We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
San Marco Hotel and Casino
Ranked #24 of 32 Hotels in Willemstad
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Friendly staff, breakfast included in rate, we paid $100 USD for a three bed room. The hotel is in walking distance of excellent shops and restaurants. The room itself was basic, but that was all we needed for the night. We had arrived early, so we just picked somewhere and made the best of it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank southernx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

50 - 56 of 230 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2012

SAN MARCO hotel is in an excellent LOCATION .........shopping is at its front door all around you...... brand name stores ....... like tommy hilfiger , lacoste,,guess etc........ other stores had some great deals on non brand name items ............FOOD......... breakfast @ san marco was not the best for me but u can choose between cheese ,eggs , sausages ....that was the choices daily i spent 5 days here and i had toast and cheese every day ,basic orange juice , coffe, hot chocolate ... for me i can say they can upgrade the menu FOOD around on the street was junk foos kfc, subway mc donalds a bit expensive .....STAFF........ very unfriendly not much eye contact , no service with a smile.........ROOMS ......... very clean ,clean towels daily ,bed made daily which i really appreciated house keeeping starts their duties very early which made it a bit difficult to sleep in late on morning i think its the tiled floors caused the noises from dragging the mop bucket around but the good thing is u are sure to step out your room to a clean corridor ...........SAFETY ..........was not an issue the card sytem for the elevator was great ........i felt very safe here ........ PRICE ....... was great value .all together my stay at san marco was a great one i will definately be staying @ san marco again...........

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nalini s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

The hotel has some character to it with the antiques located in the hallways but the room did not look anything like the plush rooms featured on their website. It was clean though and we had a peaceful night's sleep.
We just stayed here one night while laying over to another destination and left before breakfast so I have no comment on the food.
I would like to return just to experience the local. It is situated right in the middle of a large shopping district which looks like it would be fun to explore.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pembina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

I have visited Curacao 3 times in the past few years and stayed at 3 different hotels there. And out of all of them San Marco hotel was the best one. I liked it for the location, the friendly and efficiency of the staff, and of course the value. Although it isn't a 5 star hotel it was very suitable for me and for anyone who wants to be on a budget and want only care about having a comfortable night's sleep.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank TheLastOfFinest80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

I paid just USD70 plus taxes, so I really didn't have high expectations. Indeed, no frills, but you need to remember that this is not a 5-star hotel.

The room (#107) was very clean and has cable television programs (incl ESPN, CNN).
I will definitely come back to stay at San Marco.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BGO7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2011

We stayed in this hotel for 4 nights.

Pluses: excellent location: you step out of the door and you're in the heart of Punda, with shops all around you. Bus stop close by, found it in one go, taxi stand right out the door, that was easy when we left for the airport. Fastfood eateries all around the hotel, like McDonald's, SUbway, KFC, Cafes at the Wilhelminaplein, Ben and Jerry's. Hot (or rather warm) water in the shower and tub, but not from the washstand tap. Good continental breakfast included in the price, although beware that the times mentioned on the notice in the room are not correct, the notice says 7 to 11, but in reality it's 6.30-10 am. Digital safe in the room for valuables. Very secure hotel, you ride the elevator and open doors with a key card. There is ice in large brown ice chests on every floor, so you take some to your room whenever you like. Money exchange in their casino, they give a good rate, better than outside.

Minuses: Upon checking in the front desk staff failed to inform us that toilet paper is not flushed down the toilet, but should be deposited in a waste paper basket. The toilet got clogged, so we called the front desk to send someone over to get it fixed, the lady who answered the phone was rather rude about it, and reprimanded my husband about throwing in toilet paper in the toilet! Later we learned from a local friend that that's the system in Curacao, they don't flush toilet paper down the toilet, but it goes in the bin. The room was relatively clean, although the towel rack in the bathroom was rusty and the knobs of the taps were dirty. There is no rack to hang your towels after use, so we were inventive and used the clothes rack for that. the AC was waaaay too cold and loud, even on the LO setting it was freezing cold, so we turned it off instead. Made for uncomfortable sleeping. There was rain the third day of our stay, and water leaked into the room. The elevator is tiny so it doesn't hold many people, 4 people tops. And it's so wobbly it causes motion sickness if you're sensitive to that stuff, so we took the stairs instead when we concluded that's the cause for our feeling sick every morning.

Conclusion: if you're just looking for a place to sleep at night that is centrally located, then this hotel will do. If you're in the room a lot, and want more luxury i'm not sure you'll be happy in this hotel. We ourselves will probably not go back to this hotel or to Curacao for that matter, because the whole experience was disappointing, we didn't feel the hospitality and friendliness that Curacao boasts, maybe because we had been to Aruba prior to going to Curacao, and the contrast was so conspicuous.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Victoria J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2011

Located in downtown Willemstad this hotel is probably one of the best "value" establishments that you are likely to find in this overpriced island. I spent a night here on my way to Colombia and paid through the nose for the privilege...Shabby rooms with outdated bathrooms and poor TV reception. Decent breakfast included however and everything worth seeing in the capital is within walking distance. Willemstad is well worth a visit and if you are on a reasonable budget and don´t mind splashing out you will find plenty here to entertain you for a couple of days. Be advised that the taxi from the airport will cost you $30 one way...It will also cost you $32 in departure tax at the airport when you leave. Have fun!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MRonaldSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Willemstad hotels
0.3 mi away
Otrobanda Hotel and Casino
Otrobanda Hotel and Casino
#23 of 32 in Willemstad
100 reviews
5.5 mi away
Curacao Airport Hotel
Curacao Airport Hotel
#22 of 32 in Willemstad
82 reviews
0.3 mi away
Curacao Suites Hotel
Curacao Suites Hotel
#8 of 32 in Willemstad
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Ritz Village Hotel
The Ritz Village Hotel
#16 of 32 in Willemstad
358 reviews
0.5 mi away
Boutique Hotel 't Klooster
Boutique Hotel 't Klooster
#14 of 32 in Willemstad
235 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sonesta Kura Hulanda Village & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Marco Hotel and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Marco Hotel and Casino

Address: Columbusstraat 7, Willemstad, Curacao
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Casino Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range: $64 - $80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — San Marco Hotel and Casino 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
San Marco Hotel has been recently renovated to satisfy our guests that come to experience the beautiful island of Curacao, especially the ones who come to shop or admire the stunning historical buildings located near our hotel in the middle of the city. Our hotel consists of 80 rooms all with private bath, central air-conditioning, cable T.V. with more than 40 channels and FREE wireless Internet in every area of the Hotel.Downtown casino located of the ground floor of the San Marco building has also been remodeled and has more than 200 machines, roulette, poker and black jack tables and with happy hours and prizes given each week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your San Marco Hotel and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Marco Hotel Willemstad
San Marco Hotel And Casino Curacao/Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing