We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing dinner on the beach!”

Pirate Bay Beach Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #38 of 272 Restaurants in Willemstad
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: Caribbean, Bar, Seafood, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The friendliest and most tranquil place on Curaçao is at the picturesque Pirate Bay Beachclub and restaurant, where you will find all the right ingredients that an authentic Caribbean Beach Bar & Restaurant ought to have. With Spirited atmosphere, a sprinkle of salt and a healthy drizzle of YO HO HO, Pirate Bay is where people meet and friendly staff is serving up smiles with your ice cold drinks. Our tasty international and local dishes, served on the beach, with soft sand under your feet, while enjoying the beautiful sunset, are a definite must. Come enjoy our daily Happy hours from1 5pm-6pm and our Friday XL Happy hour from 5pm-7pm with swinging live music. And for the romantic spouses to-be, we offer a beautiful location for your unforgettable tropical wedding ceremony. We are open 7 days of the week from 9am till 11pm
Guilderland, New York
Level Contributor
212 reviews
140 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Relaxing dinner on the beach!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

An easy 5 minute walk from the Marriott Curacao brings you to Pirate's Bay Restaurant! It has a relaxed atmosphere, and the hostess made us feel welcome right away. You get to have dinner right on the beach, feet in the sand and a glorious sunset in front of you! Amazing! I had the caesar salad and my husband had the burger...simple, yet great! Ask to sit up front for the best view!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryEllen22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PirateBay, Manager at Pirate Bay Beach Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear MaryEllen22,


Thank you very mutch for giving us this positieve review.

I'm really pleased to hear that your hostess made you feel welcome right away.
Having dinner with you feed in the sand is lovely. It is great to receive your warm comments regarding dining waterfront with the water crashing on the beach. We are really proud of our beautiful, romantic location.

Thank you again for choosing Pirate Bay and the lovely pictures you made. We hoop to see you soon again.



Warmest Regards,

Sjoukje Kleefstra
Marketing & Events Manager
Curacao WIne and Dine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    326
    453
    242
    89
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fun place, good food, great atmosphere, not so great service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014 via mobile

Very fun place to have dinner right on the beach. They had a live band and there was a nice crowd. The good was very good. The only downside was the service. Our waiter was overwhelmed with his area and he had no help. I had to ask four times for water from four different people. The service would have been much better if all the bus staff actually helped out. Fortunately the music was great so it kept us occupied. This place would be incredible experience if they had better service.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jedempsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PirateBay, Manager at Pirate Bay Beach Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Jedempsey,

We really appreciate you took the time to write a review, thank you!

We are pleased to hear that you loved the food and the reggae music.
I'm sorry that your waiter was overwelmed in his area and you did'nt get the service you should have. We will definitely share your comments with the staff and try to improve the service level.

I hope you will visit Pirate Bay again so we could show you that we are working on your comments.

Warm Regards,

Sjoukje Kleefstra
Marketing & Events Manager
Curacao Wine and Dine
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice dinner on the beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2014

Italian and seafood like every other restaurant on Curacao. The restaurant is right on the beach (tables and chairs on the sand), nice romantic setting although it can be a little hot and humid. Prices are typical for the island (somewhat expensive even by US standards) as are the smallish portions and the slow service. Overall a nice dinner experience.

The restaurant is a walking distance from Marriott and Hilton and a nice break from the hotel food if you don't feel like driving into town.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beardy_McBeardson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PirateBay, Manager at Pirate Bay Beach Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Beardy_McBeardson,

First of all, thank you very much for making time to write about Pirate Bay.

Our team works really hard to provide excellent service and it is always amazing to see when we accomplish! We will definitely share your comments with the staff!
Hope to see you on your next visit on Curacao.

Kind Regards,
Sjoukje Kleefstra
Marketing & Events Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Interesting place close to Hilton hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

Good food, great ambiance and nice to eat directly on the beach with feet in the sand...

Our server was very friendly and even took time to explain some information regarding attractions on the island

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank 4isabelleb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PirateBay, Manager at Pirate Bay Beach Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear 4isabelleb,

It is really wonderful to read your review, thank you for posting it on TripAdvisor!

Thank you very much for the compliments about the food, abmiance and of course our location. Having dinner with you feed in the sand is lovely. We are happy to have this beautifull place.
Good the hear that your waitress took the time for you. Thank you visiting Pirate Bay.

Warmest Regards,
Sjoukje Kleefstra
Marketing & Events Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
120 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice dinner under de moonlight”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

Nice service, good food and a pleasant view.
I had dinner with friends in my first night at Curaçao. Nice outside seating on beach sand.

Helpful?
1 Thank Simone_Dunham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pirate Bay Beach Bar and Restaurant also viewed

 
Willemstad, Curacao
 

Been to Pirate Bay Beach Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing