We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tour was good, Beach not so much”
Review of Irie Tours

Irie Tours
Ranked #11 of 116 Tours in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Our personal Touch & Love for Curacao make our Tours the best!! Irie Tours is well-known for offering: Safe & High quality excursions Personalized & professional guided tours We cater small as well as large groups We have a wide variety of fun tours to offer, from east to west and everything in between. From the planning stage, to the day of your trip and beyond, our team will do everything we can to ensure you have a wonderful island vacation! We do this by making our tours fun and treating customers like family! And on top of it all, we are extremely proud and honored to have received the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence 4 years in a row since 2013. The Irie Tours office is located beneath Restaurant De Gouverneur, right in front of the ferry station on the Otrobanda side of town. Our 2nd office is located in the Renaissance Hotel on the 2nd floor. this office is open every day of the week from 9:00am - 5:00 pm
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We took the Eastside Tour while in Curacao on the Carnival Breeze. There was all the beer, soda and water you wanted. The tour was fun and informative. We were given only one hour at the beach which was one hour too much. I was very disappointed in the beach. I have been to beaches all over the Caribbean and this one was by far the worst. First of all, it was extremely crowed. But the worst part was that it was littered with garbage. There were cans, bottles and plastics cups covering the entire bottom of the ocean. The tour itself was worth the $20 fee, but it would have been nice to have gone to a better beach.

2  Thank CherieFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (455)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

339 - 343 of 455 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2013

Took a tour with Irie in August 2013 while in port on a RCCL cruise. The tour was excellent! The tour guide was extremely knowledgeable as well as patient. We got to see different communities throughout the island and we even visited a liquor distillery. After the tour we spent about 2 hours at a beautiful beach. There was free beer, soda, and water on the bus. The bus for this trip is an old school bus with no windows, it was very fun. The tour only cost $20 dollars per person! At the end of the tour, the guide told everyone that if they did not like the tour they did not have to pay him for it! The tour (including the beach stop) lasted about 4 hours. I highly recommend this tour.

Thank Dan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We went to Curacao and paid $20/person to ride on a bus for:a tour of some places on the island, visited the Curacao liquor distillery, free beer, pop & water, and even stopped at the beach for an 1 1/2 - 2 hours. Ariel, our tour guide is very friendly person and spoke a lot about Curacao along the way.

Thank j s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

My husband and I had the misfortune of taking the tour on June 22nd during a weekend trip to Curacao. We booked the tour based on all the rave reviews. We were picked up from our hotel in a van the smelled like someone had recently vomited beer in it. The carpet and the back of the seats were stained. We were taken to the tour office where we thought we would be transferred to the Irie bus featured in the promotional pictures. No such luck. We were trapped in the stinking van for the whole tour. I use the term tour loosely as we really went to a souvenir shop before being dumped at Sea Aquarium Beach for two hours. My hotel had a beach I could have gone to for free. The driver translated everything into three languages so we heard about a total of ten sentences in English during the entire trip. There was not trip to or even a mention of the Blue Curacao distillery. It was a complete and total waste of time and money. I learned more about Curacao on the website. Under no circumstances would I ever recommend this tour to anyone. I think they only give a real tour when the cruises are in port. I only wish we had gone back to the office so I could demand a refund.

9  Thank ccesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irie Tours C, Owner at Irie Tours, responded to this reviewResponded June 29, 2013

We are very sorry that you feel this way about the tour you took with us. The reason we did the tour in our Van is because on this day we only had 5 people on the tour and could't take you in the big bus. As we recall, we had 2 Americans (you), a couple from Surinam who speak only Dutch and a girl from Costa Rica who only speaks Spanish. For that reason the guide had to do the tour in 3 different languages. We appologize for the inconvenience caused by this. We did get great feedback from the other people during this tour, so we weren't aware of the smell. But we will look into it. We would like to thank you for your review as we will use it to better our service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We had a GREAT time on this tour in June 2013 while our ship was in port. We got to see several places and spend an hour and a half at a beautiful beach. Our guide was very friendly and informative. This tour included all the water,soda,and beer you wanted and they had plenty and even invited us to take some to go. Outstanding value for $20. per person for over 3 hours including drinks.

2  Thank Bluehcky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Irie Tours also viewed

 

Been to Irie Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing