We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice shared spaces - room need to be improved”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club
Ranked #10 of 32 Hotels in Willemstad
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very nice shared spaces - room need to be improved”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

The shared spaces of this hotel are beautiful. The reception room, restaurant and pool areas are all well designed and appealing. I especially like the set-up for the restaurant when people come in from the street. They have a pathway lined with tiki torches which was beautiful.

I was underwhelmed by the actual rooms. Our room was not very clean, the linens did not feel very nice, and the shower was leaking (see attached picture). When we mentioned to the front desk that the ceiling in the shower was coming down, their solution was to put a towel under the leak and leave it at that. We were told that the hotel was only 1/2 full, so it was not clear to me why we were not moved to another room.

Unless this hotel does some renovations on their rooms, I am not sure I would stay here again. In Curacao, you do not spend a lot of time in your room anyways, but it would have been nice to have a room that we wanted to spend more time in and relax.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of the pool on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frank H, General Manager at Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear Leah T,

Thank you so much for your feedback.
We are glad you liked the hotel overall and are very sorry you had to experience the situation with the leak in the bathroom. We recently updated all of our rooms and we certainly regret the fact that your room was not up to our standards at the time you were staying with us. We certainy should have offered you a different room once you reported the issue at the front desk. We hope you return to us in the future and I will make personally sure you will recieve the best room in the house.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

823 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    307
    128
    46
    27
See reviews for
67
485
74
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed for one week at the Floris Suite hotel and booked a Royal Suite. Room was huge with a large fully equipped kitchen and separate bedroom with a large bed and flat TV. The atmosphere was very relaxing and quiet and their tropical garden was beautiful. We loved the iguanas near the pool, which gave the hotel an extra Caribbean feeling. Their Friday happy hour was very hip and happening and the staff was very engaged.
We can’t think of anything negative, only the location is a little far from the touristic areas like Willemstad, so you definitely need a car unless you want to stay near their large pool. The Pirate Bay beach club was OK but with a car you can visit more interesting beaches and bays.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johanna62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We spent 6 nights at the Floris. Staff were very helpful and accomodating - loved the hotel ambiance (very contemporary, clean, well kept). The rooms were very large (2tvs, large bathroom, king bed) along with a small kitchen, which was very convenient. Our room also had a balcony but it faced the street, so not so useful. The hotel is close to the city (about 10 min drive) and the beaches - there is the Pirate Bay across the street, but it is not the nicest beach on the island. Would recommend renting a car so you can travel to other beaches (Porto Mari, Cas Abou). The hotel restaurant is great - the best meal we had on the island. Try the snapper - delicious!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissMollyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

Spent over a week at this hotel. Front desk staff were friendly and helpful. The bowl of apples always available at the front desk is a really nice touch. We arrived well into the evening and jet-lagged, unaware as we went to the on-site restaurant that it was closing time. However, we were accommodated in a friendly manner and enjoyed a good meal.
The room itself was spacious and clean. There were two televisions and a balcony with a view of the lush gardens.The "fully equipped" kitchen was without a kettle, toaster or a full-sized oven. There was no dishwashing liquid or dishwasher detergent so I bought my own. Utensils were minimal. However, it was stocked with a few days' worth of tea, coffee and sugar. I did not ask for additional items/appliances so i don't know if they could be made available or not. We made use of the little convenience shop Bonanza on site (but up the road a ways) several times. There is indeed a shuttle to Willemstad but it departs at 9 a.m. & returns at 4 p.m. That makes for a long day! I would suggest to the management that perhaps a shuttle could be offered at 9 a.m. and again at noon with final pick up at 4 p.m. This would give guests 2 chances to get to town and an option for a shorter visit to town than rather than a full day.

Since we knew the beach was across the road, we weren't troubled or surprised by the walk there. Small beach at Pirates Cove but adequate with lovely pier to watch sunset.

The one morning we had breakfast at the restaurant was a bit disappointing. Store-bought muffins, stodgy pastries and some limp bacon. Huge pot of coffee, though, and delightful service.

At least 3 times during our stay, an alarm of some sort went off (once at 6:30 a.m.!!!) We were told later that people cooking (or smoking?) in their rooms set these off, but the whole complex of suites was disrupted with people popping out of their rooms to find out what was going in. If these alarms are indeed this sensitive, it would be a great idea to post a warning somewhere in the room. We cooked several times (including bacon & eggs) and had no problem.
Housekeeping was thorough. The pool was pleasant. Parking was ample.
We also had maintenance come by our first day to spray for pests and to change filter of air conditioner. We had little incidents of insects in the room but woke a couple of mornings to find a single large dead bug on the floor. Always just one! I wasn't overly concerned by this considering the geography.
Lots of lively birds and lizards all over and the air was filled every night with chorusing frogs.
I would recommend this hotel but would advise to expect a slightly lacking kitchen.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatureNut_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nesquehoning, pa
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

The minute I arrived I said WOW! It is stunning when you walk in. Not only is it beautiful when we got to our room we were equally pleased. It was so spacious and high ceilings, full kitchen which for us is ideal since I love to cook and don't like to eat out for every meal. . We spent lots of time at the pool bar and the upstairs bar with Howard, Roberto and Felysia and we loved them all. Howard even offered to drive me around downtown on his day off because I was afraid to drive even though he had lots to do that day, what a great guy! We spent most of our beach time across the street at Prate's Bay. their food is very good, we at there 3 times and I'm pretty fussy. We ate at Sjalotte once, food good, service way too slow for me. Our server was not attentive. I can wait for food but to sit with empty glasses and have nobody come over to me was unacceptable to me. We waited for over an hour for our food. We ventured off to other beaches. If you have a car you must see Big Knip aka Playa Abou. It is what postcards are made of. Unbelievably blue. But we always felt most comfortable coming "home" to our beach and hotel pool. If we ever decide to come back to Curacao there is nowhere else I would stay but here. I don't know why one other person said there are not room darkening drapes because we had them which is important to me. Housekeeping was amazing, never wanted for anything and they did our dishes daily. I can't say enough about this place, it's a must stay!~

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjm219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

My wife and I spent 5 most enjoyable and relaxing nights and days in the Floris Suite Hotel. The staff were nice and helpful. Without asking, the receptionist gave us an upgrade and we thoroughly enjoyed the large room, including entry hall, bedroom, kitchen, living room, bathroom and balcony, all together about 20 x 5 meters (60 x 15 feet). The whole atmosphere of the hotel is modern, clean, airy, light and tropical, including a nice restaurant and the beautiful area around the magnificent and large swimming pool with always many free beach beds. The stay with the Floris Suite Hotel inlcudes free entry to the nearby Pirate Beach (7 minutes walk); restaurant and very lovely secluded beach with ample beach beds and great for swimming, snrokeling and even acqua gym. On Sunday evenings a great band is playing Caribbean rhythms. If one wants to get into Willemstad town, there is a hotel bus at 9am and returning at 4pm; driving time about 15 minutes. Public transportation to and from Willemstad (Otrabanda side of town) stops right in front of the hotel entrance. If one wants to rent a car, the receptionist will assist you and you will receive a rebate with one car rental company. Secured and ample parking space is available on the hotel's grounds.
We can only recommend the hotel and would add that for breakfast we especially enjoyed "egg benedictine". Apart from breakfast, we cannot rate the quality of the restaurant because we only had breakfast and always ate outside in one of the many lovely restaurants in and around Willemstad. We would also recommend the beach bar and beach at Kokomo's where great bands play great rhythms from time to time. I almost forgot to mention the lovely bar inside the hotel on the first floor. Good drinks and great atmosphere, equal to the wonderful reception area with its super comfortable beautiful furniture.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gaissau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Had a great time at Floris Suite Hotel. Great rooms and a very friendly staff.
I will be back as soon as possible! Sjalotte restaurant very good food. Breakfast was also great. Shuttle service to Willemstad,4 minutes walk to the beach. And a nice relaxing pool. Cooking facilities in the room... Good working air conditioning.

Thanks Brigitte

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Briitte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Willemstad
2.9 mi away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#2 of 32 in Willemstad
638 reviews
5.1 mi away
Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao
5.0 mi away
Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Blue Bay Curacao Golf & Beach Resort
Blue Bay Curacao Golf & Beach Re...
#1 of 1 in Dorp Sint Michiel
437 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Curacao
Hilton Curacao
#16 of 32 in Willemstad
1,601 reviews
8.6 mi away
Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club

Property: Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club
Address: Piscadera Bay, Willemstad, Curacao
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Willemstad
#6 Romantic Hotel in Willemstad
#6 Spa Hotel in Willemstad
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Floris Suite Hotel-Spa & Beach Club is for guests 18 years and older and has a refreshing blend of comfort and contemporary design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Floris Hotel Willemstad
Hotel Floris Suite
Floris Suite Willemstad
Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club Curacao/Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing