We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very nice furniture and ambiance” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Het Achtertuintje The Patio

Het Achtertuintje The Patio
Ranked #145 of 269 Restaurants in Willemstad
Price range: $8 - $22
Cuisines: Mexican, Bar, International, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Curacao
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“very nice furniture and ambiance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

we had a nice dinner at the achtertuintje, the food was very very good. What really impressed me was the furniture. The owner showed us around and was very helpful .he is jus staring and i wish him all the best. This is a must visit place.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank lina d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    15
    4
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Willemstad, Curacao
Level Contributor
141 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“uninterested personnel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

We had a soup and salad as appetizer, soup was too cold, salad not really fresh.
Afterwords a pasta Alfredo, really sad looking, sauce was a far cry of Alfredo, and the pasta was an overcooked spaghetti.
We were disappointed and did not care to stay for a coffee.
The worst thing was one of the waitresses sat constantly outside to smoke.
Definitely not worth you while.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank yvonne w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curacao
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Bad food, slow service, and terrible management”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

One of the worst restaurant experiences I had in a long time on the island. The moment we stepped in and we were not even greeted or seated by the owners should already told us the restaurant would be bad, but we gave it the benefit of the doubt. Wow, were we wrong. The food took 45 min while we were the only 2 people in the whole restaurant. The tuna in the nicoise salad tasted like cat food, all mussy and flavorless. The salad had maybe 2 pieces of avacado, a load of olives, and the rest lettuce, topped with a greasy and disgusting dressing. We were hungry after waiting for so long and tried to eat some of it, but it was just to disgusting. I mentioned this to the waitress, who was nice about it and went to check with management to see what they could do. They took 25% of the salad and that was it. The owners did not come to the table and came up with a good solution. They were busy with I don't know what, because there was no one in the restaurant. And when we left I said goodbye to them and they didn't even bother to tell use goodbye. You work in the restaurant buisness so learn how to deal with guest complaints. I give you guys 3 months tops, but the sooner you close your doors the better with this appalling attitude.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Wesley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curacao
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Playfully designed small place, excellent food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

Although the place may not look al that fancy from the outside i found the actual patio to be very carefully put together to become real cosy, and completely in the shade of big trees behinds the house. Traffic from the nearby road wasn't disturbing.
The service is still a little slow but friendly, the food however was without exception very good imo.
I am gonna give this a try with my toddler sons as well as there's lots to be seen in the garden, they'll enjoy themselves and might even like the pasta or soup.. ;-)

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank MirjamR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otrobanda, null, Netherlands Antilles
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“They didn't even bother to seat us”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

I heard such good things of this new place, so when we wanted to go one night after work we were quite surprised at how we were welcomed and treated.

We arrived with a group of about six and when we walked in, everyone kept looking but nobody bothered to even say hello. We continued to walk to the patio in the back, thinking we'd find somewhere to sit down. There's a big table that could have accommodated us, but there were three people already occupying it. At some point a server walks up to us, a young lady. We inform her that we have about 5-7 more people arriving shortly and would like to be seated together so we could unwind after a very hectic week. With a smile on her face she tells us that there are only two and three person's seating available. We looked around quite amazed... as there were quite a few tables available and she could have easily put together 2 tables and made room for 10. She continued to be very short and fresh about the whole matter. Basically just telling us to leave asap.

Long story short, I left before she even finished bs-ing us about not being able to seat us. Don't ever go to 'Het Achtertuintje' with a group of any kind expecting to have a nice evening. Chances are your business won't be wanted.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank IamTittel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Het Achtertuintje The Patio also viewed

 
Willemstad, Curacao
Willemstad, Curacao
 

Been to Het Achtertuintje The Patio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing