We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"good stay staff friendly but dirty pool"”
Review of E M City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
E M City Hotel
Ranked #31 of 32 Hotels in Willemstad
Port of Spain, Trinidad
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"good stay staff friendly but dirty pool"”
Reviewed January 4, 2012

This was our first visit to curacao and i must say we enjoyed it,from doing a little research on the internet the reviews were not so good about the hotel but seeing it for myself was the complete opposite,the staff was very friendly and accomadating our room 319 was large,great view of the floating bridge housekeeping vaccumed and cleaned everyday we got cleaned towels everyday and the food in the hotel's restaurant was delicious,it has a children's park outside i think it's a public park it does not belong to the hotel but our daughter had fun sliding and swinging,the people are very friendly and the shopping AMAZING,the next time we visit curacao we will be staying at this hotel it's very affordable but they really need to have their pool cleaned everyday though,it was smelly and dirty so we took a taxi to the nearest beach.

Room Tip: rooms on the third floor are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bessdress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    34
    52
    31
    17
See reviews for
33
47
12
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Curacao
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2011

This hotel is good. Service encountered good. Got a room with a view to Punda. Hotel room was clean. Basic. Had to change room because showerhead got loose, but with no fuzz we changed to the room next door. Glad to say at this hotel and will probably return to this hotel, since the location is perfect. I recommend this hotel if you are on a low budget, but want to have a nice location.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bryan_m36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Jamaica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2011

first of all the room was dirty, the sheet on the bed had a hole in it , and the room smelled very musty and ... old. the pool looked awful, my family and i usually enjoy the pools at hotels we stayed at but we wouldn't even dare go into the pool. service was poor. we had no fridge. the carpets where dirty the whole experience was awful the only thing that made me enjoy my trip was the shopping,the haggen daz and a wonderful restaurant we went to.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tshai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Willemstad hotels

Toronto
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2011

The location is central. The cost is one of the cheaper places on the island. I am kind of on the fence about the place. The rooms are nice. There are a lot of teenagers hanging around the entrance to the elevator a lot which isn't great. Security is minimal during the day and 2 old guys at night. There is no parking - only available are 6 spots. So, add another $25-35 USD per week if you plan to leave your car a lot. The hotel staff say they will help with parking but they don't! I am going to complain to Howard Johnson about the parking. I think there are better options on the island for hotels as long as you spend a little more. I guess the place is alright if you are on a budget and are away from the hotel most of the time.

Room Tip: Get a room on level 2 or 3 for added security
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dougfms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2011

I must commend the staff as they were very courteous and friendly.However what I disliked was the fact that I needed to iron an outfit but was told I had to pay to get the iron.Now I've been to other hotels elsewhere and never have I been told that burrowing the iron requires a downpayment,that was a turn off for me.Also the internet service I was unaware that I had to pay differently for that too if I desired the service. Those were flaws I found with the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank senoj_jon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2011

The hotel is in a good location, the room is large and clean, nice 32 LCD TV, but we had problems with the air conditioner that was broken and shower doesn' t heat. After two days asking they fixed both. The key card sometimes doesn't work and we had to go to reception to fix it. Some people in reception are unfriendly! The price $95 for night without breakfast!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MarcelloBraga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2011

We just loved the central location of this Hotel! The floating bridge is located directly in front of the hotel and you reach Punda just by crossing it, restaurants and bars are located just around the hotel.

Breakfast at the Howard Johnson wasn't anything special, so from the second day on we had our breakfast at the nearby restaurant La Bahia which belongs to the Otrobanda Hotel and offers not only a large breakfast buffet but also a spectacular view over the floating bridge and Punda.

Our room was large with two king sized beds that were extremely comfortable. We didn't encounter any problems with mosquitoes as we didn't open the windows and used Airco to cool the room down before going to bed. The room was clean.

Service was normal, nothing to be mentioned but ok.

We would definitely visit the Howard Johnson again!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sophie_2290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Willemstad hotels
0.1 mi away
Otrobanda Hotel and Casino
Otrobanda Hotel and Casino
#22 of 32 in Willemstad
3.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.1 mi away
Curacao Suites Hotel
Curacao Suites Hotel
#8 of 32 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.3 mi away
Plaza Hotel Curacao
Plaza Hotel Curacao
#28 of 32 in Willemstad
3.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Holiday Beach Hotel and Casino
0.3 mi away
San Marco Hotel and Casino
San Marco Hotel and Casino
#23 of 32 in Willemstad
3.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.2 mi away
WAVE Hotel & Cafe Curacao
WAVE Hotel & Cafe Curacao
#26 of 32 in Willemstad
3.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to E M City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about E M City Hotel

Property: E M City Hotel
Address: Brionplein z/n | Otrobanda, Curacao, Willemstad, Curacao
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Casino Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — E M City Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EM City Hotel Stay at EM City Hotel and experience the rich history of Curacao all around you. Otrobanda and Willemstad is the home of many buildings that form part of unique historic districts. These are part of the the UN/UNESCO World Heritage list and are therefore being protected by law. Many buildings have been renovated, while keeping their original architecture form. There are various Museums in the area that will allow you to have a unique experience of the rich history of Curacao. By staying at EM City hotel you will be located in the center of it all by only seconds and minutes walk from your hotel. EM City Hotel is right in the center of it all: entertainment districts, shopping, financial district, health district, governmental district, culture and museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your E M City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Curacao Plaza Hotel And Casino
Howard Johnson Curacao Plaza Hotel Willemstad
Howard Johnson Willemstad
Willemstad Howard Johnson
E M City Hotel Curacao/Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing