We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Papagayo Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Papagayo Beach Hotel
Ranked #18 of 31 Hotels in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
Omaha
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

We stayed at this hotel in February. It was wonderful! While not a beach proper, we very much enjoyed the beach set up. Even when busy, it remained relatively quiet and calm - and the bar service on the beach was definitely a plus.
The rooms were very modern, exactly what we had hoped they would be. We never had any issues with the AC, and I am someone who can't stand to sleep in a warm room. (And no drips from the unit either.)
For americans considering a trip, please know that most of the other guests were from Europe. We rather enjoyed not really knowing what other guests were conversing about, it seemed like a true getaway. But, if you enjoy chatting up other guests, this may not provide that type of experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_Moesbergen, General Manager at Papagayo Beach Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Mr./Mrs. AnnKT,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you as our guest again in the near future!

Kind regards,

Papagayo Beach & Design Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    68
    31
    16
    9
See reviews for
14
133
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

We stayed at the Papagayo Design Hotel for 4 nights.

The hotel is brand new, as a matter of fact, it still is in the soft opening phase and construction work is ongoing finishing the last hotel rooms and some seaside facilities.

It is very confusing. Where are we? The hotel has no Caribbean feel about it. Especially the adjoining Papagayo Beach Club has a pretentious look and feel, “Van der Valk” meets Ibiza. However, next door restaurants and beachclubs Zest and Zanzibar do have the Caribbean feel.

As from the moment we checked in we could feel that the owners are in there for the money and the money only. They make you feel as if you were a walking ATM instead of a valued hotel guest.

Upon check in you will have to sign a sort of quit claim and pay a deposit. Not a deposit to cover for F&B expenses but to cover for eventually lost towels or damage caused by the guest. This is not very welcoming and makes you think that the real passion for the catering business is missing.

Rooms are OK. Lots of storing space and a comfy bed. The airco can be adjusted individually but to do so you need a chair to stand on or ask reception for a remote control. They try to discourage this as it probably will save money for the company when controlled centrally.

Breakfast buffet at the Beach Club is basic but has all the necessary items on it. Again we encountered an example of the money driven hospitality. When we asked for a café latte and a cappuccino we were told that only regular coffee is included in the breakfast rate and that we would be charged NAF 6,50 for a cappuccino or latte.

Staff at the Beach Club is professional. Sun beds are complementary but if you want to be sure to have one you should come early. Strangly enough it is not possible to have F&B expenses transferred to the room. You either have to pay cash upon ordering something or hand over a credit card to the staff as a deposit. Annoying and again not very hospitable.

The salt water pool is very dirty so you’re better off walking to neighboring Zanzibar and take a swim in the sea.

Room cleaning service is slow. On the first day our room was cleaned at 14.15hrs, on the second day at 16.30 hrs. We complained about it and then on the third day it was cleaned as requested before 14.00 hrs.

A soft opening period is used to sort out start up problems. Some of the inconvenience mentioned above might be solved but unfortunately it probably will not change the money grabbing attitude of the owners.

Next time I will bring my money somewhere else. I strongly recommend that you would do the same.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Maarten L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Even though we wouldn't go back to Papagayo Design Hotel, It's a good hotel. Our main problem was how we slept each night. The A/C feels good in the room if you are lounging, but it wasn't good enough for sleep. It struggled to cool at night after a hot day. You have to ask the front desk to lower it and they did to the lowest setting, but the room never reached the setting it was on. We had to sleep with most of the covers off. The vent is right above you also, and it would leak water on our face every night as we slept.
The bed and the linens were very comfortable otherwise.
There is TONS of storage space which we loved, but no place to hang towels to dry. There is a fridge that is good enough to keep drinks and small stuff that came in very handy for us. We used the hot water pot to make oatmeal for breakfast each morning with yogurt and few other things we bought at Centrum Market. The hotel does have a small supermarket downstairs, but we found better prices and selection at the Centrum.
The shower doesn't have a door or anything to stop the water from going into the bathroom. The water drained real real slow and the toiletries were a bit pathetic for this nice of a hotel (think Budget hotel)
The staff was super friendly.
The Beach Club is very nice!! We lounged one day (We hopped the island beaches daily). the Infinity pool looks nice, but it has a serious algae problem.
The Casino on the property had a $5 dollar blackjack table with 3:2 payout which we did well on during our stay.

Overall, the hotel is probably one of the better options on the island, but for our needs and the location of what we did the whole time (best beaches are far out on the west), we probably won't be staying here again.

Room Tip: the beach front rooms will have intense sun in your face.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roneilltx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed one week at this newest curacao hotel. They were still in the soft-opening phase which streches out for a couple of month now. The room was very nice, comfy bed, and pull-out leather couch, huge balcony, flatscreen TV, big fridge, fast WiFi, coffee-maker and a lot of storage room. The open bathroom and walk-in shower were very nice. From the balcony you could see the caribean sea and all the way to Willemstad. The hotel itself is very new, spacious, modern and stylish and the personel is very nice and helps where it can. Adjacent to the hotel is a supermarket, a car rental a huge fitness centre and a nice sushi place. To the beach and the famous Papagayo Beach Club it´s only a short walk. We enjoyed our stay very much and would come here again. The whole complex is not completely finshed and I wonder how it will be once it is.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andreas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Rochelle, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This hotel is approximately 15-20 minutes driving to downtown Willemstad, the central shopping area. The hotel is beautiful and modern and very quiet. The rooms are spacious and well appointed with comfortable beds.
There is a very clean and well stocked grocery store connected to the property which also serves wine beer and liquor. A 4 minute walk will get you to a beautiful beach which is maintained by the property.
There is a learning curve to staying in your room however. Unlike every hotel room in the world that I have ever stayed in, you have to leave the room key in the slot to turn on the lights to your room. Also, in the the shower, there is no door to prevent water from splashing and puddling onto the bathroom floor. The pitch on the shower floor was a bit off. My wife slipped and fell in the bathroom and hurt her leg as a result.
All things considered, it was a very nice stay and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank verason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We have been staying for a week at the brand new Papagayo Beach Hotel. What is a little confusing is that this hotel is NOT the same as the Papagayo Beach Resort, although it belongs to the same owners.

2 wings of this hotel were ready and to be honest; it has great rooms; large enough for us and our 1,5 year old in a baby cot. Nice shower, nice beds, great balcony and all at a reasonable rate. It is directly to the beach with all the amenities of the Papagayo beach resort. Only little negative point that the hotel bar was not ready at the time we visited, but by the time I'm writing this review it should considered done!

Room Tip: Rooms at road side can be a litlle noisier during weekends, but that is also fun to watch from the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Forexkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
411 reviews
222 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Fortunatelly we were welcomed very unfriendly by another hotel owner just nearby. So we decided to leave and look for another place. We asked for a room at the Papagayo Beach Resort. There we were told that they have also a promotion in there new hotel, just a minute away. We knew the supermarket in the hotel building, because one week ago, when we rented a house and often went to the supermarket there. The hotel is still not yet fully completed, but there is no noise from the construction side. Because they have a so called soft opening, they had a special rate. As our flight from Aruba was quite early in Curaçao, they had no rooms available yet. But they gave us a bag with beach towels for the Beach Club, just a minute away with bar, restaurant and salt pool. Also a very cool place.

Everything very modern, the rooms have a sofa bed, balcony and walk in shower, white floors, bathroom is also all white. Very friendly staff, also in the Beach Club are children welcome. We are so happy we found this place. One of the better places in Curaçao.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xonthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Willemstad
1.9 mi away
Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Papagayo Beach Resort
Papagayo Beach Resort
#16 of 31 in Willemstad
4.0 of 5 stars 262 reviews
3.8 mi away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#4 of 31 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 stars 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
BijBlauw
BijBlauw
#3 of 31 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 stars 288 reviews
4.7 mi away
Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino
1.9 mi away
Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Papagayo Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Papagayo Beach Hotel

Property: Papagayo Beach Hotel
Address: Jan Thiel z/n, Willemstad, Curacao
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Casino Hotel in Willemstad
#11 Spa Hotel in Willemstad
#11 Luxury Hotel in Willemstad
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Papagayo Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2013 the Papagayo Beach Hotel is the first of its kind on the island of Curaçao. Located in the vibrant Jan Thiel area, adjacent to Papagayo Beach Club this sprawling property looks out over the glittering Jan Thiel Bay, its manicured grounds in colorful contrast against its clean, white lines. The modern designed hotel has several outbuildings and a main building, which houses the lobby with an intimate bar and a colourful reception. The main building has rooms with views of the Jan Thiel Boulevard, the lobby with garden and the sea. The outbuildings are located in the beautiful garden overlooking the sea, the garden or both. The Papagayo Beach Hotel combines the comfort of spacious design hotel rooms with the services of a classic five-star hotel in an exclusive location directly by the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, BookIt.com, Travelocity, HRS, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Papagayo Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Papagayo Beach Hotel Curacao/Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing