We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good sushi in lively ambiance with slow service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chopstix-Sushi

Chopstix-Sushi
Ranked #129 of 269 Restaurants in Willemstad
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Bonaire
Level Contributor
136 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good sushi in lively ambiance with slow service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2014

We made reservations for a party of five on a Sunday evening. Upon arrival the place was packed except for two tables of which one was ours. Lively conversations filled the restaurant which can be overwhelming related to poor accoustic conditions. Service is a bit slow cause the kitchen preps sushi fresh/on order and the crew can barely handle the number of orders. Still very much worth a visit

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MMBonaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    34
    14
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Curacao
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent kitchen, service can be improved”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014

The place is nice and cozy and the food is superb. Waiting times are pretty long, but it was quite busy also. I expect a little bit more attention though as for refills. It was hard to get the attention to order one and combined with 10-15 minutes to get your drink made it annoying. Also it took them a long time to come up with the bill. So, apart from the service, a very nice evening and I'll give it another try in the future.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Nanookh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tempo kills appetite”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

I have heard a lot good things about Chopstix, so the expectation was high.
So here's what happend. We orderd some drinks and after asking it took them 15 minutes. Oke I thought I'll give them the benefit of the doubt. So we orderd some suhsi. It took them 45 minutes to serve the first 20 pieces. At that time my appetite was almost gone, for the second order of another 20pieces the alos took about 30minutes. What alo irritated me was the fact that you only could order sushi by 10 pieces, I would recommend by 5 pieces so you can combine more different kinds of sushi (some of the benefits will be the prices will be lower, people will try more different kinds of sushi) and there where no combinations dishes (if there where than it's a shame that the waiter didn't know). The Waiters where friendley, they could be more alert but in total oke. The sushi was good and the combination of various ingredients was good and creatif. That's all. These facts combined couldn't make up for the time that they took to serve 40 pieces of Sushi and the ammount I had to pay.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Foodt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willemstad, Curacao
Level Contributor
63 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great sushi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

I eat sushi here about once a month. I normally have take out. Sometimes it may take a while before you get them on the line (its most of the time occupied, but that comes when you have great food I think). They have great sushi. I love the "Tokyo Tempura" rolls. Will continue eating here!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CuraTravel85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
78 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good value meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

Place in comfortable, not fancy, good and quick service, prices very reasonable and HUGE portions..Certainly is a good choice when you go to Curacao for dining out

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveller_LZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chopstix-Sushi also viewed

 

Been to Chopstix-Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing