotel and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Marco Hotel and Casino

Property: San Marco Hotel and Casino
Address: Columbusstraat 7, Willemstad, Curacao
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Casino Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — San Marco Hotel and Casino 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Marco Hotel has been recently renovated to satisfy our guests that come to experience the beautiful island of Curacao, especially the ones who come to shop or admire the stunning historical buildings located near our hotel in the middle of the city. Our hotel consists of 80 rooms all with private bath, central air-conditioning, cable T.V. with more than 40 channels and FREE wireless Internet in every area of the Hotel.Downtown casino located of the ground floor of the San Marco building has also been remodeled and has more than 200 machines, roulette, poker and black jack tables and with happy hours and prizes given each week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your San Marco Hotel and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Marco Hotel Willemstad
San Marco Hotel And Casino Curacao/Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing