We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great tour for young at heart” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Irie Tours

Irie Tours
Ranked #10 of 103 Tours in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Our personal Touch & Love for Curacao make our Tours the best!! Irie Tours is well-known for offering: Safe & High quality excursions Personalized & professional guided tours We cater small as well as large groups We have a wide variety of fun tours to offer, from east to west and everything in between. From the planning stage, to the day of your trip and beyond, our team will do everything we can to ensure you have a wonderful island vacation! We do this by making our tours fun and treating customers like family! And on top of it all, we are extremely proud and honored to have received the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence 4 years in a row since 2013. The Irie Tours office is located beneath Restaurant De Gouverneur, right in front of the ferry station on the Otrobanda side of town. Our 2nd office is located in the Renaissance Hotel on the 2nd floor. this office is open every day of the week from 9:00am - 5:00 pm
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase, Activities for older children
Chicago
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great tour for young at heart”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

It's only $20 for ~4 hours fun island tour on old school bus. Visited different parts of the city, countryside, beach (admission is included) and liqueur factory - the best way to see the island. The bus had huge cooler with free water, coke and Amstel beer. I wish the bus stopped more often for great photo shots.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank igorek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irietours, Owner at Irie Tours, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you very much for this review. We love Curacao and hope that you loved it too. Thank you and see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    314
    76
    9
    0
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Samba Bus - East Side Tour”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

This tour is excellent value for money with the unlimited inclusive drinks (alcoholic, soda and water), interesting itinerary and fun atmosphere. I would have rated it much higher had not a driver induced cultural issue cropped up as our tour progressed.

The tour was half and half with Spanish speakers (a large family) and States/Canadian/UK English speakers, no problem there. The driver (whose name I never heard mentioned) gave a lively commentary in both languages, also good. The Spanish speakers (think they were Puerto Ricans) were very lively and whooped and danced their way around the tour, also no problem The driver obliged them with non-stop Spanish music, encouraging them to wiggle provocatively up and down the bus aisle, mmmmm maybe not a problem. However, he then began to insinuate that the rest of the passengers were 'miserable' because they were not singing along and cavorting in the aisles.......the music was in Spanish so the English speakers didn't know any of it and, maybe not all cultures choose to shake their spilling cleavage at all and sundry. I heard one of the USA passengers quietly ask the driver if he could play something the rest of us knew so that we could all join in and, with a mildly insulting attitude, he played The Birdie Song. He made some disparaging remarks about this being the sort of thing we knew and that if we practised, we too would be able to join in the Spanish way. How rude. The driver then put the Spanish music back on and spent much more time laughing and joking in Spanish with only the odd word or two in English.

I'm afraid this just slightly soured what was otherwise a really good trip. I'm not an over-sensitive sort but it was clear that the driver had a bias in favour of half of the passengers on our trip. Just bad luck we went this particular day, I'm sure that had we chosen another it would have been just perfect.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank bringmesunshine11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irietours, Owner at Irie Tours, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you very much for this review. I think that the driver got a little over excited. He usually gets really good reviews but like I said he got a little over excited and forgot that he was actually doing a tour. I want to appologize to you if it came over a little rude. Once again sorry and when you come back to Curacao we want to make up by giving you a free private tour of the island. Our goal is to please all our visitors. Take care and hope to see you back in Curacao soon.
We love curacao.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, Illinois
Level Contributor
357 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Best way to see Curacao!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

We booked a tour with Irie Tours through email. You do not pay until the end of the tour, and pay in cash. $20 per adult; $10 for child. A few hours and unlimited beer, soda and water. Everyone on the ship drank and drank and drank, but they never ran out of beer.

The staff are exceptional. Very friendly and they knew every answer to our questions. We saw old neighborhoods and neighborhoods with new construction, and everything in between.
The stop at the Curacao liquor place was worth about 5 minutes of your time. Just a way for them to get some people to buy stuff.

We were taken to the Aquarium beach and were there for an hour. Sandy beach and chairs and cabanas (no charge, or at least we were not charged). Great place for swimming. Also a platform you can climb onto and jump from. It was almost sunset and a lovely opportunity to be in the ocean.

On the drive back, the sun was setting, and our driver pulled over so we could take photos and watch the sunset. Very nice, and he sure did not HAVE to do that.

I highly recommend this tour.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisamarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irietours, Owner at Irie Tours, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you so much for this review. We hope to see you back in Curacao soon and maybe for longer than just a day. Take care and see you real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
173 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“An on the spot decision to go - it was a fantastic trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

On our cruise to Curacao, my husband and I had nothing planned. We took a walk through the fort and crossed the bridge into town. On the way back Irie Tours was due to leave so we decided to hop on board. $20 each for the half day trip. The bus is clean, played fun music and had 2 very large coolers at the back with beer, soda and water that was all included and we were told to help ourselves whenever we wanted. We visited the curacao factory for a quick taster, were narrated around the island, seeing many areas of interest and then taken to the beach. Entrance was included and we got just over an hour there. Enough to swim and dry off and relax. Our driver was great fun.There were only 10 people on the entire bus so we had lots of space and we had lots of fun too, laughing and dancing. Including me falling over in the aisle as we went round a corner but it is what you make it. Would definitely recommend and do again. This is a party bus and you make the party as fun as you want or not, depending on how much you want to join in. In total this was 4 hours and my husband decided he had drunk more than his fare in beer so a good tip was provided.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank tigger32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irietours, Owner at Irie Tours, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you very much. We are happy that you enjoyed the tour. Next time you are in Curacao we will do the All West Beach Hopping. It is great fun. Thanks again and take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
314 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“$20 for an amazing East Side Tour with the amazing Sylvian!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

Stopped in at Curacao for a day trip on our cruise at the beginning of January. My friend and I prebooked our seats beforehand. We found the bus with not too much difficulty and began what turned into our best trip of our cruise and the least expensive I might add. Sylvian our driver balanced the amount of information he gave to us about Curacao with also some humour. We visited the sights of Curacao including the distillery and the beach all with a good amount of time at stops (we never felt rushed). The free beers and soft drinks were ice cold, the music fun and guests aboard really all enjoyed themselves. Perhaps you could educate the trip we took on Aruba to the same standards?! Thoroughly pleased with our trip, tipped our driver as he was great and can highly recommend IRIE Tours! Thank you..

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank anon19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irietours, Owner at Irie Tours, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you very very much for this great review. These are the things that motivates us to do better and better every day. Greetings from all of us at IRIE TOURS.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Irie Tours also viewed

 

Been to Irie Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing