We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious Food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plaza Bieu

Plaza Bieu
Ranked #11 of 269 Restaurants in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Plasa Bieu is near the Old Market, just beyond the Queen Wilhelmina footbridge and down the street from the Floating Market.
Curitiba
Level Contributor
74 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Delicious Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

We ate at "Grasa de Dios". An informal place with many locals, great service and surprisingly reasonable prices.The plates are very well served and the food is exquisite and very tasty. The owner uses to sit in the customers table to take the orders and have a little chat. Even when the place is crowded he doesn't seem to be in a hurry to take your orderd. Here we could try the real local cuisine and it surprised me how tasty it was.
A trip to Curacao is not complete without a visit to this restaurant!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nanbei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    338
    261
    58
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Traditional food, great environment, great prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

Six different "restaurants" under one roof (though at least one is not operating right now), only open for lunch. Menu of traditional Curacao food including stoba (stew) of beef or chicken or goat. Also excellent oxtail and conch. Menus mostly not in English, but just ask any of the cooks or waitresses what to order and you won't be disappointed.

One of the few inexpensive excellent meals available in Curacao.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rossputin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The best meal on Curaçao”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

We are always looking for the local food experience and were having a tough time on Curaçao. Our last day proved to be the best meal we had! We went to Plaza Bieu for lunch and had a wonderful conch meal and a chicken skewer. They are only open for lunch, so don't plan a dinner, but is well worth going if you want real food instead of resort "cuisine". It is a series of independent food vendors and you should check out all the menus before you make your choice. Highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stainedglasslass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Gracia di Dios”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Tripadvisor lists Plaza Bieu as one restaurant. However, it appeared to me that the plaza was simply a pavilion housing several food vendors--each one being an independent "restaurant." This review is specifically for Gracia di Dios, which was the 3rd vendor as you enter the plaza. My wife and I each ordered fried snapper. Mine was accompanied by moro (rice w/beans) and salad. Hers was accompanied by veggie rice and salad. If you've ever had mojarra frita (fried tilapia) in a Mexican restaurant, the seasoning and style for the snapper was similar. This meal was absolutely delicious and our only regret was that we weren't able to return on another day and eat it again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Vaughn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John T, Owner at Plaza Bieu, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
We, the management of restaurant Grasia Di Dios, are totally dedicated to serve our clients in such a way, that we endeavour to stand out in the way we serve the clients who wish to eat with us. However we undergo very strong competition coming from the doorways, because many new visitors do not know that every restaurant is different, and that every menu is different.
THat is one of the main reasons why, we of the Grasia di Dios focus on every visitor that we serve, so that they can carry the message that we want to be different in every way, including our specially invented marinades for our meals, especially fish, meats and chicken.

We invite every reader, should you come to Curacao, walk through, till you find our reestaurant in the middle, and prove if we are dong our utmost to serve, or not,

Thankyou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Murray, New Jersey
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Eat where the locals eat. A gotta do in Curacao...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

I've always said that if you want good sushi, find out where the Japanese eat.

Same goes for Curacao and the Plasa Bieu.

We heard about this place from our German Divemaster, Oliver. He highly recommended it.

Basically, you walk into the place, and there are a series of barbecue pits along the left, and maybe 20-30 picnic tables on the right. You walk from station to station and look at the menus (and hear their sales pitches). Each one is different, and there are slightly different menus every day.

We were a party of 7, so we sat closest to the place where most of us ordered our food and the delightful ladies brought our orders to us. The others waited at the places where they ordered their food and joined us shortly after.

Most of us went for stews: goat, beef, conch, etc. One of us ordered chicken curry. The goat was a favorite.

There was also great lemonade, and some places had beer as well.

Even better than the variety, the service, and the atmosphere was the price: $7 for a heaping plateful of food. Can't go wrong with that.

Getting there from the waterfront isn't the easiest. It's about as far away from the floating bridge as you can go (at least it felt that way), but it was worth the trip. Definitely.

To get there from the floating bridge, go to the very end of Heritage row, turn right, pass the floating fish market, pass the indoor market on your left, and the Plasa will be on your left.

If you're coming from the East, walk away from the Caribbean until you reach the inlet (Waaigat). Follow De Ruyterkade west until you see Plasa Biue on the right.

There's a nice video of the place. Let's see if it works: http://youtu.be/x0-7Dw3yXWY

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plaza Bieu also viewed

Willemstad, Curacao
Willemstad, Curacao
 
Willemstad, Curacao
 

Been to Plaza Bieu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing