We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great location, but that's all” 2 of 5 stars
Review of E M City Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
E M City Hotel
Ranked #29 of 31 Hotels in Willemstad
Haifa
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great location, but that's all”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

The location of the Howard Johnson was very good, right across the pontoon bridge in Otrabanda. The rooms were good sized. The view from our room across the water to Willemstad was gorgeous. But that's about all that can be said in its favor. The information sheet which we got from the hotel agent said that the rooms came with air conditioning, AM/FM clock, coffee maker, hairdryer, high speed Internet access, in room safe, and iron and ironing board. Well ours didn't. We were taken to our room and found that the lamps in the room were physically broken and did not work. These were changed by taking some from another room (wonder what those poor guests had to do for light). The airconditioning could not be regulated so we ended up turning it off completely. There was no clock, I don't remember if there was a coffee maker, there was no Internet access; there was a safe, but it had no lock and there was a big hole where the lock should have been; there was a broken ironing board, but no iron. But the most important thing for us was that there was no hairdryer. When we told the receptionist about this when we arrived she said that she noted it and that it would be dealt with in the morning. When this didn't happen, we enquired again at reception in the morning and were rudely told (by a different receptionist) that they were dealing with it and that the dryer would be placed in our room. When we returned and this had not happened, we asked again and were then told that no one had promised us a hair dryer at all. The only thing going for this hotel is its location. Nothing else. Couldn't recommend it at all.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    33
    50
    30
    17
See reviews for
33
47
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port of Spain, Trinidad
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

This was our first visit to curacao and i must say we enjoyed it,from doing a little research on the internet the reviews were not so good about the hotel but seeing it for myself was the complete opposite,the staff was very friendly and accomadating our room 319 was large,great view of the floating bridge housekeeping vaccumed and cleaned everyday we got cleaned towels everyday and the food in the hotel's restaurant was delicious,it has a children's park outside i think it's a public park it does not belong to the hotel but our daughter had fun sliding and swinging,the people are very friendly and the shopping AMAZING,the next time we visit curacao we will be staying at this hotel it's very affordable but they really need to have their pool cleaned everyday though,it was smelly and dirty so we took a taxi to the nearest beach.

Room Tip: rooms on the third floor are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bessdress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curacao
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

This hotel is good. Service encountered good. Got a room with a view to Punda. Hotel room was clean. Basic. Had to change room because showerhead got loose, but with no fuzz we changed to the room next door. Glad to say at this hotel and will probably return to this hotel, since the location is perfect. I recommend this hotel if you are on a low budget, but want to have a nice location.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bryan_m36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Jamaica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

first of all the room was dirty, the sheet on the bed had a hole in it , and the room smelled very musty and ... old. the pool looked awful, my family and i usually enjoy the pools at hotels we stayed at but we wouldn't even dare go into the pool. service was poor. we had no fridge. the carpets where dirty the whole experience was awful the only thing that made me enjoy my trip was the shopping,the haggen daz and a wonderful restaurant we went to.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tshai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Willemstad hotels

Toronto
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2011

The location is central. The cost is one of the cheaper places on the island. I am kind of on the fence about the place. The rooms are nice. There are a lot of teenagers hanging around the entrance to the elevator a lot which isn't great. Security is minimal during the day and 2 old guys at night. There is no parking - only available are 6 spots. So, add another $25-35 USD per week if you plan to leave your car a lot. The hotel staff say they will help with parking but they don't! I am going to complain to Howard Johnson about the parking. I think there are better options on the island for hotels as long as you spend a little more. I guess the place is alright if you are on a budget and are away from the hotel most of the time.

Room Tip: Get a room on level 2 or 3 for added security
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dougfms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2011

I must commend the staff as they were very courteous and friendly.However what I disliked was the fact that I needed to iron an outfit but was told I had to pay to get the iron.Now I've been to other hotels elsewhere and never have I been told that burrowing the iron requires a downpayment,that was a turn off for me.Also the internet service I was unaware that I had to pay differently for that too if I desired the service. Those were flaws I found with the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank senoj_jon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

The hotel is in a good location, the room is large and clean, nice 32 LCD TV, but we had problems with the air conditioner that was broken and shower doesn' t heat. After two days asking they fixed both. The key card sometimes doesn't work and we had to go to reception to fix it. Some people in reception are unfriendly! The price $95 for night without breakfast!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MarcelloBraga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Willemstad hotels
0.2 mi away
Plaza Hotel Curacao
Plaza Hotel Curacao
#26 of 31 in Willemstad
3.0 of 5 stars 357 reviews
0.1 mi away
Otrobanda Hotel and Casino
Otrobanda Hotel and Casino
#22 of 31 in Willemstad
3.5 of 5 stars 85 reviews
0.3 mi away
San Marco Hotel and Casino
San Marco Hotel and Casino
#23 of 31 in Willemstad
3.5 of 5 stars 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Curacao Suites Hotel
Curacao Suites Hotel
#12 of 31 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 stars 62 reviews
0.2 mi away
WAVE Hotel & Cafe Curacao
WAVE Hotel & Cafe Curacao
#24 of 31 in Willemstad
3.5 of 5 stars 56 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sonesta Kura Hulanda Village & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to E M City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about E M City Hotel

Property: E M City Hotel
Address: Brionplein z/n | Otrobanda, Willemstad, Curacao
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Casino Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — E M City Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your E M City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Curacao Plaza Hotel Willemstad
Howard Johnson Curacao Plaza Hotel And Casino
Howard Johnson Willemstad
Willemstad Howard Johnson
E M City Hotel Curacao/Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing