We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Curacao(Willemstad)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (904)
Filter reviews
904 results
Traveler rating
345
336
136
54
33
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
345
336
136
54
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstraight couplesgay friendly hotelpool viewpool barsteam roomcentrum supermarketpiscadera bayhotel restaurantrented a carfull kitchensmall kitchenettesitting areathe hotel offersbug sprayhotel guestsbeautiful islandpalm trees
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
424 - 429 of 904 reviews
Reviewed March 31, 2013

I came across the Floris through one of the Curacao tourism sites and was attracted to its modern and simple aesthetic. The negative reviews on Trip Advisor did give me some pause and I would've considered other hotels had the travel booking site not charged upfront for the stay. This is not a luxury hotel as it is advertised (and I have stayed at a Ritz Carlton and Kempinski Hotels in other countries so I can tell the difference.)

It depends what you are looking for in a hotel. My husband and I basically spent most of our time outdoors on the beach and other island excursions so we only spent time at the hotel to sleep, shower, change and have breakfast. However, if you plan to stay more than half the time at the hotel and expect more from your stay, here are a few observations to consider:

Pluses:

The location (15-20 minutes away from Hato Airport; 10-15 mins. drive to Otrabanda and Punda, where the shopping district, restaurants, art galleries and museums are located; 30-45 mins. drive to the nicer beaches like Playas Cas Abao, Kenepa, Porto Marie and others). The hotel is located in Piscadera Bay where some of the resort hotels such as the Hilton and Marriott are located as well. A car (and a good map or GPS!) is necessary to get around the island as public transportation is not very reliable and the nicer beaches are much further out (although there is a small beach called Pirate's Bay within short walking distance from the hotel).

The hotel is located in a relatively quiet area in the island and we did not have any safety concerns while staying there.

Spacious rooms. The junior suites either have a garden view or pool view. Ample closet space. A mini-kitchen with a fridge, microwave and a stovetop. The bathroom is spacious as well - no bathtub just a shower.

Free and reliable wi-fi access. Free parking.

Nicely designed property with a lush tropical garden and lovely pool. You can hear the birds chirping in the morning.

Check in and check out were efficient. In general, the staff was friendly and we did not encounter any issues.

It doesn't have a casino.

Minuses:

Cleanliness/maintenance (or lack thereof): There was a layer of dust in the room (e.g. in the night tables, coffee table, lamp shade), and stains in the sofa and the curtains (considering this was a non-smoking room). The dustiness and stains showed even more because the room is designed in white. There was mildew in the tiles in the bathroom and they needed a good brushing. Some of the fixtures in the bathroom seemed to be falling apart like the hook that was used to hang the hair dryer, and the bathroom sink had some trouble draining. Housekeeping did come in daily to change the towels, make the beds, etc. but I do think there were some shortcuts to the process. There were a few instances were we had left a few used coffee cups and glasses in the sink and they weren't cleaned when we returned. A "luxury" hotel like this shouldn't expect its guest to do the dishes while on vacation or even have to ask for something so basic to get done!

Restaurant/Bar:

We only ate at the restaurant for breakfast. I would also agree with a previous reviewer here about the lack of quality and variety in the breakfast, as well as the slow service. A continental breakfast consisted of a sorry-looking croissant, danish and a few slices of white bread with no eggs or anything else included. The other items on the menu were also on the pricey side but mediocre. It also took a while for the staff to clear the tables so if you were coming in at a later time for breakfast it would be hard to find an available clean table.

The Floris has a lot of potential but the lack of attention to detail can be a turn off. There have been some negative reviews about this place before. My overall impression based on my experience is that it is not as bad as others have described it but it is not awesome and does not receive high marks either. Hotel management needs to learn from these reviews and take them to heart because the Floris can easily become one of those hotels that continue to decline in quality as years pass.

Room Tip: The quieter rooms are those that are tucked and further away from the shared spaces such as the pool, lobby and restaurant area.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Karslima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank H, General Manager at Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Dear Karslima,

Thank you so much for your detailed review. We are glad you liked so many things such as our free, fast and reliable internet. Eventhough we do not have a Casino inside our hotel there is one of the best casino's just across the street. The Curacao Casino. We took note of your other observations and we will work hard everyday to improve our product and services. We thank you for staying and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

The staff at Floris Suite Hotel are unsurpassed in their professionalism and attentiveness while the facilities and amenities are substantial and well maintained. The location is perfect and the private Pirate Bay Beach Club access rounds out the full Caribbean experience.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Joseph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank H, General Manager at Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear JosephB,

Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback. Every day our staff makes a new beginning with making sure all our guests needs are well taken care of. We are glad you were our guest. We hope to see you back some time in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

I expected better service. The front desk people were awesome, but all the wait staff seemed disorganized and disinterested. It often took 10-15 minutes just to be recognized by someone at the restaurant for breakfast (and it was not that busy). The pool bar was often left vacant for 30 minutes or more so BYOB if you go.

The pool was very nice, but mosquitoes are likely to be a problem near the edges if the wind dies down and the clouds come out.

The "private beach" at Pirate Bay was not impressive, but he other small beach was quite nice.

The worst thing for me was the smell of oil. Curacao has oil refineries and the smell from them is often in the air even at the hotel bar and pool..

Willemsted is worth visiting and the weather was quite nice for most of the trip. However, for the money I would definitely not visit Curacao again.

Room Tip: Interior rooms by the pool are best. One side of the hotel face a road that can be noisy at times if you are out on your porch/ balcony.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alex E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank H, General Manager at Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear AlexE,

Thank you so much for your feedback. We do appreciate the items mentioned and will focus on them. We have two private beaches at this time and we hope you will return one day the new and improved services and amenities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

My girlfriend and I recently spent 5 nights at the Floris Suite Hotel and overall I have mixed reviews. We were supposed to be in a Pool View room but upon arrival they said they didn't have any available so the first night we were put up in a garden view room. It wasn't really that big of a deal b/c the garden view room was nice but it was a little bit of a hassle having to change rooms the next day, especially when our room keys stopped working. But the housekeeping staff was able to help us and get everything straightened out. Again, not a huge hassle but when you're on vacation you don't want to be bothered with changing rooms. They did give us a free breakfast the first morning as compensation but we were later billed for it (keep reading). Once we were in the pool room, we were very happy with it. Very nice king bed, cool sitting area, big flat screen TV, nice kitchenette and refrigerator, and the bathroom was also nice. There was also a huge covered pation with tables & chairs. The first night we were there was Valentines so I emailed ahead and had them create a flower bouquet for my GF. It was supposed to be in our room but since we had to change room they gave it to us when we checked in. Of course there was a charge but it was very reasonable. Also, for Valentines Day, they had candlelight dining and a great buffet out by the pool and it was free for all guests. The food was very good and diverse and the candlelight tables around the pool were amazing. I just wish they had told us something about it beforehand b/c we were planning to eat in there on-site restaurant but found out it was closed b/c of the buffet. It ended up working out so no worries. The location of this hotel is good if you don't want to be close to Willemstad which is about 3-4 miles away. You could walk but it would take about 30-45 minutes. There isn't a whole lot of places to eat around the area but there is enough. They also have a shuttle to and from Willemstad. Contrary to what other reviewers said, you can take the shuttle back, you just have to be there in the afternoon at 430 when they make there 2nd trip. The 2 beaches are close enough to walk (5-10 minutes) or you can take their golf cart shuttle. I personally preferred the Marriott beach over Pirate's Bay b/c it was much bigger. Bring water shoes as the beaches are rocky which makes for great snorkeling. The pool at the Floris Suite is beautiful and quite large. I considered it to be very clean but there was some debris floating on top which is IMPOSSIBLE to avoid as the tradewinds on Curacao blow constantly and there is tons of landscaping around the pool. The landscaping around the property was also amazing and very well kept. The service was overall pretty good expect for the pool bar where there was rarely anyone to provide service. The restaurant onsite is very good but expensive. Free wireless internet is also a BIG plus. This place has a lot of goods things going for it but I had to give it a 3 star review b/c when we went to check out I noticed that they had charged us for breakfast every single day even tho we only ate breakfast once and that was supposed to be free. I noticed b/c the breakfast was really pricey ($35 US for 2 people) and times that by 5 and it's a good bit of money. So I told the person at the front desk and they took it off straight away but it was still a little concerning. What if I hadn't checked the bill ya know? But for the most part, this hotel is a very good option if you don't mind not being right on the beach or close to the Willemstad. Very quite, large rooms, good service, and a great pool.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms if you want to be close to that or garden view rooms if you want more privacy.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wojo15jg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank H, General Manager at Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Dear Wojo15jg,

Thank you so much for writing your detailed review. We are happy with the feed back. Floris Suite Hotel, Curacao offers free wireless internet access to all our guests and we are glad you liked it so much. It is secure, reliable, fast, and free. We now feature two private beaches very near to our hotel for our guests to enjoy. We hope to see you back sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Once it must have been a nice, modern and beautiful resort. Now the rooms are dirty and it needs a real update. The Royal Suite was dirty and although we requested to clean it at two different times to two different people at reception: it wasn't cleaned. The staff was correct, but lacked any interest in cleaning the room. They offered to change rooms, but didn't want to clean the room where we were in. The furniture is old and damaged. It needs an update. The kitchen is badly equipped. Almost no pans, just two glasses, two cups etc. The restaurant is terribly expensive, and has a bad service. We left after two nights instead of staying the nights we reserved. You pay the highest price, but it's a scam.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Okkienl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews