We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Experience”

Dolphin Academy Curacao
Ranked #4 of 109 things to do in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Dolphin Academy offers fun and educational intimate experiences, like a Dolphin Encounter, a Dolphin Swim, a Dolphin Snorkel with Coastal Bottlenose Dolphins in a natural saltwater lagoon and the open sea. Different programs and courses available for all ages.
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Brussels, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Incredible Experience”
Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Friendly professionals greet you at this dolphin lovers' paradise.
What an experience! The dolphins are incredibly friendly and love the company and attention of the visitors.
One of the finest aquatic experiences there is.

Helpful?
1 Thank Meerapfel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,021 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,290
    486
    183
    35
    27
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Most amazing experience EVER”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

If you have not done a dolphin free dive, you need to! Roxette pretty much attached to me and we swam round and round and round. It was amazing. Well worth every cent and I can't wait to do it again!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank TampabayLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The Ultimate Dolphin Experience”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Imagine being kissed by a dolphin in paradise, trust me, you’ll be swept off your feet and life will never be the same again. It’s hard not to fall in love with these friendly and beautiful creatures. If you’re more of the adrenalin seeking type simply grab onto the dolphin’s fin and hold on tight, you’re in for a swim on the wild side.

Surround yourself with the kindest creatures in the ocean, in one of the most beautiful places on the earth. Located in the Caribbean, The Curacao Sea Aquarium will give you an experience of a lifetime. The Dolphin Academy offers the ultimate dolphin experience by letting you get up close and personal with these stunning creatures.

Before you jump into the coral blue Atlantic Ocean, the academy holds an educational workshop. At the workshop your instructor will teach you some interesting facts about dolphins that most people would not know from before. Did you for example know that dolphins have to be conscious to breathe? This means that they would suffocate if they fell into deep sleep, so instead they let one half of their brain sleep at a time. Also, dolphins are playful creatures that love human attention and affection.
They are approximately 2.5-2.7 m long and the texture of their skin is soft and feels just like rubber. To ensure you get the most out of your swim the workshop also teaches you how to interact with the dolphins as well as they go through some safety precautions and guidelines.

When time has finally come to meet the dolphins you get into the water with a small group of people. In turn, everyone gets to do a variety of activities with them, including dancing, kissing, patting and racing. For the last part of your swim the dolphins themselves choose who they want to spend some personal time with and swim toward their chosen one, now is the time to bond and to give them a cuddle.

The price for a dolphin swim is $181, the minimum required height is 4.3 feet and the age limit is eight. Apart from the dolphin swim, the academy also offers a variety of other programs that let you encounter with the dolphins such as a snorkeling and diving. They also have an assistant trainer and dolphin in depth course.

After the swim all participants are able to buy photos and a video from a professional photographer. Whatever you do don’t underestimate the speed of the dolphin race and make sure those bikini bottoms are in place, as your bum might be in the family photo album if not, again, trust me.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Charlot D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The one thing you should not miss!”
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

Swim with dolphins! The best Dolphin faculty in the world! If you havea scuba certificate you can done with them in the open water on the beautiful coral reef where they swim with you in complete freedom. Amazing!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bocuracao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Awesome! Must do if you're in Curaçao.”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

It's an amazing once in a lifetime experience. If you're on the island, you can't miss this. Yes, it is a bit pricey, but I guarantee it's one of the coolest things you'll ever do.

My boyfriend and I did the Dolphin Swim. Before we went into the water we got to watch a short video about dolphins and the instructors explained how to interact with them, trying to enhance the experience not only for us but for the dolphins as well.

We spent 30 minutes in the water with dolphins Kayena and Roxette and also a baby dolphin. We were so in awe of these animals, their sweetness and intelligence.

The academy allows a group of 6 people with each dolphin and every person gets a chance to do several tricks with the dolphins in those 30 minutes. During the swim pictures are taken by photographers from the academy.

If you want all the pictures, you can purchase the USB with the photos for $80. Again, pricey, but the quality of the photos is high.

After our swim we waited for the Dolphin Show where the trainers and the dolphins do some really cool tricks. This is also nice to see.

Bottom line: Yes, it's a bit pricey, but it's absolutely worth it.

Tip: The USB for $80 with all the pictures include images from the group of 6 participating in the Dolphin Swim. So if you're traveling with a group, you can buy 1 USB and split the cost.

Note: The swim takes 30 minutes, but it will take 10 minutes or so to fill out some forms and make the payment, so I recommend to arrive a bit early. The videos and instructions take another 10 minutes or so. If you want to see the show, you'll be there for another 30 minutes. So the whole experience can take from 1-2 hours.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dolphin Academy Curacao also viewed

 

Been to Dolphin Academy Curacao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing