We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice not too expensive hotel at the center of Willemstad”
Review of E M City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
E M City Hotel
Ranked #31 of 32 Hotels in Willemstad
Reviewed August 21, 2012

If you want to be at the center of Willemstad and don't want a very expensive hotel, this is a good choice. I was a little nourvous when I arrived at the backside of the hotel, because it doesn't look nice. But when you see the hotel from the front it looks great, it is right acros from the floating bridge. I've only had breakfast there once, it was okay, but really nothing special. Because you are at the center of Willemstad you can easily have breakfast lunch and diner at any of the restaurants. They show a swimmingpool with the hotel but it is way to small, I didn't use it. You can take a bus to one of the beaches and swim in the ocean. The staff was friendly and helpful and the room was clean.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IlonaIlona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 148 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2012

If you just need a place to sleep, then this hotel will do. Apart from rather worn-down rooms and a central location right on the Plaza Brion, this hotel has NOTHING to write home about. Staying here will NOT be a good holiday choice. There are better alternatives in Curacao than this one, and the price difference is often marginal.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank oyvindei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2012

When I made my reservation, I specifically asked about the internet, so when I arrived, I was surprised to be told that the internet wasn't working.

Arriving after 9 pm on Sunday, I was given little help finding anything to eat. (The one suggestion - the Pizza Hut - closed at 10 pm.)

Despite an ice bucket in the room, I failed to locate any ice to put in it - one machine disconnected, the other just did not work.

The view over the pontoon bridge into the old town was good.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank beardocubauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2012

The location of the Howard Johnson was very good, right across the pontoon bridge in Otrabanda. The rooms were good sized. The view from our room across the water to Willemstad was gorgeous. But that's about all that can be said in its favor. The information sheet which we got from the hotel agent said that the rooms came with air conditioning, AM/FM clock, coffee maker, hairdryer, high speed Internet access, in room safe, and iron and ironing board. Well ours didn't. We were taken to our room and found that the lamps in the room were physically broken and did not work. These were changed by taking some from another room (wonder what those poor guests had to do for light). The airconditioning could not be regulated so we ended up turning it off completely. There was no clock, I don't remember if there was a coffee maker, there was no Internet access; there was a safe, but it had no lock and there was a big hole where the lock should have been; there was a broken ironing board, but no iron. But the most important thing for us was that there was no hairdryer. When we told the receptionist about this when we arrived she said that she noted it and that it would be dealt with in the morning. When this didn't happen, we enquired again at reception in the morning and were rudely told (by a different receptionist) that they were dealing with it and that the dryer would be placed in our room. When we returned and this had not happened, we asked again and were then told that no one had promised us a hair dryer at all. The only thing going for this hotel is its location. Nothing else. Couldn't recommend it at all.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank S K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

This was our first visit to curacao and i must say we enjoyed it,from doing a little research on the internet the reviews were not so good about the hotel but seeing it for myself was the complete opposite,the staff was very friendly and accomadating our room 319 was large,great view of the floating bridge housekeeping vaccumed and cleaned everyday we got cleaned towels everyday and the food in the hotel's restaurant was delicious,it has a children's park outside i think it's a public park it does not belong to the hotel but our daughter had fun sliding and swinging,the people are very friendly and the shopping AMAZING,the next time we visit curacao we will be staying at this hotel it's very affordable but they really need to have their pool cleaned everyday though,it was smelly and dirty so we took a taxi to the nearest beach.

Room Tip: rooms on the third floor are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bessdress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

This hotel is good. Service encountered good. Got a room with a view to Punda. Hotel room was clean. Basic. Had to change room because showerhead got loose, but with no fuzz we changed to the room next door. Glad to say at this hotel and will probably return to this hotel, since the location is perfect. I recommend this hotel if you are on a low budget, but want to have a nice location.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bryan_m36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2011

first of all the room was dirty, the sheet on the bed had a hole in it , and the room smelled very musty and ... old. the pool looked awful, my family and i usually enjoy the pools at hotels we stayed at but we wouldn't even dare go into the pool. service was poor. we had no fridge. the carpets where dirty the whole experience was awful the only thing that made me enjoy my trip was the shopping,the haggen daz and a wonderful restaurant we went to.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tshai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Willemstad hotels
0.3 mi away
San Marco Hotel and Casino
San Marco Hotel and Casino
#24 of 32 in Willemstad
225 reviews
0.1 mi away
Otrobanda Hotel and Casino
Otrobanda Hotel and Casino
#23 of 32 in Willemstad
99 reviews
0.1 mi away
Curacao Suites Hotel
Curacao Suites Hotel
#8 of 32 in Willemstad
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Curacao Airport Hotel
Curacao Airport Hotel
#22 of 32 in Willemstad
72 reviews
0.2 mi away
WAVE Hotel & Cafe Curacao
WAVE Hotel & Cafe Curacao
#25 of 32 in Willemstad
56 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Ritz Village Hotel
The Ritz Village Hotel
#15 of 32 in Willemstad
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to E M City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about E M City Hotel

Address: Brionplein z/n | Otrobanda, Curacao, Willemstad, Curacao
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Casino Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range: $73 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — E M City Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EM City Hotel Stay at EM City Hotel and experience the rich history of Curacao all around you. Otrobanda and Willemstad is the home of many buildings that form part of unique historic districts. These are part of the the UN/UNESCO World Heritage list and are therefore being protected by law. Many buildings have been renovated, while keeping their original architecture form. There are various Museums in the area that will allow you to have a unique experience of the rich history of Curacao. By staying at EM City hotel you will be located in the center of it all by only seconds and minutes walk from your hotel. EM City Hotel is right in the center of it all: entertainment districts, shopping, financial district, health district, governmental district, culture and museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your E M City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Curacao Plaza Hotel And Casino
Howard Johnson Curacao Plaza Hotel Willemstad
Howard Johnson Willemstad
Willemstad Howard Johnson
E M City Hotel Curacao/Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing