We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“April 2013 Wonderful Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunscape Curacao Resort Spa & Casino
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We read many comments and were discouraged however, my husband and I decided to go with an open mind. Indeed our experience at Suncape was a memorable and enjoyable one.
When we arrived we were met with pleasant smiling faces immediately, we felt welcome. Our bookings were inaccurate. However, without any hesitation Darling and Nutan relocated us to the Flamingo building where a room on the third floor was available. We were very impressed by the manner in which our request was arranged. Reynault accompanied us to our room and assured us we will love our room. He was very courteous. Our room was quite lovely, the view made us feel at home with the lovely ocean and coconut trees. Many people complained about the washrooms being small however, yes it’s small but usable and spotlessly clean and no horrible scent. We must keep in mind we’re not at home but on vacation to spend more time outdoors enjoying what the resort has to offer. There is a mini refrigerator in the rooms which contained beers (Amstel) soft drinks etc. Housekeeping was done every day. We were so relieved when we didn’t have to wear a band on our hands as we are accustomed to at other resorts. Tiffany you’re the best very helpful and kind.

As for the food the World Café had a variety of food and the staff were very courteous and friendly especially Novetta who made sure I got my ice cream. Himitsu the Japanese restaurant was quite an experience where Sherman the chef made our dining exciting and yes the food was delicious. Bluewaters Grill - delicious steaks. Oceana - if you’re into seafood it’s enjoyable. The De Mario we didn’t dine in as we don’t like Italian food but from other guest I heard it’s lovely as well. If you’re not early at the other Restaurants a beeper was given for the next available table and the wait was not too long. Sunscape offers a wide range of food in our opinion. Fresh fruits were available every day at the World Café which we enjoyed. As for the drinkers well I’m sure they were quite happy as we saw a variety of alcohol beverages.

The Swimming pools were very clean, the surroundings were extremely clean. There were lots of activities for both adults and children. Shopping at the town was reasonable and the people were friendly we made new friends both at Suncape Resort and in the Town. The Sea Aquarium which is about 15mins walk from the resort was quite adventurous; we fed the Sharks and enjoyed the Dolphin’s show. We hardly spent time in our room because it’s fun outdoors. Oh yes you do get Towels for the pools we never had any issues with that. We were there to have fun and we certainly did the staff contributed to that as they were always there to assist. We visited the Spa and the service was excellent.
There is a Gym available also.

We have to make special mention to Ursula who is the IT Assistant and Inayda at the VIP lounge who were quite pleasant as well. Raymond assisted us when we were leaving and ensured we had our bags.

Sincerely, we will recommend this resort as we had fun and enjoyed our stay tremendously. Definitely, we will be visiting Sunscape again in the very near future.

Gary & Anisha Rampersad
Trinidad

Room Tip: The Flamingo Building is very quiet and has its own pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Anisha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (5,077)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,424 - 3,430 of 5,077 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2013

After a destination wedding in Jamaica, we decided to honeymoon in Curacao. We did not have high expectations of the hotel after reading the reviews and also knew that the hotel was undergoing a transition after its recent purchase from Breezes. Thankfully, our stay exceeded our expectations. Upon arrival, we were checked in at the Preferred Club Lounge by Viela. She was very pleasant and answered all of our questions. We had reserved a Honeymoon Oceanfront Junior Suite, blah, blah. Huron assisted us to our room, while giving information about the hotel as we walked through.

The first room (2102) we were giving was Ok but definitely needed some repairs. After the first night, we went to Viela and discussed our concerns. Viela informed her manager, Tiffany, who was able to relocate us by that afternoon to Room 8301, which was amazing; definitely more of an AM Resort standard than the prior room. We frequented the lounge (to use Wifi) and was always greet with smiles and pleasantries.

The hotel does not use wristbands and no reservations are required for any of the restaurants. They will give you a pager (similar to Red Lobster, or Outback), which will buzz when your table is available. The buffet needs some work on the options available, it was just OK to us; we ate there once for lunch and once for breakfast. Omelet cook needs to adjust her mood!!! Seriously, I understand that you are hot as hell at that grill, but honey, you pick that job not me so suck it up!!

The Oceana was our FAVORITE place to be for lunch and dinner. Norma (Baby Love), the bartender, is in a class ALL BY HERSELF. That woman made our stay fun and always knew how to keep the party ROLLING!!! We sat at the bar with her for hours, while eating some fish and fries prepared by Iona. Iona, is a bit on the older side of life so she's not super friendly (and she’s at the hot grill like the omelet lady) but her fish is the best! Oceana for dinner is also awesome. Sasha, the waitress, was great!!

The Italian restaurant was surprising really good. The Blue Water Bar and grill needs some work!!!! They are just "Dry" as I frequently referred to them. The bartenders seem disinterested and the cook (a male) was horrible. His food always looked dry and burnt.

Housekeeping needs some retraining on a few things. If when you come to a room that has three used washcloths, please return three washcloths! We had to ask for washcloths everyday. Occasionally, we would run into a housekeeper in the hallway and ask her for them, and she would always reply with "I don't have any!" And I would always reply with "Well, Go find some." It’s that SIMPLE.

The hotel has some improvements to go before it can live up to the standard of an AM Resort but its definitely trying to get there.

If possible, please do the private dinner on the beach at sunset (6:30pm). This was the highlight of our honeymoon. Be sure to ask for Juendric (Chris), if he is available, because that young man was working his tail off! You can sign up for this dinner at the Concierge desk in the lobby and Sonaly and/or Viedjalis would be glad to assist.

My husband and I are world travelers and have seen the best of the best and the worst of the worst. Sunscape Curacao was a “better than good” stay!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank pregnantmomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Just returned. Resort is tired & outdated. Most employess are anti-english speaking. (they can but wont) Food was not bad, service was terrible in terms of no training or organization. Housekeeping neglected to do or amenities were missing everyday. On our last evening we got no housekeeping at all. The speciality restaurants are first come so they dont have a reservation system. The beach should be tended to at the shoreline for a more comfortable access. Lastly, the rodents (rats) stay free of charge & it was a daily sighting. The manager would not even come out of his/her office to discuss the situation.
The only positive of this resort was the snorkling.

Room Tip: Ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank keith181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Where i start!! first off id like to say, Curacao is an amazing island and a very safe.. we stayed at the Sunscape resort and spa. We were greeted as VIP!! glass of wine while we were doing our check in and the staff was soooo, just sooo nice. we were led up to our room which was in the flamingo quarters of the hotel. the room was just out right fabulous and huge and it was ocean front 3rd floor. we had a pool that was open 24hrs and was just super clean. the beaches were super amazing clear blue waters and snorkling was out of this world!! only downside to the beaches is everyone gets up really early and puts a towel on the seats to save them, which wasnt anything big!! the bars were funn and the drinks just kept flowing, although the alcohol could of been more stronger but whos to complain when its all inclusive and you have NORMA, YES NORMA making your drinks!!!! (miss you baby love). the food was good, breakfast buffet, lunch buffet and dinner buffet. if you wanted something more, u can do lunch at the blue water grill or the seafood restaurant which served a hand full of goodies. dinner was great as well. our favorite was the blue water grill, the steaks were to die for and the CHEF SALAD!! isnt like any other chef salad ive had,, it was way better. you have to make sure you arrive at the dinner restaurants at least 615pm to guarantee a seat or youll be waiting about 1.5hrs to sit. ALL IN ALL THE WHOLE RESORT WAS PARADISE AND SOO CLEAN, I MEAN THE STAFF DID A HELL OF A JOB KEEPING THE CUSTOMERS HAPPY.!! I WOULD HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS PLACE TO ANYONE TRAVELING TO CURACAO. and if you get lucky, u can find the black sand beach in westpunt. just rent a car and drive.. its all safe and good..

Room Tip: ask for a room in the flamingo quarters, they seem to all be updated and big!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank tommy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We just returned from eight wonderful days at Sunscape Curacao. We chose this particular place because of its reputation for providing excellent snorkeling right from the beach, and we were not disappointed. We snorkeled every day and loved the variety and exoticism of the fish we saw. We also took a snorkeling tour (1/2 day) with a man named Sonder who took us to a sunken tugboat that was just teeming with fish of all kinds. Thanks, Sonder! A lovely morning. If you are not into snorkeling, Sunscape is probably three stars rather than four, but it has much to offer besides snorkeling. Check-in was smooth and quick. We stayed at the Flamingo, with a lovely view of palms and a pool and the Caribbean. The room was fine, well-kept by Rosa. Thanks, Rosa! The mini-bar/fridge was refilled with Coke, water, Sprite and beer. But there is no bottle opener for the beer! This was probably a Macchiavellian policy by management: Most people would just get the same beer at one of the bars but couldn't complain that the fridge lacked beer. Oh, well. We loved the food. We ate at the World Cafe for breakfast and supper and were never even slightly disappointed. The food is well-prepared, varied, and tasty. We especially enjoyed the fish dishes. The white wine was decent enough--as good as we've had at all-inclusives in the Caribbean. We ate on the early side (6:30) and never had to wait in line for even a minute. The weather was perfect: eight sunny days with delicious trade winds from the northwest. Just sitting on the beach was a sensuous pleasure. There are plenty of lounge chairs, but not quite enough tiki huts. Still, this was better than some of our other vacation resorts in that respect. We enjoyed the relative quiet of the place. Most of the piped in music comprised orchestral versions of Beatles' ballads: soft, unobtrusive background music. On Saturday and Sunday nights, an extremely talented guitarist played during the dinner hour--good selections expertly rendered. Some people have complained about the staff. Okay, there may have been one or two sullen bartenders, but most of the staff were helpful and friendly. Jurick at the towel/water sports hut was always jovial and efficient; Renee at the Oceana seemed happy to serve us; Miguel at the lobby bar actually fixed us a truly dry martini; and there were others whose names I can't remember, but usually if you smiled and were polite you got friendly, polite treatment in return. The beach is lovely but rock shoes are recommended for certain sections, and the pool by the Flamingo was a delight--almost empty some days so you could do laps if you wanted. The fitness center is adequate: small, cluttered, and not well-air-conditioned, but okay for most needs. It was almost always empty when I was there; many visitors could have used a good workout or two.If you want to find flaws, you always can: We had a slight drip in our room that started on day two in the hallway, then mysteriously disappeared two days later; no big deal. there were two irrelevant wires dangling an inch or so from the ceiling outside the bathroom. We just ignored them; no big deal. The shower water occasionally changed temperature capriciously; no big deal. And there were some mosquitos in our room. No ants, no roaches, no iguanas, but yes, a couple of annoying mosquitos. We used the "Off" we had brought, and that diminished the problem. But my biggest and only real gripe involves the service on the weekend, when there was an influx of guests. There was only one poor guy at the snack bar grill trying to serve a long line of hungry, impatient people. The bars were overcrowded, too. If management expects people to return, then guests should not have to wait a half hour for a burger at the snack bar! Amazingly, on Monday, with far fewer guests, the same guy had an assistant and there was no line at all. Why have assistants on weekdays when you don't really need them, but no help on weekends when it was bustling? I didn't get it. Anyway, I hope these comments help you if you're wondering about visiting Sunscape. The main reason we may not return involves the traveling process. From Buffalo, NY, where we live, we had to take three flights, covering 13 hours of flying/airport time. The connections all worked, but we were still pretty exhausted when we arrived in Curacao and again when we got home (yesterday). Finally, although Curacao is a lovely island, it did not have the stunning, overwhelming physical beauty of a place like St. Lucia, where we have been seven times. But we enjoyed our week and hope other travelers enjoy Sunscape, too.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money and stay in the oceanfront rooms. It's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Bugsy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Greetings
I will try to keep this brief & provide my perspective of Sunscape Curacao. My viewpoint is based upon travelling to ~14, 4-5* AI, Mexican / Caribbean resorts in the last 6 yrs.

Check-in: perfectly executed by Inayda & Michael.
Eduardo was a wealth of information.

Room 8321, Preferred Club
Nice view from the 3rd flr. Clean & stocked daily. Although it was a slight distance from things, (farthest building from the restaurants, lobby etc) we didn’t mind the walk or stairs.

Restaurants
Visited them all

WORLD CAFÉ RESTAURANT (Outside dining) Buffet, was fair to great at times. They have the hostess with the “mostess”, unfortunately I cannot remember the little ray of sunshine’s name. Zuney was a fabulous waitress with a contagious smile.

Dinner:
Accurately, stated if you were not in line prior to opening you were generally not in the first seating. Although this was not the case the last 2 times we went to Oceana. Not many choices at Oceana but quite good if you like fish & seafood. Chantal was an exceptional attentive waitress there.

BLUE WATER GRILL (Outside dining)
Coming from American, definitely not quality of beef nor the huge portions we are accustomed to.

DA MARIO RESTAURANT (inside & outside dining)
quite good.

HIMITSU RESTAURANT, (Outside dining)
Food was good but we were the last hibachi table & dinner took quite a while, although the wait staff was great.

Bars
Visited them all as well. I never saw much going on at the swim-up bar. Norma was a delight during the day @ Oceana bar. In the evening Elfred’s bar tending team catered to all our needs. Sheldon, Migel, Ching Ping, & Elfred, you were FABULOUS! Thank you for making a good vacation great. Luv you all!

Resort is dated, but a work in progress, with improvements evident.
Beach is very nice. Snorkeling was great, fish everywhere near the break wall.
Nice to have complementary shuttle to town, but must be booked in advance.
My mom had a mani-peddi at the Spa & was very impressed.
Casino is a nice feature as well.

As with life, it is what you make of it. I live my life by a simple rule: treating others as I want to be treated. The staff is trying their best to provide us with a wonderful vacation but some things are out of their control. Take a deep breath, smile & enjoy the paradise around you!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Leeann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

I spent 4 nights at this all inclusive resort. It has been recently renovated and the room was big and the building clean. The entertainment was very good and so was the food and drinks. The service at the 3 dinning rooms was excellent. The employees were very friendly and pleasant. All the requests were fulfilled. It is a family oriented resort and it is not for adults only, so if you like more "peace and quiet" on a vacation, it is not for you. It was full of kids of all ages since it was Mother's Day and Catholic First Communion weekend. Check with the resort before you book if there is any special event at the resort on your dates. Otherwise, it was a marvelous vacation for the price.

Room Tip: Building 2 back side has an ocean view and the shade in the afternoon and it is close to all the fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank JuanM1411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Willemstad
0.5 mi away
Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao
0.2 mi away
Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort
1.8 mi away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#2 of 32 in Willemstad
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Papagayo Beach Resort
Papagayo Beach Resort
#9 of 32 in Willemstad
356 reviews
2.7 mi away
Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino
3.9 mi away
Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunscape Curacao Resort Spa & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunscape Curacao Resort Spa & Casino

Address: Dr. Martin Luther King Boulevard # 78, Willemstad, Curacao (Formerly Princess Beach Curacao Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Willemstad
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Willemstad
#6 Spa Hotel in Willemstad
#6 Family Hotel in Willemstad
#7 Luxury Hotel in Willemstad
#7 Romantic Hotel in Willemstad
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range: $266 - $460 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunscape Curacao Resort Spa & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 341
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located near one of the world's most praised diving sites, Sunscape Curaçao Resort, Spa & Casino offers guests a fun-filled getaway of a lifetime with all the privileges of Unlimited-Fun(R). All guests will enjoy limitless access to six delectable restaurants, where reservations are never required and endless domestic and international beverages from seven chic bars and lounges. The Explorer's Club is where kids, ages 3 to 12, can have their own fun while under the supervision of Red Cross certified supervisors and the Core Zone Teens Club offers special activities and events for teens 13 to 17-years-old. All guests will have the fun-filled getaway of a lifetime at Sunscape Curaçao with activities, events, parties and more where wristbands are never required! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Sunscape Curacao Resort Spa & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Breezes Resort, Spa And Casino - Curacao
Breezes Resort, Spa & Casino - Curacao Hotel Willemstad
Breezes Curacao Hotel
Breezes Resort Curacao
Superclub Breezes Curacao
Breeze Curacao
Sunscape Curacao Resort Spa & Casino Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing