We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious dining!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Warung Jawa Smulboetiek

Warung Jawa Smulboetiek
Ranked #83 of 269 Restaurants in Willemstad
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
montreal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious dining!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

We have just experienced the most pleasant and delicious dinner. We had heard good things about it from past visits to Curacao but never got around to going. Whow...our loss.
Thank you Julia for helping us choose from the extensive menu. Fantastic food. We will definitely be returning on our next visit! P.S. Best egg roll I have ever tasted.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank margaret m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    19
    4
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“"Wonderful Service and Best Lumpia!"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

My best friend and I stopped by yesterday afternoon while in the spirit of celebrating Netherlands 5-1 FIFA world cup 2014 win over Spain and had the surprise of our pallets.

From what was just a drive by, quickly turned into a sampling of the best "Lumpia"( stuffed fried giant wanton like pastry filled with delicious bean sprouts, green beans and chicken with a hint of S&P). It was moist, crunchy and served with an extra special tomato salsa picanté on top...I love it.

I also tried the chicken Satay served with a peanut sauce. That was amazing in taste as well. Moist and flavorful.

Good Job Management and Staff. We also received excellent service from the host.

Thank you....*****

#curacao
#expedia.com
#surinamfood

Helpful?
Thank Virgin-TravelBuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bussum, The Netherlands
1 review
“Great food and nice people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

Warung Jawa is a simple restaurant with great food and very friendly people. It's being run by a Java-Surinam family. So also lots of surinam dishes. You shouldn't miss this restaurant when you visit Curacao!

Helpful?
Thank Conno67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious Rotie!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

A local told me that this place had the best Rotie. And she was right! I had the Rotie with shrimps. Really amazing. The same goes for Rotie chicken, spring rolls and the satay. Unfortunately, we didn't have time to try more.
The owner is very sweet. In the evening the whole family is present it seems. It takes a while until you receive your food but it's definitely worth the waiting. And unlike someone else mentioned before, it is open after 7 pm.
Two thumbs up!

Helpful?
Thank i_luv_food_a_lot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Egypt, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“solid food, great price, hands on owner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

We tried this locals eatery in Late March 2014 after reading several reviews on trip advisor. I am pleased to report were were not disappointed. A locals place with pricing fit for locals. You will be very happy with quality of food (soup of the day was amazing). Good size menu and variety covering several different styles. We each found something different to choose from. All met or exceeded our expectations. The owner was a very happy, energetic fellow who wanted to ensure we were all pleased.
Keep in mind they close at 7 which seems a little odd. You will eat like a king for around $20.00. Hard to beat.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank joe d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Warung Jawa Smulboetiek also viewed

Willemstad, Curacao
 

Been to Warung Jawa Smulboetiek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing