We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You won't beat Villa Tokara !”
Review of Villa Tokara

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Villa Tokara
Ranked #7 of 46 Willemstad B&B and Inns
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“You won't beat Villa Tokara !”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We went on the recommendation of some Dutch friends in Portugal who run a similar five-star establishment on the Algarve. We knew, therefore, that it would be good but it turned out to be beyond all expectations. Other people on this site have reported on how friendly the owners,Willy and Trudi are. They couldn't have been more helpful ... lifts into town, arranging restaurants, organising a hire car to be delivered and collected and other little kindnesses plus immaculate service. We were helped, too, by Elise, Chantal,Jack and Lois who, again, went out of their way to make our stay a memorable one.

Willy and Trudi have renovated this historic property themselves and demonstrates their passion for perfection. This is manifest not just in the building itself but in their whole approach which makes a holiday one to write home about.

Oh, and by the way, the star of the show is the adorable Sjakie (pron Sharkey), the Spanish hunting dog..

Our room was superb, we had the pool to ourselves most of the time and the breakfast was such that lunch was never necessary !

This is a complete gem.

Room Tip: We had the family room which was spacious and comfortable with its own courtyard, table and chairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BruceandSuzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    0
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
49
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 7, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a week, and we had a fantastic time! Our room was huge and impeccably decorated. The location was great-- a short walk from the downtown port area, on a street with many of the best restaurants on the island. We ate at 5 different great restaurants all within a few blocks of Villa Tokara while we were there. But most importantly, Willy and Trudy are great hosts! We had their delicious, multicourse breakfast every day, and spent most of our time relaxing by the pool and chatting with them about everything from their travels to our music recommendations (they have a record player in the main room, and so we spent many afternoons listening to Willy's great record collection). The rest of Willy and Trudy's team were great as well -- we emailed back and forth with them before our stay and they had great recommendations for activities, and they made reservations for everything for us before hand, making our stay easy! If you're looking for a relaxed stay with great hosts, this is the place for you.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meg683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

My wife found this on Chic Retreats as we love the smaller hotels and give the big resorts a wide berth.
What a star find. A superbly restore historic building in the fast improving Pietermaai part of Willemstad. Close to Seasons, Fishalicious, St Tropez,Blues etc. 20 minutes stroll to the city centre.
Trudy and Willy are owners and make this such an enjoyable place to stay, rooms are huge, the common parts feel like your own place, eclectically furnished and designed they have done a fantastic job. They are also great hosts helping find seats for dinner and other recommendations, Willy is also an expert on the historic buildings of the island. A very good breakfast served on the terrace a great garden and pool area, an honesty bar and plenty of secure parking. Huge room great bathroom, plenty of hanging space, aircon, satellite TV etc.
We stay in boutique hotels wherever we go but this is one of the best we have used. I cannot recommend it more. You must stay there.

Room Tip: We had the very large "family room" but as there are only 4 rooms we guess all are really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Philip I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in December 2013. The owners were great and very focused on the guests. We had a lovely room with a private terrace and the property is very clean and well maintained. The location was a short walk into town and is among many great restaurants. They also offer a delicious multi-course breakfast - we opted for this the one day and were so stuff we didn't even need lunch that day. The only slightly annoying part was the multiple locks to get back into the property at night - the outside gate, the front door and a third gate - all operated by separate keys.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank danielleknyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Congratulations fellow Tripadvisor users - you just found the spot you'll want to book for your stay in Curacao.

Notice how (as of today) 100 % of the 38 reviewers have scored Villa Tokara 5 out of 5? Seen the pictures? Scanned the reviews? Then stop wasting your time, enter your dates and just hope that these lovely people have a room available for you. It really is nothing short of perfect.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asoyland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jundiai, SP
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

Trudy, Willy and the team treat me and my husbandy as a family, since the small things until help us with rental a car, some tips for doing, etc. The Tokara is amazing, the pool, the garden, de small plants, the birds, the coffee, the kind dog, mainly the people there! And inside the house, every things are beautiful and amazing! Thank you !!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Eunice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Staying at Villa Tokara has been one of my most surprising hotel experiences ever. While I am used to stay in nice hotels for work, I have never been to a place that is more delicately furnished, more welcoming to guests and more personal than Villa Tokara. The owners Willy and Trudy as well as the staff are wonderful and made my week of vacation pass by way too quickly :-)

The building and facilities are great, just visit their homepage for pictures (and even though their great they still don't succeed in capturing the full beauty of this place). The location is excellent with most of Willemstad's great restaurants just around the corner in walking distance. I spent days at the pool and the beach is literally just 50 meters away.

I can recommend Villa Tokara to anybody that is seeking an exclusive and personal stay on Curacao. I'll be back for sure :-)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jens K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Willemstad hotels
0.3 mi away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#2 of 32 in Willemstad
629 reviews
0.4 mi away
BijBlauw
BijBlauw
#3 of 32 in Willemstad
341 reviews
1.8 mi away
Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Pietermaai Boutique Hotel
Pietermaai Boutique Hotel
#13 of 32 in Willemstad
230 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avila Beach Hotel
Avila Beach Hotel
#7 of 32 in Willemstad
1,153 reviews
0.9 mi away
Baoase Luxury Resort
Baoase Luxury Resort
#1 of 32 in Willemstad
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Tokara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Tokara

Property: Villa Tokara
Address: Penstraat 55, Willemstad 2517, Curacao
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Tokara 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Tokara is the most beautiful place to stay on Curacao. The monumental villa has only five guestrooms, great service and a delicious breakfast by the pool. It’s right a the edge of Pietermaai, the recently renovated neighborhood with lots of great restaurants, nightlife and historic architecture to enjoy. At walking distance is Punda, the oldest part of Willemstad. Across the street is the Caribbean sea. All guestrooms are beautifully decorated with love and care and proximately 40m2. Bathrooms are large, have rain showers, double washbasins and all amenities. There’s one family room with a separate bedroom with two single beds. This room has a private patio too. All rooms have large king size double beds. There’s one smaller room: the patio room. Business travelers will feel at home at Villa Tokara too. It’s centrally located, quiet and there’s plenty of room to do some work if needed: in the comfort of your airconditioned room, in the living room or somewhere on the terrace. Tell us if you need a desk in your room. In the late afternoon or in the evening it’s an excellent place to wind down from a busy day. There are many dining options at walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz and Booking.com so you can book your Villa Tokara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Tokara Curacao/Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing