We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High potential once finished but allready great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Papagayo Beach Hotel
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stayed one week at this newest curacao hotel. They were still in the soft-opening phase which streches out for a couple of month now. The room was very nice, comfy bed, and pull-out leather couch, huge balcony, flatscreen TV, big fridge, fast WiFi, coffee-maker and a lot of storage room. The open bathroom and walk-in shower were very nice. From the balcony you could see the caribean sea and all the way to Willemstad. The hotel itself is very new, spacious, modern and stylish and the personel is very nice and helps where it can. Adjacent to the hotel is a supermarket, a car rental a huge fitness centre and a nice sushi place. To the beach and the famous Papagayo Beach Club it´s only a short walk. We enjoyed our stay very much and would come here again. The whole complex is not completely finshed and I wonder how it will be once it is.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andreas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (312)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

88 - 94 of 312 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2013

This hotel is approximately 15-20 minutes driving to downtown Willemstad, the central shopping area. The hotel is beautiful and modern and very quiet. The rooms are spacious and well appointed with comfortable beds.
There is a very clean and well stocked grocery store connected to the property which also serves wine beer and liquor. A 4 minute walk will get you to a beautiful beach which is maintained by the property.
There is a learning curve to staying in your room however. Unlike every hotel room in the world that I have ever stayed in, you have to leave the room key in the slot to turn on the lights to your room. Also, in the the shower, there is no door to prevent water from splashing and puddling onto the bathroom floor. The pitch on the shower floor was a bit off. My wife slipped and fell in the bathroom and hurt her leg as a result.
All things considered, it was a very nice stay and we would stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank verason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We have been staying for a week at the brand new Papagayo Beach Hotel. What is a little confusing is that this hotel is NOT the same as the Papagayo Beach Resort, although it belongs to the same owners.

2 wings of this hotel were ready and to be honest; it has great rooms; large enough for us and our 1,5 year old in a baby cot. Nice shower, nice beds, great balcony and all at a reasonable rate. It is directly to the beach with all the amenities of the Papagayo beach resort. Only little negative point that the hotel bar was not ready at the time we visited, but by the time I'm writing this review it should considered done!

Room Tip: Rooms at road side can be a litlle noisier during weekends, but that is also fun to watch from the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Forexkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Fortunatelly we were welcomed very unfriendly by another hotel owner just nearby. So we decided to leave and look for another place. We asked for a room at the Papagayo Beach Resort. There we were told that they have also a promotion in there new hotel, just a minute away. We knew the supermarket in the hotel building, because one week ago, when we rented a house and often went to the supermarket there. The hotel is still not yet fully completed, but there is no noise from the construction side. Because they have a so called soft opening, they had a special rate. As our flight from Aruba was quite early in Curaçao, they had no rooms available yet. But they gave us a bag with beach towels for the Beach Club, just a minute away with bar, restaurant and salt pool. Also a very cool place.

Everything very modern, the rooms have a sofa bed, balcony and walk in shower, white floors, bathroom is also all white. Very friendly staff, also in the Beach Club are children welcome. We are so happy we found this place. One of the better places in Curaçao.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xonthebeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Os quartos com vista para o Lobby são mais silenciosos, mas com vista para o mar são sensacionais.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rodmatos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Stef H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papagayo_C, Community Manager at Papagayo Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
Thank deemitje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papagayo_C, Community Manager at Papagayo Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Willemstad
0.2 mi away
Papagayo Beach Resort
Papagayo Beach Resort
#11 of 32 in Willemstad
335 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao
1.7 mi away
Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#2 of 32 in Willemstad
661 reviews
8.2 mi away
Bayside Boutique Hotel
Bayside Boutique Hotel
#20 of 32 in Willemstad
72 reviews
1.9 mi away
Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Papagayo Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Papagayo Beach Hotel

Address: Jan Thiel Beach, Willemstad, Curacao
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Willemstad
#9 Luxury Hotel in Willemstad
#9 Spa Hotel in Willemstad
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range: $123 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Papagayo Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Opened in 2013 the Papagayo Beach Hotel is the first of its kind on the island of Curaçao. Located in the vibrant Jan Thiel area, adjacent to Papagayo Beach Club this sprawling property looks out over the glittering Jan Thiel Bay, its manicured grounds in colorful contrast against its clean, white lines. The modern designed hotel has several outbuildings and a main building, which houses the lobby with an intimate bar and a colourful reception. The main building has rooms with views of the Jan Thiel Boulevard, the lobby with garden and the sea. The outbuildings are located in the beautiful garden overlooking the sea, the garden or both. The Papagayo Beach Hotel combines the comfort of spacious design hotel rooms with the services of a classic five-star hotel in an exclusive location directly by the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TravelUp and HotelQuickly so you can book your Papagayo Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Papagayo Beach Hotel Curacao/Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing