We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”
Review of BijBlauw

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
BijBlauw
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We enjoyed staying here. The small cosy room was indeed small, but the bathroom was very large. The best part of staying here is that it is within a short walk from the best restaurants and from Punda. The view from their restaurant is amazing too. Other reviewers mentioned that it could be noisy because of the restaurant, but I found that the noise level (at least from cosy room #8) was not that bad, we just turned the air conditioning on and blocked most of the noise ;). The only thing I would suggest is to have a shelf or something to put shampoo and soap in the shower. The staff was friendly and I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HazeM2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (375)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

184 - 190 of 375 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2014

we booked the suite with the big terrace. when you live in the mountains, a waking up and seeing the sea is amazing. the restaurant serves tasty food, we tried it first night.

we are early sleepers, so the noise from the restaurant might be disturbing.
the shower has no curtain, so the whole floor might get wet, i informed the owners about that fact, maybe they will find a solution.
no doormats when you enter the room from the terrace you bring in dust. the dark wooden floor in the room shows your footsteps, a floormat would be helpful or, leave your shoes outside...
the aircon could have been placed where the ventilators are, so the cold air would be pushed down first.

all in all a cozy boutique hotel, friendly owners and staff. it is located approximately 10 minutes walking distance from punda. you find plenty of bars and restos on the pietermaai street. but watch out for the cars, i made the experience that the curaçao people are little michael schumachers. the whole island is a racing track.

returning to curaçao will probably lead me to this hotel again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rockinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Fantastic hotel, located in two recently renovated small buildings at the seaside of Pietermaai and only 10 minutes walking distance away from Punda.
Very enthusiastic, friendly and attentive crew.
The room is clean, complete and offers all you need after an exciting day in the sun: lush dubble bed, rich shower in stylish bathroom, TV, airco and fan. Valuables can be stored in your own locker in your room. There's also free WIFI available.
The terrace offers a spectacular sea view, with waves breaking gently while having breakfast or an evening drink. The inhouse kitchen, located at the terrace serves excelent food.
Staying at BijBlauw has definitly contributed to an unforgettable stay at Curacao.
I found the pricing most reasonably. If you want to omit the larger hotels for your stay, I'd recommend this place.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AVE1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

I was pointed at BijBlauw by their neighbours Scuba Lodge who were fully booked during my stay. BijBlauw opened mid-December 2013 and therefore is brand new. The rooms are located in the green building, the apartment, shop and children's restaurant are located in the yellow building. It is located in Pietermaaij which is an upcoming neighbourhood with so much good restaurants that you can easily fill one week with another restaurant every day without having to walk more than 3 minutes. I think that that is a big plus of the area. I felt like being in a real Curacao area instead of the standard hotel areas. I stayed at BijBlauw for 5 nights and didn't need a car. You're at walking distance of Punda and Otrabanda and there is a bus stop in front of the guest house where you can take the bus to Jan Thiel and many other places at the Island. I traveled alone but felt very safe even in the dark as the restaurants and hotels in the Pietermaaij area have arranged for their our security guys. I stayed in the Rendez vous room which has the best view of all rooms. It has a big balcony with a wonderful sea view. You can see the cruise ships come and leave and have a nice sunset view as well. Wifi was working good.

Because the guest house had recently opened after an extensive renovation my room was missing some details to make it meet its price (e.g. a large mirror, enough space to layout your suitcase, loungers on the terrace, a place to dry your swimsuit, amenities such as tissues and soap). Furthermore not all electricity holes in the wall were finished yet and the cleaning ladies obviously hadn't found here routine yet (bin not emptied one day, no toilet paper other day, no replacement of used cups). But the owners were around each day and confirmed me that they are working hard to finish all these details. They are so enthousiastic and nice and I'm sure they will make the house to a big success. I found breakfast overpriced so I only tried it once, but the restaurant is wonderful and has a nice ocean view.

If you're travelling to Curacao and want to be in a central location with a hip feeling and a nice view, I would definately recommend BijBlauw.

Room Tip: Only the apartment and the rendez vous room have own outdoor space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Suzy737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We had originally booked another hotel, but due to an unfortunate miscommunication regarding the date we had to find another hotel last minute. We were directed towards BijBlauw, which only opened two weeks beforehand and luckily had a last minute room available. We had no idea what to expect, but we were absolutely astounded when we walked into our room. It's open and beautiful, with a completely modern design that plays on the contrast of different materials. We were also given a large terrace that has amazing view of the ocean and sunset. The food here is absolutely spectacular, and is the best I've eaten on my Bonaire/Curacao trip so far. Another plus is that it's only a ten minute walk to the downtown area, and it's located on a street full of colorful, picturesque houses. The hotel owners and staff are incredibly friendly, and our room had internet and air conditioning. As it turns out, we were incredibly lucky that our first hotel was misbooked, as it led us to BijBlauw.

Room Tip: Even though we are a family of three, we ended up staying in the Honeymoon Suite with an extra bed b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jyl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Jacqueline v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Niek_d_j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Willemstad hotels
0.1 mi away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#2 of 32 in Willemstad
703 reviews
2 mi away
Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort
2.3 mi away
Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Bayside Boutique Hotel
Bayside Boutique Hotel
#19 of 32 in Willemstad
74 reviews
2.9 mi away
Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club
1.2 mi away
Baoase Luxury Resort
Baoase Luxury Resort
#1 of 32 in Willemstad
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BijBlauw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BijBlauw

Address: Pietermaai 82-84, Willemstad 0000, Curacao
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Willemstad
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range: $118 - $249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BijBlauw 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BijBlauw is a stylish boutique hotel located in Pietermaai, one of the liveliest districts of Willemstad where you walk within 10 minutes to downtown. Its perfect location overlooking the Caribbean Ocean, the unique hotel rooms, the fashion store for girls and women and the dining experience at the restaurant ensure maximum enjoyment on Curacao. Let us astound you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your BijBlauw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BijBlauw Curacao/Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing