We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice ambient”

Ginger - Carib Asian Cuisine-
Ranked #27 of 277 Restaurants in Willemstad
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Caribbean, Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Hidden in one of the oldest neighborhoods of Curacao, Pietermaai Smal, one of the new hot spots on the island just opened in 2011 featuring Carib Asian cuisine.In a combination of colonial hip and loungy style, Ginger mingles exotic spices and ingredients from Asia and the Caribbean. The chef is offering you an exciting journey into the typical common flavors of the Carib and Asian cuisines by serving a wide variety of Carib and Asian style tapas. Hidden, but not to be missed!Daily happy Hour from 5.30 -6.30 (most drinks half price!)
Lima
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice ambient”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Nice ambient, it's a fresh and confortable terrace.
Short menu but delicious mix of flavors. Nice wines! Good service.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karimsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilfred H, Manager at Ginger - Carib Asian Cuisine-, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Karimsg,

Thank you for you nice review. What you wrote is exactly what we want to offer our guests.

Regards,

Paul
Manager of Ginger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    294
    245
    98
    42
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Willemstad, Curacao
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“ok, but not great”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

we had the 3 course menu at ginger which was for 50 ANG. the soup was nice, the maIn course of salad could have been bigger, and the dessert was very nice. The atmosphere in Ginger is nice and the food is OK, however compared to other curacaon restaurants it is rather expensive and one would expect bigger portion sizes.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Servaas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilfred H, Manager at Ginger - Carib Asian Cuisine-, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Servaas H,

Thank you for writing a review. Nice to hear that you liked it. Portion sizes are depending on the prize, a 3 course menu for Nafl. 50,- including 9 % tax, is a very good price to introduce our kitchen to our new guests. Bigger portions are available on our 'a la carte' menu.
Hope to see you again next time on Curacao.

Regards,


Paul
Manager of Ginger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Too much convinced of their own quality, which fall short of acceptable”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Great ambiance, good menu, acceptable price-quality relationship. However, the food is extremely salty and therefore of poor and unacceptable quality. When you comment on this in positive terms, the waiter says "I will see what I can do about it", and never gets back to you on the subject. When enjoying dessert, the same waiter came around and tried to pull the plate from under us, saying "I think you are finished", to continue with "Just a joke". No, this is not a joking matter, just poor quality of service and food. Not a place to have dinner again, and not a place to advise others to go to. Having said this, the location and design of Ginger is beautiful and deserves a much better cook, waiter, and management!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MichelDoortmont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilfred H, Manager at Ginger - Carib Asian Cuisine-, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear Mr. Doortmont,

Thank you for your review. Unless you won't recommend our restaurant to others, due to an unpleasant treatment by one of our waiters (he should have solved your , in a positive way meant comment, in a more professional way. We will discuss this feed back intern and will improve ourselves concerning these irregularities.

Thanks again, and when you will be in the neighborhood again, please give us another try.

Paul
Manager of Ginger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“And again good food”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

This is about the 4th time i have been here. And again great food. Just one small thing I would like to see some different dishes on the menu . It has been the same from the beginning. Nothing wrong with it, it is great, but...............would be nice if they do change is now and then.
Service was great that evening!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrea K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilfred H, Manager at Ginger - Carib Asian Cuisine-, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear Andrea,

Thanks again for your visit and review. Nice to hear from a regular guest that the consistency of our restaurant is good. As you mentioned, we will change our menu soon. So next time you visit us, we will surprise you.

Thank you again.

Paul
Manager of Ginger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Late dining at Ginger”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

No waiting - seated us immediately. Busy yet staff remained very professional and thorough. Very nice environment. Good food.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia-and-Jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilfred H, Manager at Ginger - Carib Asian Cuisine-, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear "CBC-Data Diva",

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your comments and are happy to hear that you had a good experience in our restaurant.

Paul
Manager of Gnger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ginger - Carib Asian Cuisine- also viewed

Willemstad, Curacao
Willemstad, Curacao
 
Willemstad, Curacao
Willemstad, Curacao
 

Been to Ginger - Carib Asian Cuisine-? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing