We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value Hotel for a Dive Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
WAVE Hotel & Cafe Curacao
Ranked #26 of 32 Hotels in Willemstad
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Value Hotel for a Dive Trip”
Reviewed April 16, 2012

This is a no-frills, minimal service hotel that is great if you just want a bed and a shower and don't plan to spend much time in the room. We were here for a dive trip and didn't require resort quality creature comforts, so we got what we paid for. Still, it was clean and well kept and when the shower head stopped working they fixed it. The bed was comfortable enough, the fan and A/C kept the room cool, and there was a nice plasma TV. Location is pretty nice, only a few minutes walk to many restaurants in Willemstad and right across the street from a grocery store. Also just down the street is the allegedly famous Netto Bar. I think it is a good value for what I wanted from a hotel on this trip.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BradB97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    23
    15
    4
    7
See reviews for
5
28
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Szeged
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2012

We had to visit Otrobanda. This location is very central and everything is nearby! Unless youre here for a beach holiday. Functional. Very nice staff. Loved the transfer to the airport. Arriving with big suitcases it is bit of a challange to arrive to the hotel floors, but there is a rear door where you can reach street level without staircases (just a few steps). Not suiteable for disabled persons. Very good ac, flat screen, docking station.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellerszeged
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 2, 2011

Taxi driver from the airport didn't know this hotel as it is quite new. The reception staff was wonderful and very helpful. Bear in mind that if you are travelling on small budget they ask for a 100$ deposit for your stay. My room was on the blue level at 3rd floor overlooking a quiet back street and didn't experience any noise from the casino next door during night. The room was roomy enough with a neat design and had a safe for valuables. As I was travelling only with a backbag didn't need much room for my stuff. Shower however seemed to only have lukewarm water and had only a 1/3 roll of toilet paper and no extra in bathroom in case. Location is excellent as its only minutes walk to Howard Johnson Plaza. Overall very good hotel for a one night stay in Willemstad.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B777-300ER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

This hotel is certainly not a traditional one, nor does it try to be. The rooms and corridors give away a feeling of being on a cruise ship or a complex of livable containers. Everything is painted in white with blue or orange decorations depending on floor. Almost all furniture are of the Italian design brand Kartell (plastic in different colors) and the rooms give away a very trendy, although almost sterile, vibe. The ceilings of corrugated metal in the rooms increase the feeling of sleeping in a made over container. The doors are opened with keycards.

In the end of the hallways there's a really narrow winding staircase leading from one floor to another. The reception/cafe is in the bottom floor, which is street level on that side of the building. To traverse the staircase, you'll have to be agile and under the age of 40 with either patience or a sense of humor. It's not recommended with large amounts of luggage. There's also an elevator available between floor 1 and 2, but not to the floor with the reception/cafe.

The staff is really friendly and helpful, although this is more of a self service B&B. Breakfast wasn't served at the time we were there, but apparently in high season they offer breakfast in the kitchen-lounge on the first floor. Free Wi-Fi is available, but it doesn't penetrate to the rooms. Cafe area or kitchen-lounge is the place to surf.

What does penetrate to the rooms is the noise from the neighboring karaoke bar / casino. Earplugs are recommended if you're a light sleeper.

The location on the Otrobana side of Willemstad is ok, but not perfect if you're into strolling around Punta, the floating market, the waterfront etc.

All in all, I wouldn't recommend this place to any other than young backpackers looking for a place to sleep one or two nights. The rooms are perfectly clean and the staff is friendly. But if you're looking for adjectives like 'cosy', 'warm', 'peaceful' or 'relaxing', then look somewhere else.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fredrik B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Willemstad hotels
0.2 mi away
Curacao Suites Hotel
Curacao Suites Hotel
#8 of 32 in Willemstad
181 reviews
0.2 mi away
E M City Hotel
E M City Hotel
#31 of 32 in Willemstad
148 reviews
3.5 mi away
Bayside Boutique Hotel
Bayside Boutique Hotel
#20 of 32 in Willemstad
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
San Marco Hotel and Casino
San Marco Hotel and Casino
#24 of 32 in Willemstad
223 reviews
0.3 mi away
Otrobanda Hotel and Casino
Otrobanda Hotel and Casino
#22 of 32 in Willemstad
98 reviews
4.7 mi away
Curacao Airport Hotel
Curacao Airport Hotel
#23 of 32 in Willemstad
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WAVE Hotel & Cafe Curacao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WAVE Hotel & Cafe Curacao

Property: WAVE Hotel & Cafe Curacao
Address: Breedestraat 100-102 | Otrobanda, Willemstad, Curacao
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#10 Casino Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — WAVE Hotel & Cafe Curacao 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WAVE Hotel & Cafe is a small family owned property with 40 rooms in the center of the city, with many restaurants, shops and points of interest in the area. Room rates are excluding taxes. The Hotel serves a variety of breakfast combos in the morning. We have a casino a cafe and the bus station is 2 minutes walking from our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your WAVE Hotel & Cafe Curacao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
WAVE Hotel & Cafe Curacao Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing