We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $123/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$280
$210
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilton Curacao(Willemstad)
$189
$163
Hilton.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$208
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$310
$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$144
$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Scuba Lodge & Suites(Willemstad)
$140
$119
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $132/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Avila Beach Hotel(Willemstad)
$223
$171
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$505
$486
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (5,563)
Filter reviews
5,563 results
Traveler rating
2,187
1,865
936
346
229
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,187
1,865
936
346
229
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssun clubbluewater grilljapanese restaurantentertainment teamworld cafeseafoodflamingo buildinga la carte restaurantsda mariofire showthe blue water grillcoco cafeoceana barjohnny rocketbaby lovecandy mankids club
Filter
Updating list...
3,961 - 3,966 of 5,563 reviews
Reviewed December 22, 2012

The resort has changed hands several times and is referred to interchangeably as Breezes Curacao Resort, Princess Curacao Resort or currently Sunscape Curacao Resort .

My wife and I stayed at the resort for the week of Oct 28, 2012. We , however, extended our stay for an additional week as the package we booked with Sunscapes represented excellent value.

The resort is all inclusive and has many amenities. The location, landscape and views alone are worth the stay. The staff (esp Jean Felix) were extrememely friendly and helpful.However, a word of caution to the demanding traveller. The resort is not a five star facility. We , for examples, had problems with the bathroom flooding, the airconditioner not working, the door locks refusing to open on several occasions, the phone not functioning,etc and switched rooms twice during our stay.

Nevertheless, the resort represents good value for money and I would recommend it to familes or couples seeking a sea-side vacation at an affordable price.

Room Tip: The sea facing rooms obviously have thge best views but costs more.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank SayedToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

This hotel is now called Sunscape Curacao, and nearing completion of a very extensive renovation program. We had chosen it on advice from our Scuba instructors when we asked advice on finding the most appealing snorkel/dive resort location. Perhaps it is, and the snorkeling is right on-property, but there's still not much coral about. The free daily Scuba dive is from shore. Those who have visited this resort under its past incarnations should be aware that the popular trapeze system has been removed.
We were surprised to discover that almost all of the 250 or so passengers on the flight from Toronto were going to the Sunscape, most of those quoting price as the motivating factor. As far as we could tell, everyone seemed to be pleased with their choice. We had a great time, but we usually do, wherever we choose.
We are in our 70's and love to dance in the evenings. The usual Caribbean-beat music suits us fine, but this resort on a Dutch island off the east coast ov Venezuala attracts a very substantial portion of Latinos which influences the music being played - not unlike the Caribbean tempo, but quite a different style.
A lot of criticism of resorts in the southern isles has to do with service. A year ago, we praised a Sandals resort as having extraordinarily excellent service, and we're amazed to find that Sunscape is also a standout in this regard. Sure, you get the odd slow waitress, but inevitably we find that she's a new trainee. We had a chat with a restaurant supervisor, who revealed to us that staff are particularly conscious of the opportunity of being mentioned by name in Trip Advisor reviews. Then there are the ones that go about their duties so efficiently that we can't get a clear look at their name tags.
Processing a couple of hundred new guests dressed in northern clothing in 100 degree heat index, and do it quickly and cheerfully, is clearly an art. The staff even cheerfully accommodated the wishes of those who were unhappy with their rooms by promptly relocating, and usually upgrading them.
Another complaint often made, is mal-functioning of room amenities. Sunscape, while going through major renovations, is not free of this, but the instant and satisfactory response to any issues we encountered was simply amazing. "Not my job", is never, ever heard here. A contractor painting a wall will immediately summon plumbing assistance on request.
As a Canadian, I enquired in advance if they had Canadian whiskey. The responder didn't know, but said she'd look into it. I don't believe I've been anywhere that offered as many Canadian brands - even Crown Royal which was a rare treat and much appreciated by me.
We had a complaint related to food, which we were told is being addressed. Aside from being somewhat bland in taste, the dishes on the buffet were usually unlabeled, and in such poor light that meals were sometimes a "lime-jello-marshmallow-cottage-cheese-surprise". Fortunately, I have no food allergies, but my wife does, and picking acceptable foods was difficult for her. But when you can't find what you want (ice cream, for a simple example), all you have to do is ask.
Here's another popular subject for griping - dinner reservations, or lack thereof. Sandals had them, Sunscape doesn't. On the former, we find that by the time we get around to reserving, the good times are gone, and there's no allowance for grabbing a table from someone who eats in an hour and a half and leaves the table empty for the last half of reserved time.
We adjusted quickly to no-reservation. If the restaurant opens at seven, go soon after, or be prepared for a late dinner. If you get caught late by surprise, say at the Japanese restaurant, with it's preparation showmanship, then a wait is no problem; just get drinks from the bar and soak them up with starters and buns from the buffet. And have fun sharing with others in line.
It's always a thrill to discover that the beach hut where you had a burger in a bathing suit at lunch, turns into a gourmet dispensary of beef tenderloin and other delicacies to those choosing a candle-lit table at seaside under the moon and stars at night. And for some reason, the service there beats out that of both the Italian and Seafood restaurants.
We are not the type to stay within property bounds day after day. We took a Jeep Safari which involved some cliff scaling and bone jarring, but was a lot of fun - mostly for June who was at the wheel on the rough parts. $50 got us a car for a day, to explore the whole island and some of its spectacular beaches, not that the hotel didn't have one. We took a couple of their free bikes to ride into Willemstad, a few minutes away, and to the Seaquarium to observe dolphins interacting with autistic children who come there for treatment.
Finally, we should note that Elena, the Guest relations Manager or equivalent, was everywhere at once, and always anxious to see to our every need and wish. I suspect she has a lot to do with the great staff morale. She also got me into the Latin rhythm on the dance floor.

Room Tip: If not happy, just ask for a change
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank punch80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2018, traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Quartos da ala Royal ou bloco 2
  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews