We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food was good, service less so”

Ginger - Carib Asian Cuisine-
Ranked #25 of 275 Restaurants in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Indian, Caribbean, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Hidden in one of the oldest neighborhoods of Curacao, Pietermaai Smal, one of the new hot spots on the island just opened in 2011 featuring Carib Asian cuisine.In a combination of colonial hip and loungy style, Ginger mingles exotic spices and ingredients from Asia and the Caribbean. The chef is offering you an exciting journey into the typical common flavors of the Carib and Asian cuisines by serving a wide variety of Carib and Asian style tapas. Hidden, but not to be missed!Daily happy Hour from 5.30 -6.30 (most drinks half price!)
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food was good, service less so”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The restaurant setting is interesting, open air between buildings in town. Interesting and enjoyable decoration and it lends a good atmosphere. The restaurant advertises on the wall and on signs that they have a 50 guilder three course menu, but when we asked what was included they said they had no more....strange as we were one of the first arrivals for dinner. When we ordered the fish soup from the menu, the waitress returned to say they had no more...When the starters arrived they were great, tasty, hot and very enjoyable. We had to wait a really long time for the second course, which was equally good. In short, setting and atmosphere were great, food was good, service a little inconsistent.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Russ G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilfred H, Manager at Ginger - Carib Asian Cuisine-, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear Russ,

Thank you for your review. I apologize for the fact that the 3 course menu and the fish soup were not available at that time. The 3 course menu was including fresh local fish, which did not come in yet. But of course we should have offered you an alternative instead. We will discuss this intern.
Thank you for mentioning this point of improvement, it will help us to improve the overall guest experience.

Paul
Manager of Ginger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    290
    243
    91
    41
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A great restaurant with a twist”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

we had dinner here on our short trip to Curacao. it was a Friday and busy so we needed to book.
outside tables but covered by a "sail" to protect from any showers. Our starters arrived quite fast as did water and the wine. These were very nice, some tempura fish and a delicious asian soup with chargrilled chicken. Waiters were attentive but fairly busy. our main courses took a while to arrive and my guess is they lost the order somewhere. seemed like the boss who was also serving, came over and appologised and said he would make it up to us. When it did arrive it was very good indeed, my wife had a tandoori chicken dish which she thought was one of the best she had ever had anywhere. I had a jerk combo dish which was also very good. The free dessert (to make up for the delay) was some some sweet syrupy dumpling balls with excellent vanilla ice cream. All round a great meal apart from the main course delay. Also prices were fine.
We recommend it and would have gone back if we had been on the island for more time.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Philip I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilfred H, Manager at Ginger - Carib Asian Cuisine-, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Dear Philip,

Thank you for your review. We appreciate it. Hope we may welcome you again next time.

Paul
Manager Ginger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algonquin Highlands, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Worth the walk”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Although slightly off the beaten path, Gingers was a good experience. We only had drinks and appetizers but it was thoroughly enjoyable. Atmosphere was great and we were served quickly. Food was good. Would return if in Curacao again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pemmink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilfred H, Manager at Ginger - Carib Asian Cuisine-, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear Mr. Pemmink,

Thank you very much for your nice review concerning the food, service and atmosphere. We could use that after the one of yesterday.
Hope too see you again next time.

Paul
Manager of Ginger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsingborg, Sweden
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Ruined Saturday Night”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We were at this restaurant the 28 of December. It was an catastrophic experiance. The restaurant itself looks charming and is really coozy, like it alot. The service were out of control. It took us about 10-15 minutes to get an waiter to our table. The apetizers came in and tasted extremley good and were really tasty. It seemed like it was all under control.

Then we waited for 50-55 minutes for our main dish, still nothing. They took in so many guests while only beeing 2-3 waiters, it was all out of control. We asked what was going on they told us the kitchen were blocked, NOTHING was coming out from there. After finally getting our main dish (60 minutes after starters) it came out cold, but only 3 dishes, still missing the fourth.

We told them to bring us the check cause we couldn't stand another waiting time. They told us we had to pay nothing they took the whole check, nice gesture but too late.

Sad thing cause the starters were amazing and the restaurant itself is a lovely place.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheOneSwede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilfred H, Manager at Ginger - Carib Asian Cuisine-, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Hello The One Swede,

Thank you for your response. This Saturday evening was a catastrophic one, as well for us. The kitchen was one person short (sick) and at a certain moment they got into stress, panic. Unfortunately you were victim of this situation. The only thing we could do at that moment was offering you the drinks and appetizers you did receive for free and make our well meant apologies. Maybe you will be back next time and continue enjoying the normal good service, food and ambiance.

Paul
Manager of Ginger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
“Excellent Food & Service - Would Definitely Go Back!”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Excellent food, exceptional service and very nice ambiance; this is a restaurant that we would definitely return to.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilfred99, Manager at Ginger - Carib Asian Cuisine-, responded to this review, December 29, 2013
Dear Andrea,

Thank you for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed Ginger. Hope to see you again !

Paul
Manager of Ginger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ginger - Carib Asian Cuisine- also viewed

Willemstad, Curacao
Willemstad, Curacao
 
Willemstad, Curacao
Willemstad, Curacao
 
Willemstad, Curacao
 

Been to Ginger - Carib Asian Cuisine-? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing