We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
B&B Sombre di Kabana
Ranked #2 of 46 Willemstad B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful B&B”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

What a treat it was to stay here in February. Albert & Jack have thought about everything in this B&B. The rooms are clean, spacious and well equipped. The breakfast does not come any better than at Sombré di Kabana. The pick-up from the airport makes you feel very welcome. Because of the location, you do need a rental car, but the guys can help you with that too and drop you off at the car rental.
We had a great time!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patrickvh1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
95
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

If you are looking for a relaxing, spa-like place to stay, then you have found it. The rustle of the palms and bamboos, the smell of the flowers, the quiet neighborhood, humming birds flying around, a hammock strung between two palms, and a pool that is the perfect in temperature. The rooms are huge and spotless. They also include a mini fridge which is really handy for snacks etc. And the location is handy to several quality restaurants and mini markets and a grocery store. We even rented a sailboat nearby for a run around Spanish Water bays.

We were met at the airport and even though we had a car rental car, we followed Albert back to his house. We were then welcomed with a glass of wine out on the back terrace. When we went out to pick up some "take out" food, we returned to table set up pool side, with a white linen table cloth, wine glasses and little lights lit up all around the pool. All of this, plus the full moon made this a perfect evening.

Albert and Jack complete the experience of staying there. They are wonderful hosts. The breakfast is delicious with plenty of selections. They make you feel that their home is yours and when asked they recommended some great places to go and see on the island.

Do not hesitate to book your room here. You will not want to leave.

Thank you Albert and Jack for making our stay with you a memorable one.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank grammyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We stayed 7 nights in this B & B in November and everything was perfect. We arrived in the evening after being picked up from the airport (for free) and had a welcome drink waiting for us on the terrace.

Our bedroom (one of the small ones in the annex) was huge, as big as in any 5 * hotel I have been to, with a great bathroom with a separate shower. All amenities are included. There is a coffee maker in the room, kettle, a medium-sized refrigerator with a freezer, air conditioning and mosquito screens on the windows - great if you want to keep it open at night.

The whole place was immaculate - not only our room which was cleaned daily but the pool area, terrace etc.. There was a storm one night while we were there and within a few hours all the leaves and debris had been cleared away.

The breakfast was wonderful. A selection of fresh bread, freshly squeezed orange juice, fresh fruit salad (made the same morning by Albert himself), a selection of hams, cheeses, yogurt, cereals, eggs cooked to order and so on. Everything you could want and if not, just ask. Every morning there is also the "surprise" pastry - a doughnut, muffin or ham / cheese croissant.

What really impressed us about this place was the quality of EVERYTHING! The bedspread, furniture, bathroom accessories, cutlery, glasses - all top.

The B & B on its own was great (and a very good quality / price ratio), but what made the stay were the owners - Jack and Albert. They gave us tips on where to go (much better than our guide book) took us to the rental car place, gave us a pay-as-you-go cell phone, so that we could make local phone calls and were wonderful hosts. They were there to help us with anything we needed.

To sum up, this will always remain one of our favorites. The B & B is 5 * and the owners are what makes it so memorable. We will definitely recommend this hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cayenne
Level Contributor
128 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

This is the best place I've ever been to. Jack & Albert are lovely hosts. They helped us with the car rental and Albert collected us from the airport. The room was clean and comfy, the breakfast was amazing and good (fresh fruit, fresh orange juice, eggs, ...), the place was ideal (calm; beautiful trees and flowers, swimming pool, ...), ...Everything was perfect.
It felt like home and this really made our holidays unique. Thank you again Jack & Albert for making our time so special.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jesscayenne973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed 2 weeks at the Sombre di Kabana B&B of Albert and Jack. We had the best time ever with the most amazing service and a beautiful environment.
Albert and Jack were such great hosts, really helpful and endeavoured. We got picked up and dropped off at the airport, Albert also organized a rental car for us and a map, which is really needed in Curacao.
Breakfast was amazing, better than in any other hotel, fresh fruit salad and orange juice every morning, varieties of bread, eggs, coffee, cereals... and whatever you asked for Albert made it possible.
Rooms have been cleaned to standart each morning, they were really nice and clean like everything at Sombre di Kabana.
The pool, breakfast area and garden are so looked after and we enjoyed it so much.
We would recommend this B&B to everyone, its just perfect and we loved everything about it.

Thank you Albert&Jack for the perfect holiday. We couldnt ask for more and hope to be your guests again.

Take care,

M&L

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lilli S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Willemstad
4.7 mi away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#2 of 32 in Willemstad
622 reviews
4.7 mi away
BijBlauw
BijBlauw
#3 of 32 in Willemstad
339 reviews
7.5 mi away
Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort
1.9 mi away
Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao
1.7 mi away
Hibiscus Beach House
Hibiscus Beach House
#1 of 46 in Willemstad
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Sombre di Kabana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Sombre di Kabana

Property: B&B Sombre di Kabana
Address: Kaya Beethoven 62, Willemstad, Curacao
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The comfort of a hotel combined with a warm atmosphere and personal attention. If this appeals to you then you’ll be at the right place in our small Bed and Breakfast. We, Albert and Jack, will be glad to do our best to let you enjoy your holiday or business stay in our B&B on Curaçao. The small scale of our bed and breakfast and the fact that you can use the living room, the reading room, the porches, the beautiful garden, the pool and the jacuzzi, will soon make you feel at home with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your B&B Sombre di Kabana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B&B Sombre Di Kabana Curacao/Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing