We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$208
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $123/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$280
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Curacao(Willemstad)
$163
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$310
$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$144
$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Scuba Lodge & Suites(Willemstad)
$140
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $132/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Avila Beach Hotel(Willemstad)
$206
$171
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$505
$486
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (5,561)
Filter reviews
5,562 results
Traveler rating
2,187
1,865
936
345
229
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,187
1,865
936
345
229
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssun clubbluewater grilljapanese restaurantentertainment teamworld cafeseafoodflamingo buildinga la carte restaurantsda mariofire showthe blue water grillcoco cafeoceana barjohnny rocketbaby lovecandy mankids club
Filter
Updating list...
3,938 - 3,943 of 5,562 reviews
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Too many issues from the word go - took days to have problems fixed - ameneties that should have been in the room you had to chase staff around to get them (you paid for them in your package) - staff not very helpful with problems - always say we'll get right on it but never happens - I thought the food would have been a lot better - I'm not a fancy eater by far - we ate out in Willemstad a couple of times - much better food by far - food poisioning was spread out amongst guests to which they denied or would not even check it out for possibility.
The staff can't think for themselves or they are not allowed to.
The water and beach area have a lot of rock/coral
Still trying to figure out where they spent 10 million dollars in reno's
Willemstad is very beautiful with all it colours and shops
On the second day if I could have flown home I would have
Bad advice from a travel agent

All the issues we had (a lot of other guests too but can't speak for them) you should not have to waste your hard earned vacation running around you should be relaxing.
Would I go back to Curacao, yes but not to this hotel

Room Tip: Stay at a different hotel
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank brian s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CurJB, General Manager at Sunscape Curacao Resort Spa & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2013

Dear guest,

We thank you also for taking the time to share your experience with us. Going thru your review, first of all please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you have experienced as even though the resort was going thru a renovation process and it is not our standards for fixing of problems to take days. The resort has received new in-room furniture a total of 202 rooms & suites while all fine-dining restaurants got new furniture too and a total facelift of the lobby while adding a new Café and soon to open lobby bar. We also added a new a la carte seafood restaurant “Ocean” right on the beach plus the teens-club CoreZone / Sports-bar Desires. Our restaurant World Café is to receive some additional new furniture to compliment the new buffet area. Both pool decks, the main and the flamingo wing - our preferred club, have received new beach lounges and chairs to make the areas very relaxing for our guests.

Due to an unexpected raining period our sand indeed is been washed away into the sea. The beach is partially man-made so we already coordinated with the contractor that as soon as the rain is lesser he will come in to take out of the sand from sea and placed it back at the areas needed.

Regarding the food, we are sorry that you had experienced some inconveniences, however please note that we do have daily inspections done by the nurse and quality manager to ensure we do not have any incident. Our water is considered one of the best in the world that can even be drank from the tap. And according to the statistics our country is not consider amongst the high-risk countries for food poising. But in warm destinations when you have so many guests of so many different countries you can experience that certain viruses can come alone in the air.
Nevertheless we have the inspections regularly done and our kitchen and food & beverage employees are certified in HACCP and as per our local laws do every 6 month a test. Furthermore we our room attendants and housekeeping staff are trained to use the correct products when cleaning the rooms and public areas.

Dear guest, once more our sincere apologies and in the event of any further information or assistance is needed please contact us at any time.

Sunsationally Yours,
Jeanette M. Hooi-Bonet
General Manager
info.sucur@sunscaperesorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

This was my retirement trip with friends and family with 16 people total. The desk crew on afternoons the day we came in 29 December 12 was not very helpful. There were some snafu's with the rooms. The place was under new management and one of the buildings was under remodeling. During my son's stay there was never any phone service. There was 16 persons staying with our party so it would have been nice to be able to phone persons. Also, no clock, covers, remote for TV but after 2 days these things were finally brought to the room. otherwise, our stay was very pleasant once all these things were taken care of. Felt that Americans were not welcome by some of staff especially the persons at sail boating area. Since you don't pay for services they don't care about you even if you sign up in morning to go out on a Hobbie. They told us only 2 persons on a boat and then took out there friends (5 people) and one of riders yelled unkind things to us when they sailed away. It was disgraceful. This happened on Jan 2 and Joel was very kind and helpful but when the two came back from their lunch just before 3 and did that. Put a bad taste in our mouths and felt it was a racial incident. Would have rather paid. The restaurants were delightful. Italian was terrific and we had Susy as server who was very attentive. The Japanese was also excellent Movetto, Eolwardo and Sherman who was the cooks and waitress. Made our experience for all 16 of us wonderful. The Oceana with Ruby was also great. Madeline at the world cafe made our dining there perfect. This resort is on a beautiful part of island and the few negatives were overcome by all the nice persons. Norma at the main bar is also loads of fun. New Years Eve at Sunscape is the best place to be. The party they had there with all the entertainment and food was exceptional. It was a first class event and kudos to all the staff who did a great job to make everyone's New Years great. I would go back. We had ocean front room in Plover on first floor, 3106. It was nice and close to everything but a little loud at night which didn't bother us at all. My son's were in Pelican building which is quieter and is being redone. They were on 3rd floor, 8307 and had a great view. The 5100 rooms were also nice but close to workers and maintenance so it was a little loud but if you needed something it was easy to find someone. They also were on 1st floor and loved it 5110.

Room Tip: If you want quiet the Pelican wing but we were front and center in Plover and loved it.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ltmo297
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CurJB, General Manager at Sunscape Curacao Resort Spa & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2013

Dear guest,

First of all we thank you for choosing our resort for your vacation and we thank you also for taking the time to share your experience with us. Going thru your review we can share that indeed the resort was going thru a renovation program where 202 rooms and suites were received new furnitures while all the public areas also received new look and furniture. The new lobby bar is now open, the bar right in front of the new cafe - Coco Cafe.

I am happy to hear that you have enjoyed the stay and please be advised that all the staff members mentioned in the review will be highlighted and will participate in our star program. During these months we will continue upgrading the product with more services and trainings as the goal is to take the resort in the very near future to a 5 star product.

Dear guest, I trust we will have the pleasure to host you back in the near future and show you the final product and please feel free to contact u at any time if further information is needed of our product or Curacao.

Jeanette M. Hooi-Bonet
General Manager
info.sucur@sunscaperesorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

This resort is definitely the worst we have ever stayed in. Sadly, our Flight Centre travel agent was either untruthful, or unknowledgeable and sold us a bad bill of goods. Thanks to reading room tips and reviews before we left, I hit the registration desk first off the bus and requested a room in the Pelican building. Had we taken the room we were offered, we'd have ended up in the Royal Tower. All we heard all week from other guests were horror stories.The Pelican building is renovated, and quiet. Our room service was without incident. There are no reservations for dinner, and no knowing which restaurants are closed for the night. There are 2 sittings, and one night after standing in line for 45 minutes for the second sitting we were told there was no appetizer left. People coming out from the first sitting wished us luck and said they hoped we brought our pjs. The food at the World Cafe buffet is adequate at best. There is no consistency in training, no apparent leadership and no communication. The sun was wonderful.

Room Tip: If you MUST go to this resort be sure to request a room in the Pelican building. It IS renovated and quiet.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank TravellerK55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CurJB, General Manager at Sunscape Curacao Resort Spa & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2013

Dear guest,

We thank you also for taking the time to share your experience with us. Going thru your review, first of all please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you have experienced. The resort was indeed in the final stage of the 1st phase renovation plan and we had some delays due to the weather conditions we had in both November and October plus not all oversees containers arrived on time.

Regarding the restaurant dining system, we should operate the restaurants with a beeper system so that guests can be seated as soon as a table comes free. However these are still to arrive on island reason why we have implemented the two sitting system. We trust that any time soon we will receive these so that we can operate the restaurants with the beepers.

I can share that our training department will receive a copy of the review and they will take actions to ensure we have all personnel are trained up to the company standards, as our goal is that while the product is being upgraded and the investment made, that we take the staff to the service standard to meet a 4 star resort operations moving to a 5 in the near future. With all the new services and / facilities the resort has added we should be able to achieve this goal.

Dear guest, once more our sincere apologies and we trust you will not let this isolated experience mar your impression of the resort and in the event of any further information or assistance is needed please contact us at any time.

Sunsationally Yours,
Jeanette M. Hooi-Bonet
General Manager
info.sucur@sunscaperesorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

This resort was by far the biggest disappointment of all of our travels. We have traveled all over the world with our kids and this resort would not even get a referral or rating from us. The only thing that was positive was the weather and the ocean. The service, food and accommodations were poor. One of our party was very ill as many of the other guests were during our week. Food was the culprit and we are not surprised as pigeons fly in the buffet pavilion and land on the tables. Not one service request was met. The room was old, dirty, moldly and damp. The beach was un-kept and full of litter. Towels and snorkeling equipment were constantly not available. Preference was given to last to those who were not able to communicate effectively in either Dutch or Spanish. The bug bites from mosquitoes were the worst we have ever encountered.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Lychyfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CurJB, General Manager at Sunscape Curacao Resort Spa & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2013

Dear guest,

We thank you also for taking the time to share your experience with us. Going thru your review, first of all please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you have experienced. The resort was indeed in the final stage of the 1st phase renovation plan and we had some delays due to the weather conditions we had in both November and October plus not all oversees containers arrived on time.

Regarding the main restaurant, we did experince indeed the pigeons for a short period but we took immedaite action by contacting the governmental department who assisted us with a person to catch the pigeons and remove them from the resort. This is an execise that we will have to continue doing being an open air restaurant.

I can share that our quality and training department will receive a copy of the review and they will take actions to ensure we have all personnel are trained up to the company standards, as our goal is that while the product is being upgraded and the investment made, that we take the staff to the service standard to meet a 4 star resort operations moving to a 5 in the near future. With all the new services and / facilities the resort has added we should be able to achieve this goal.

Dear guest, once more our sincere apologies and we trust you will not let this isolated experience mar your impression of the resort and in the event of any further information or assistance is needed please contact us at any time.

Sunsationally Yours,
Jeanette M. Hooi-Bonet
General Manager
info.sucur@sunscaperesorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

This resort does not practice safe handling and storage of food.
Many of the guests leaving on Jan.13th while waiting at the Airport to return to Toronto were very ill. Upon discussion we had all eaten the fish at the buffet at lunch the day before. There were so many disappointing issues around the lack of customer service etc:
-took 3 days to get a blanket
-took my soap and never replaced it, another guest gave me some
-no lock on patio door upon arrival -we had to call maint. but we didn't have a phone
-safe in room wasn't working, again maint.
-no coffee pot, some guests got the pot but no coffee
-they indicated on website renovations complete but they aren't.
-we wrote to head office asking about internet and were told it was available in all the rooms but there was no internet for the guests at all!
-the buffet was limited and like I wrote many of the guests were sick.
-the kicker was that they were doing a photo shoot with models etc. at our pool and told us we couldn't use it-you can imagine the unrest with the paying guests!
Although the staff are the same from the former Princess they do not seem well trained. There lacks leadership in this facility.
Don't waste your hard earned money-this is the worst hotel I have ever stayed at.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CurJB, General Manager at Sunscape Curacao Resort Spa & Casino, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2013

Dear guest,

We thank you also for taking the time to share your experience with us. Going thru your review, first of all please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you have experienced. Even though the resort was going thru a renovation process it is not our standards for the follow up on corrective actions are not promptly. Our staff is receiving on-the-jobs training of the new services we now have for the rooms and we are confident that the room attendants will be able to comply with the standards our company has set for the Sunscape brand.

The resort has completed the first phase of the renovation program after a delay we had due to unexpected raining and late arrival of oversees containers. We have now 202 rooms & suites with new furniture while all fine-dining restaurants got also new furniture and a total facelift. The lobby is now fully in operation as we recently opened the lobby bar looked right in front of the new Café. As you may know we added a new a la carte seafood restaurant “Ocean” right on the beach plus the teens-club CoreZone / Sports-bar Desires. The buffet line at our restaurant World Café is completely new and we will for sure look into ensuring that meals served are up to the standard. It is not usual that our guests get sick but we understood from our Nurse is that with so many guests from so many different countries traveling to the tropics – the warm weather – that the guests can become less tolerate for some spices and that our staff needs to adapt the cooking to the type of guests we have.
We have asked our quality and standard department to intense the inspections and ensure everyone is complying with the proper food handling as our staff members are all certified in HACCP and as per our local laws do a test every 6 month.

Our apologies that the photo-shooting was disturbing, but we need to make new pictures of the resort to have these uploaded on the website and make a new brochure now that the resort has change brand.

Dear guest, once again our sincere apologies and we trust you will not let this isolated experience mar your impression of the resort. In the event of any further information or assistance is needed please contact us at any time.

Sunsationally Yours,
Jeanette M. Hooi-Bonet
General Manager
info.sucur@sunscaperesorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews