We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, Clean and perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
PM78 Urban Oasis Curacao
Certificate of Excellence
Nijmegen, Gelderland, Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Modern, Clean and perfect location”
Reviewed November 20, 2012

One of the fewer apartments in the middle of Punda. The interior is very modern and clean. The staff is very helpful and polite. The young family gives good advice about all possibilities Curacao gives. The location is perfect to start you trip from. With your rental car or taxi you can visit the beaches or go to more quiet places in the west. You can walk to one of many restaurants in Punda.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronald G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    7
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
27
107
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

When we were looking for a honeymoon destination, we wanted to stay somewhere where we would not have to walk through miles of air conditioned corridors to get to our room or have to share a pool area with a bunch of screaming children. We were looking for luxury and privacy, and that is exactly what we got at PM78!

We were just blown away upon our arrival to PM78, as the 5* Apartment was even more beautiful than we had expected from the pictures we had seen online. We had a welcome bottle of Prosecco and some cut up fruit in the fridge for us, which we enjoyed sitting out by the pool. The pool area is definitely the highlight of the unit. We loved that they had sliding doors that opened up from the kitchen and living room area so that you had a really indoor/ outdoor living experience. The pool is a great size and the views are spectacular. And not having to share that area with anyone was even more amazing as we could really relax and enjoy our honeymoon.

The rest of the unit is also very comfortable, spacious and well designed. Although we stayed there by ourselves, there is a second bedroom and full bath in the unit. We loved the bedroom with the four poster bed, the large walk in closet area, and the en-suite bathroom. The kitchen was beautifully designed and stocked with everything you could need, which doesn't always happen with rental apartments. They also have a Nespresso coffee maker, which was great for making lattes and cappuccinos right in our unit. The living area was spacious and had a great sound system that would play music throughout the living area and so you could also hear it by the pool area when you had the doors open- we hooked up our Ipad so we could listen to the radio. There was also a flat screen tv in the living room and a free wifi connection throughout the house. The way the house is designed you really don't need to use the air conditioning anywhere except in the bedroom at night, so you can really enjoy the views and the weather. The entire unit was extremely clean and well-maintained.

The owners, David and Cindy live upstairs, which is nice as we knew that they would be available if we needed them. They were very helpful with all of our needs and always quick to respond to our emails. This was our first time on Curacao, and they advised us on what boat trip was the best to take to Klein Curacao and where we should rent a car from. Upon our arrival, David met us and showed us around the unit to explain everything to us. It's also nice because the owners have prepared a binder detailing anything you might need to know about the house and also a listing of restaurants and supermarkets in the area, which we used to find some great places to eat! We highly recommend Fishalicious, Pane e Vino, two amazing restaurants which were within a short walking distance from PM78. We also loved the food at Saint Tropez Ocean Club, which was a great outdoor pool/restaurant/ bar/ lounge that was located just down the street from PM78. The owners also gave us passes for the pool at Saint Tropez, but since we were staying in the unit with the private pool, we didn't really go there during the day. Also, although we stayed at the house most of the time and restaurants and downtown Willemstad were within walking distance, we did rent a car for 2 days so we could explore the island and the beaches. We highly recommend you do this also!

All in all, we were thrilled with our experience at PM78 and would highly recommend the 5* Apartment, especially to people coming to Curacao for a romantic vacation such as a honeymoon. Really amazing place and a great value for what you get! We hope to come back in the future, either alone, or with family and friends.

Room Tip: We stayed in the 5* Apartment with the private pool - AMAZING for honeymoon!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LucasandLuiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Absolutely perfect stay. First the location: the apartment is in the upcoming trendy neighbourhood of Pietermaai. I cannot imagine why anyone would want to be locked up in a giant beach resort when you can stay in this funky little neighbourhood and get a feel for Curacao. True that some of the neighbouring buildings could use some TLC, but that mix of old and new makes this a great location. There are a number of cool little bars and resto's in the neighbourhood as well. And you are very close to the old historical center, the bridge that divides Punda and Otrobanda etc. The room: We stayed in the Junior Suite. The rooms are quite different to each other - so make sure you know which one you are reserving. The house has been recently built, and its not your typical cheesy hotel decor. I would say urban chic, edgy, but with all the modern comfort. The Junior suite did not have a kitchennete, but there is a fridge and plates and cutlery. So you can enjoy breakfast and such on your balcony/terrace. Its not a big room, but perfectly fine for two. And finally what makes this place really special: the hotel is a project of Cindy and David. They were great. They live in the house themselves, and from day 1 they made it clear that you could "pop in" in case of any questions. They have lived on the island for a couple of years now and they are great to give advise etc. But as the house is quite big and quite, you can easily forget that there are other apartments and other guests. All in all, the overall vibe of the place was like living in a house, with some nice neighbourhoods that you don't see much, but generally like...Strongly recommend!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fariza11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

The view is superb, the apartment is really comfortable, and the owners live in the building and are really helpful.
The neighborhood is urban, gritty, and coming up. Mixed between tough street types and gated resorts. Great fun.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

I'm a little hesitant on sharing this Caribbean gem with the world, as I'm afraid it will be fully booked next time I want to stay there :)
I go to Curacao every year and have stayed in all sorts of set-ups ranging from apartments (through friends) to 5 star hotels (marriot) or holiday parks (Papagayo). My absolute favorite stay was here, at PM78. The owners - Cindy and David - have wonderful taste. They built the blue-house themselves. They understand the desires and needs of someone like me, and when I say someone like me I mean: hard working, writer, woman, interested in culture, in need of some rest from work, not interested in mass tourism... I was afraid that Curacao was becoming the kind of place that only catered to people who prefer to study their tan all day. So thank god for PM78.
PM78 is intimate. It's in the city (near the old city center of Punda) and so you're surrounded by old colonial style homes. True, there's a lot of city-noise and activity but somehow it doesn't matter, it's nice to sit out on your balcony and watch what's going on. These days, quite a few people walk the streets in that area and there are lovely restaurants to go to. This used to be different.
Do note that even though PM 78 is situated by the sea, both the studio and city apartment are on the street side. It's perfect if you like to do things your way, and on your own (with or without a partner). Rent a car, drive around, visit beaches or read a book under the fan.
If you're with kids or more friends, I recommend the 5-star apartment which has its own pool and is on the sea-side. I peeked in and it's totally amazing. Best of all worlds. Privacy + a good way of deepening that tan :)
The owners David and Cindy are lovely. The door is always open (unless they're out) and you can ask them anything, anytime. They respect your privacy, yet are also open for a friendly chat if that's what you want!
The aircon is perfect, the other facilities are too (such as wifi, toaster, fridge, beach bag, towels, safe). If you don't feel like driving for a swim, you can make use of the Saint Tropez Ocean Club pool which is a stone's throw away without having to pay entrance fee.
If you're coming from Europe, and you find yourself waking up too early and hungry, you can walk over to the Scuba Lodge hotel for a full breakfast. You'll be having your eggs with your feet in the sand and staring at that wonderful sea.
Enjoy!
(ps - keep it a secret!)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank aliefka b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Willemstad hotels
0.1 mi away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#2 of 32 in Willemstad
622 reviews
0.0 mi away
BijBlauw
BijBlauw
#3 of 32 in Willemstad
339 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pietermaai Boutique Hotel
Pietermaai Boutique Hotel
#13 of 32 in Willemstad
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort
2.3 mi away
Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao
0.8 mi away
Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to PM78 Urban Oasis Curacao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about PM78 Urban Oasis Curacao

Property: PM78 Urban Oasis Curacao
Address: Pietermaai 78 | Curacao, Willemstad, Curacao
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 91 Specialty Lodging in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exclusive $ Personal + Boutique style & luxury PM78 Curacao is located in a new townhouse with a monumental look and feel. The seaside of the building has a luxurious and quiet 5* apartment with a private pool (only to use by guests of the 5* Apartment). Via the private beach area you can reach the sea via stairs. On the third floor you find the beautiful Ocean View Loft Apartment with 100% privacy. On the first floor street side you will find the City Apartment and the Junior Suite, which both have a view of the inland water 'Het Waaigat'. These last 3 apartments uses the luxury pool area of the neighboring ocean club. You could combine these apartments to extend the sleeps till 10. (More information about these apartments you will find on our website). PM78 Urban Oasis Curacao is a romantic, relaxing and comfortable holiday accommodation that will not be easily forgotten. This charming city villa is in the historic city centre of Willemstad in the district Pietermaai, which is on the Unesco World Heritage list. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your PM78 Urban Oasis Curacao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
PM78 Urban Oasis Curacao Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing