We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moms home cooking in Curacao”
Review of Plaza Bieu

Plaza Bieu
Ranked #15 of 276 Restaurants in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Plasa Bieu is near the Old Market, just beyond the Queen Wilhelmina footbridge and down the street from the Floating Market.
Swainton, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Moms home cooking in Curacao”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

We asked the "locals" at our hotel, Marriott Hotel and Emerald Casino, Curacao, where would they go when in town. They told us where to go and we were so glad. We ate at the first "restaurant" in the complex where they make fresh limeaide. We had a full lunch consisting of 3 pieces of chicken, rice and beans, small salad and plantains and a cold limeaide...all for $10.00 American Dollars ! That is a good price for sure ! They were cooking like my grandma used to and I felt like a kid again...delicious for sure!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Esther Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    355
    274
    60
    14
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
68 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“No tourist menu here!”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

We are suckers for covered markets. After all, these are the places where the locals eat, where the menus are not adapted to the tourists’ tastes. And so it is with Plasa Bieu.

Inside the building you will find several large kitchens with long tables in fort of them. Yvonne’s is the first one you see if you are coming from the touristy part of town. Her place is the most crowded and not without reason: her food is the best. Real tasty and well-prepared Curaçao Creole food. Go there, eat, and be content with life!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pieter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Georgia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very good food, Excellent value, Friendly service”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Got a very helpful orientation to the options from a local and had a very nice chicken curry with rice and beans for $5 US, which was the "small" size and I still couldn't eat it all. If you want decent food that will fill you up for not a lot of money, this is the best value I have yet found on Curacao.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CamaroSupersport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John T, Owner at Plaza Bieu, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Sir,

As regards our restaurant "The Grace of God" , in spite of the many obstacles aiming to keep us from focusing on our aim, we endeavor , just as our beautiful Caribbean sea surrounds our Island,
to surround each of our visitors with the best of quality meals we can offer, and to show them we aim to serve them. thank you and your family for enjoying our hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curacao
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Expensive!”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

This use to be a place with good food and prices, but recently we have been there and we found expensive for what we got! I think u can better go somewhere else for that money and get better food! Dont think we'll go back

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FaHACoster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Quality has a price”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Good quality price for $20 dollars or less. Everything is prepared by friendly local people and all ingredients are fresh. Fresh fish caught daily and prepared with local touch and spieces. Good ambience where local and tourist meet eat other and eat at joined tables.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shardorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plaza Bieu also viewed

Willemstad, Curacao
Willemstad, Curacao
 
Willemstad, Curacao
Willemstad, Curacao
 

Been to Plaza Bieu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing