We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely restaurant”
Review of Restaurant Papa's - CLOSED

Restaurant Papa's
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed at the scuba lodge, so naturally we went to Papa´s. The food was great and the staff very friendly and helpful. The chef gave some tips as well and checked if everything was fine. Because of this we went another night as well and also this time the food was great. We can really recommend the lionfish, the gamba´s and saltimbocca. In stead of sweet dessert try the surprising cheeses.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    19
    7
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant on Curacao!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We loved this little restaurant near the Scuba Lodge where we were staying. Excellent food, friendly staff. The owner, Guy, is an interesting guy who has lots of good info about the island that you won't find in any tourist books; and the chef, Philippe, produces an array of excellent dishes. Highly recommended!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank AdamEden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willemstad, Curacao
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Small, but very friendly”
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

We had dinner at Papa's yesterday evening and celebrated the departure to Holland of one of our friends. Our group arrived in batches and we were chaotic in many ways. We ordered drinks and food upon the arrival of friends at this restaurant, so there was sufficient reason to mix things up. Nevertheless, everything went fine and we had a great evening, sitting at the terrace in the open air. My steak was not big (I like big steaks), more like a filet mignon, but it was perfectly prepared.
Yes, this is a place I will certainly get back to. One comment: they don't have pitchers with water. Every time you empty your glass, you have to ask for more.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ArthurOster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of the best and most entertaining meals of our lives.”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

This restaurant provides not only fantastic food but a very entertaining dining experience. Did we wait? Yes. Was is worth it, yes. I highly recommend this place for the relaxed diner who is intested in excellent food no matter how long it takes. We had the Gambas al Ajillo, a true representation of the Spanish dish, served with a fresh and delicious bread. We also shared the lobster and shrimp bisque and the sesasme encrusted tuna (catch of the day) which were both incredible. Each dish was prepared with love and perfection by the Chef who was so excited about his work he brought out a Lionfish to show some diners and then pricked his finger on it while back in the kitchen ( Hope he is ok!!) Dessert the heavenly chocolate mousse. And when I say heavenly... My recomendation is be prepared to sit back, relax and enjoy the entire dining experience and this beautifully renovated place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank clward73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“we waited...and we waited...and waited”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We waited for almost 2 hours before our food finally arrived at our table. The manager came to our table - not to appologize, but to tell us that 'as everybody knows, and as is common in all restaurants, people who have reserved a table get served before people that have not reserved a table in advance'. Oh really? Never heard such nonsense before. Bad, rude service. Food was alright, but nothing special. This venue deserves a better manager and a better cook.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ejlens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Papa's also viewed

 
Willemstad, Curacao
Willemstad, Curacao
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing