We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,635)
Filter reviews
5,635 results
Traveler rating
2,202
1,887
946
357
243
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,202
1,887
946
357
243
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssun clubbluewater grilljapanese restaurantentertainment teamworld cafeflamingo buildinga la carte restaurantsseafoodda mariofire showthe blue water grillcoco cafeoceana barjohnny rocketbaby lovecandy mankids club
Filter
Updating list...
3,943 - 3,948 of 5,635 reviews
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I just returned from Sunscape with my family and we had a great week. A majority of the staff were wonderful. I have three year old twins and the staff in the Kids Club were amazing with them. It was a quiet week at the resort so they had their undivided attention. The kids area was clean and the park area attached was well shaded. There didn't appear to be any time limits on the length of time allowed per day and each night they had a dinner planned for the kids. It was wonderful to have a quiet dinner and the kids had an amazing time with the staff. Thanks to Marvetta, Roxy, Tirzan, Stephanie, Yakira and all the other staff. Great job.

Family movies are screened nightly on the beach. And on most night popcorn and drinks were provided.

Some quick restaurant tips
The buffet (World Cafe) is at best a 5 out of 10
The Italian (de Mario) is is no way worth the wait. Ridiculously slow. It took two hours to get our meal and in the end gave up before dessert came.
Japanese (Himitsu) don't miss this restaurant. Food was great, staff was amazing its a fun evening. It's very similar to Benihana except you get more chicken, shrimp, fish, and steak yum yum!
Seafood (Oceana) we didn't t go but I head amazing things from everyone that did go.
Grill (Bluewater Grill) Good food and service. It's steak, chicken, ribs. It's a beautiful setting on the water overlooking the sunset. You shouldn't miss this restaurant and look for the "flying fish". So amazing to see.

For a quick afternoon bite try the Oceana Grill. Iman (??) the cook is friendly and food is made to order, grilled chicken sandwiches, grilled fish, fries, nachos, popcorn, hamburgers etc.

The pool at the far end of the resort is peaceful and quiet. They seemed to have renovated this whole area. New loungers and amazing cabana style loungers. And surprising very few people.

Upon arrival in Curauo the airport was slow and warm. It's took about an 1:40 to get from airport immigration to the hotel. Too many line ups at the airport. But once you get to the actual hotel it moves quickly.

When preparing to leave save you incoming boarding passes and or luggage tags as the Sunquest desk will print your new boarding passes 24 hrs in advance. And try tomgetnthere early to book your bus back to the airport. They have three buses at three different times. We ended up taking a taxi back to the airport. It was $35 for a group of 4.

The beach is nice and there were pleanty of loungers available.

The gym was better than I expected. They has 2 treadmills, a wave, elliptical, 2 bikes, and a wide selection of weight machines and free weights.

The spa looked nice but I didn't book any services. I was told a one hr massage was $70. So sounds like average

Hope this helps.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jenniferc57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We were at Sunscape January 20-27, 2013 and we had a wonderful family vacation even though there were a few problems with our rooms etc. We were at this same resort two years ago and decided to return because we had such a great experience the first time that we were there. I am part of the same group as,”Second Time-Things have changed”, dated January 28, 2013. I will try to add rather than repeat in my report.

Some Pros:
-Sunscape Curacao is a great resort for a family vacation with young children. The location of the resort near the airport and Willemstad and the beautiful beach setting are real pluses. Almost everything is close together and family friendly. Our group ranged in age from 3 years to 64 years. Some of our group would on the beach playing in the sand, snorkeling or using the paddle boats or kayaks, others would be in one of the pools and we were all still close to each other. Drinks and food were always nearby with good choices for kids as well as adults. On our second day, we were able to get two ground floor rooms. Then it was easy for the kids to take a sun break as needed.
-The front line staff was very ready and willing to address any of our requests or concerns. Suzanne and ?, (sorry I have forgotten the other lady’s name) made the birthday celebration for our grandchildren a very special evening. These ladies are outstanding at their jobs and were so genuine in their wish to make the celebration special. Igor did a wonderful job helping us to arrange for a yummy birthday cake and a photographer for family photos (see separate posting).
-We could walk from the resort to the Curacao Sea Aquarium. Everyone in our group thoroughly enjoyed our time at the Aquarium.

Some Cons:
-There issues with our rooms. I had sent an email to the resort and I had received an email response from Kurt Klaber concerning our accommodations before we arrived. However, our rooms were not at all suitable for our family group. Our rooms were all on the same floor, but they were not next to each other and the adults could not sit outside together in the evening after the children had gone to sleep. We told the front desk our concerns and were able to move to more suitable rooms the next day. Chris and Suzie (sp?) did a great job working with us to improve our situation. I tried to be clear in my email to Kurt about our greatest needs as far as our rooms. When he was not able to accommodate our needs, a personal email would have been very helpful. We had young children in our group and our stay would not have been nearly as pleasant if we had had to remain in the rooms that were first assigned to us.
-There seemed to be a number of gaps in communication between staff and also to guests. I won’t go into details, others have done so. Talking to the front line staff seemed to be the best approach. Hopefully these communication problems will be resolved in the near future.

In closing, we all enjoyed our week at Sunscape and would not hesitate to return.

Room Tip: If you not happy with your assigned room talk to the front desk.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank grandma2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

This is not a glitzy resort. It is still under renovations (which don't bother you) and will be even better when completed. However before our trip we saw some horrible reviews and were worried about going so I felt the need to write a review and give a different prospective. We thoroughly enjoyed our vacation here. The weather was gorgeous. You can relax on the beach (plenty of chairs-you never have a problem finding the perfect spot), and the snorkelling is amazing right there at the resort. The renovations are not complete so some rooms are tired but very clean and our room was very large. We found the food was great. Lots of selection at the buffet for all meals. The a la cartes were very, very good. No reservations and no limits on how many times you can use them. Yes, a couple times you had to wait for a table but we didn't mind as they gave you a beeper and you got to sit at the pool deck, get served a drink and listen to live music for the 20 or so minutes you waited. We enjoyed it. If you didn't want the buffet or a la cartes at dinner, you could always go to the beach bar for delicious barbecue. You should try the Japanese restaurant though, as Sherman is so fun to watch. The staff was very friendly. Most of them spoke many languages. The entertainment team was great and there were lots of little activities if you wanted to participate. The entertainment was not big glamorous sit down shows-it was usually live music and dancing. We really enjoyed it -everyone gathered around the pool area at tables and enjoyed the evening music. The drinks are great at the 4 bars. They even have premium alcohol that you don't see at other resorts (crown royal, cognacs etc) all included. The sea aquarium is about a ten minute walk away and there is also a shuttle to town. Many people rented cars to tour the island and said it was very easy to get around and very safe. I am not a diver but the resort did provide a boat and free, yes free, diving excursions everyday.
So if you are looking for sunny, warm weather on a beautiful, safe island and an all inclusive place to stay where the food and drinks are great and the staff is very friendly, helpful and fun this would be a great choice!

Room Tip: We stayed in the tower area which was not yet renovated. However we had a huge room that was very clean facing the ocean and all the pool and restaurants and activity areas. There are renovated rooms in the other areas. If you are looking for quiet - the rooms at the far end of the resort are renovated with a brand new pool that no one seemed to know was there. It was very private, had cabanas and a bar close by.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kim_macd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

First of all, Curacao is a beautiful island, the people are friendly and the town is safe. We took the local bus to Willemstad three times and went on several excursions. There is a lot of history on this island and much to see. You can’t beat the weather either.

Sunscape Hotel.......

First of all, for the most part, the staff at the hotel is really nice and they do try to be helpful but I really think they are lacking direction from the “managers” and they are short-staffed. I know the hotel was only half full but it lacked service at the buffet and basically you were on your own to get your own coffee, juice etc. There really wasn’t much in the way of the staff coming around to see if you needed anything or a refill of coffee, juice etc. The same was true if you were sitting around the pool or the beach.

There were a limited number of palapas for shade on the beach and at the pool there were none – only four-five that covered the small tables for those that wanted to eat outside of the buffet area. The lounge chairs at the pool were hard plastic with no cushions whatsoever which made lying or sitting on them uncomfortable. They could really use an upgrade of their patio furniture and loungers.

The hotel claims to have 4 ala carte restaurants – which they do; however, only two ala carte restaurants were open per evening as well as the buffet. They did NOT take reservations to the ala carte restaurants and it was “first come, first served”. The first week there were many people complaining to the manager, including Ben, because we and others would be standing in line at 6 p.m. for the 6:30 opening only to be told (it happened to us twice in the first week) that we could not be seated and would have to return for the next seating. This happened because one or two people would stand in line to be seated but when it came time for them to enter the restaurant they were really not two people - but 12 or 15 people who were not waiting in line but elsewhere. With only two restaurants open nightly, when we were told they couldn’t seat us at 6:30 we were left with the buffet as the only option because by that time, the second opened restaurant was also full. It was either the buffet or waiting until the 8 p.m. seating. This left many guests upset and I know that the manager got an ear full the first week we were there. I still don’t understand why they do not have the guests make dinner reservations. Much time was wasted and dinner became very frustrating.

The hotel itself looks more like a motel. Although clean, the rooms are in need of a facelift and it’s hard to believe that renovations have been done; perhaps they painted. The buildings are two stories, with one or two being 3 stories – these all had stairs. On the other end of the grounds, there was a “tower” which I believe had 6 floors and an elevator. We were first given a room on the second floor of the smaller buildings with “standing room” only on the balcony. Not even a chair could fit on the balcony and many of the rooms had these types of balconies. We asked to be changed and a lovely lady (Vigialias gave us accommodations on the first floor of another low rise building where we walked out onto the beach with a lovely beach view. We did have a mini fridge in the room but we had to constantly remind them to fill it up with beer and when they did, it was two beers at a time.

There were times where the hotel ran out of towels and a couple of times one or more bar ran out of beer or the beer machine was broken and guests were asked to go check the other bars. Although these incidents were frustrating for us, I believe they were also frustrating for the staff that did try to be helpful but really were lacking proper direction from the powers that be.

Although you will not go hungry, the buffet – for lunch was simple and repetitive.

The hotel’s entertainment is located on the pool deck (which has a small covered section for electrical instruments etc only) and sometimes on the beach. They do not have a covered area with ample seating where somebody can sit to watch a performance. Basically people sit outdoors on the pool deck on the chairs – some of which belong on the pool deck and some from the nearby restaurants or on lounge chairs and watch. Entertainment at night was basic and by 10 p.m. it was over. It varied from a sax player and blues/Jazz singer (who was really good), a lady singer with a great voice who sang Tribute songs to the Divas, and young female dancers who danced various customary dances. Some nights there were dance contests etc. The entertainment group really tried hard but it was pretty “basic” entertainment. During the day, the entertainment group did have lots of activities for the kids and free snorkeling gear, kayaks, paddle boats and bicycles for anyone to use.

The beach I believe is a man-made beach. You cannot walk along the beach like say in Jamaica because (1) Many sections of it are full of rocks, shells, (2) It goes deep rather quickly, and (3) the beach may be “long” but much of it is not walk-able because of the huge rocks/boulders that you have to go around. You definitely have to wear water shoes when going into the ocean.

Caliber of the hotel: They are just not there yet.....there are a lot of loop holes and things to perfect. The way we saw and experienced it, we would say that the hotel is a 3 star and if they want people to go there, they should lower/adjust their fees accordingly. It was disappointing to find that the services implied by the hotel in the brochure were lacking and definitely not the caliber for the money paid or number of stars given to this hotel.

All in all, the best was made with what we had to work with and we did meet some very nice staff members and a couple of very nice Canadian couples.

Favourite Staff Members: Vigialias Sambo, Awengelo, Jayson, Roshan, Omar, Norma (Baby Love) :)

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BellaBenToronto_ON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Sunscape Curaçao from January 27th thru February 6th. Overall our stay was wonderful. Don't believe all those negative reviews. Of course it's not 5 stars but they never said it was! Also their were no "rats" and food poisioning taking place.
Room: Our room was in the Pelican building, number 7310. Newly remodeled with a nice ocean view. Unfortunately the air conditioning is very loud and I had to use ear plugs! The TV is positioned in such a way that you can't lay down on the bed and watch it very comfortably but you shouldn't be spending much time in the room anyway. Nice mini refrigerator, daily stocked with soda and beer. Bathroom, very small, clean but no tub! House keeping is always asking if you need anything and plenty of towels.
Beach: crystal clear water, great snorkeling, some coral but you can get by without water shoes. Water sports are fun and plentiful. Some sea glass and very little trash like cigarette buts and straws.
Food: restaurants are very good. DeMario was the best. Japanese had very good soup. Not a very long wait! Buffet is lacking. Breakfast buffet needs work. The manger Luis is right on top of everything. Too bad for all the pigeons they need some netting around the World Cafe.
Staff: very friendly, Rio, Iona and Carolina. They make the resort.
Internet: unacceptable! You have to buy a wireless code for $40 and it only works near Pelican building and is sketchy at best. They need free wireless. We hade to take the bus into town and go to Starbucks to use their free wireless. The resort has one free desk top that people can use but sometimes their are waiting lines.
The resort is on its way to being a 4 star but not much more. It's an old property and no matter what you do it's still old. We rented a car and went to Cas Abou, this is a must! That beach is incredible. Driving is no problem at all. We parked downtown across from Renaissance Mall and had dinner. Willemstad in the evening is beautiful.
The resort is ok, staff tries very hard. Go to ala cart restaurants for the better meals. the beach is great. The only reason I wouldn't go back is because their are too many other places to visit. I do recommend Sunscape.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank James60946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews