We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Quiet tropical retreat close to Willemstad and beaches” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa L'Orangerie

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Willemstad
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Villa L'Orangerie
Save
You added Villa L'Orangerie to your Saves list
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Quiet tropical retreat close to Willemstad and beaches”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at appartment Sono for one week. The hosts Sjaak and Marcel were already very helpful before our arrival by providing advice on car rental (you GOT to have a car if you stay here) and on Scuba dive operators (highly recommended is "Relaxed Guided Dives" only 10 minutes by car). The apartment is roomy and very well equipped and tastefully decorated, new kitchen, nice bathroom with huge shower, big terrace. We were welcomed with a complimentary bottle of wine (thank you!); the coolbox was really good to have; we used it every day. The Centrum supermarket is only a few minutes away, which is a big advantage if you prepare your own food. We ate out every second day and followed the excellent recommendations from our hosts who also made reservations for us. Try "Mangos", the food is very good. We asked for a Barbeque grill, and Sjaak and Marcel immediately brought us one. They have a very friendly, yet watchful, dog who occasionally comes to visit and get petted. The villa is strategically well positioned for divers, as you can reach the dive spots both of the Northern part as well as the Southern part without too much driving. We spent the second week at a bungalow at Coral Estate on the beach, but despite villa L'Orangerie having no sea view we would prefer it to Coral Estate. The climate in the beautiful garden is less hot and the proximity of the supermarket and Willemstad is a great plus, and of course the great hospitality of Sjaak and Marcel who were always there to help but not by means intrusive, so we had our privacy.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sunshineVienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
48
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cresskill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Wanted to get away from the snow for Christmas, spend 10 days in Curacao with Marcel and Sjaak. The weather was warm, but the hospitality was warmer. Villa L'Orangerie is so peaceful within the walls of the garden you can sit quietly and watch the birds. The appartments are nice and spaceous, everything included. Very close to many of the beaches, but it also has it's own little swimming pool, that I used everymorning for some laps and every evening for cooling down after exploring the beautiful island of Curacao.

Room Tip: We liked Curazon the best, it has the early morning sun and is on the corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aske_f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We were, of course, impressed with all of the incredible reviews, but the reality turned out to be even better! Villa L'Orangerie is beautiful and centrally located, close to everything on the island-downtown, beaches, and activities. Marcel and Sjaak were incredible hosts, and the amenities were as good as promised! Beautiful apartments, lovely furniture, a pool, air conditioning, comfortable beds, safe and secure parking! A few things to know for travelers from the US: these are apartments, not a hotel, so you will need to buy things like dish soap, toilet paper, and trash bags. Some of the aspects of the stay-like paying for electricity and water-are hard to understand but water and electricity are very expensive on the island. Despite this, the total cost was lower than what we would have paid to many of the hotels on the island. You will definitely need to rent a car. All in all, we felt the experience was incredible.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easthampton, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

My girlfriend and I spent a very enjoyable week here during our stay in Curacao. It was an amazing experience beginning with communicating and finalizing the plans with our very gracious and responsive hosts Sjaak and Marcel. The grounds of the villa are beautifully maintained, the garden is serene and so pretty to look at while enjoying meals on the outdoor patio space. The apartment is perfect for two people, spacious, clean, tastefully decorated with all the necessary amenities for spending a week in paradise. Highly recommend!

Erica

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EricaLynnH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

This was my 8th visit to the island and for my cousin it was the 4th. This year we stayed at Villa l'Orangerie for the first time and we LOVED it! Any next time we go to Curaçao we will stay here again (if we are lucky enough). It's really a home away from home. Everything about this little paradise is perfect. Beautiful gardens, lovely pool, very pretty and comfortable living/sleeping/relaxing space, wonderful porch.. and so on. Unfortunately we didn't meet Sjaak and Marcel in person, but the email correspondence, as well as the arrangements they made for us to receive the keys/instructions etc were flawless. Thank you, Villa l'Orangerie won our hearts and we will be back!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rinkelbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

The first contact with the owners for my booking services was flawless. The house is well situated in the middle of the island of Curacao. The gardens are a paradise and what about the luxury apartment more than five stars. A place at the height of decoration magazines. Lovely and lush.

Pierre and Nathalie, Québec, Canada

Room Tip: Its the place on Curacao
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pierre907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

well, where to start! my girlfriend and i stayed here for 1 week, while visiting curacao- it was great. had the biggest and nicest room, i believe off the 4 they have to rent out. own balcony, fully equipped kitchen, fan in both the living room and the sleeping room- and ofc a a/c aswell in the sleeping room. rented a car- as i saw 3 buses during our 1 week stay, it might be smart to rent your own:-) the premesis is/or looks brand new. my mother would have loved the garden! in general, exellent place to visit! the hosts were very nice, provided whatever you would think of, and had that charisma that all great hosts have- where they are genuin interessted in your questions. nice and quiet, but only a short car trip from everything.1 way taxi ride is the same as 1 day car rental.. loved the pool and the small iguanas. they had coolers, and everything you would need to go to the beach. the place is just like the pictures- only better:-)

knut and veronica

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flagie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Willemstad
6.3 mi away
Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort
4.5 mi away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#4 of 31 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 stars 505 reviews
4.5 mi away
BijBlauw
BijBlauw
#3 of 31 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 stars 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Baoase Luxury Resort
Baoase Luxury Resort
#1 of 31 in Willemstad
5.0 of 5 stars 452 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mondi Lodge
Mondi Lodge
#1 of 3 in Dorp Sint Michiel
5.0 of 5 stars 104 reviews
4.9 mi away
Avila Beach Hotel
Avila Beach Hotel
#6 of 31 in Willemstad
4.0 of 5 stars 914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa L'Orangerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa L'Orangerie

Property: Villa L'Orangerie
Address: Rondeweg 15 | Julianadorp, Willemstad, Curacao
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 89 Specialty Lodging in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa L'Orangerie is the name of our spacious tropical getaway, where we build the elegant apartments, they have been beautifully furnished. The accommodations have their own entrance, a gorgeous view overlooking a tropical garden and swimming pool, where pleasant breezes drift from the east. The apartments are luxuriously appointed with great attention to detail, resulting in an experience much like that of a high end hotel rather than an average apartment. Villa L'Orangerie lies only 5 minutes (by car) from the airport and just 10 minutes from the historical centre of Willemstad. Because we wish to offer our guests the utmost in luxury and comfort within a tranquil and natural setting, we cannot accept children under the age of 18 years. Our apartments are well appointed with top quality fixtures and furnishings. They has an open floor plan with a living room off the kitchen, a bedroom, bathroom, and outside terrace of 2.50M x 7.50M. The apartments are equipped with 110 and 220 volt outlet connections. Also provided in these luxurious units are cable TV with BVN reception, dvd recorder, complimentary wireless internet, an in-room safe, radio/cd player, ceiling fans, air-conditioning and a sleeper sofa which may be used if there are more than 2 people residing in the apartment. The kitchen is completely equipped for all your cooking needs and has hot water. The bedroom has a queen size bed, night stands, a wardrobe, air-conditioning and a ceiling fan. The sleek tiled bathroom is equipped with a spacious shower and hot water. French doors from the living room and bedroom open to a fantastic view of the tropical garden. The terrace has a dining table and chairs and two loungers. You may park your car within the gated entrance outside your apartment. The apartments have their own private entrances. The swimming pool may be used during daylight hours. We are gay friendly ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Villa L'Orangerie Curacao/Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing