We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly Good.”

Pirate Bay Beach Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #37 of 283 Restaurants in Willemstad
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: Barbecue, Caribbean, International, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The friendliest and most tranquil place on Curaçao is at the picturesque Pirate Bay Beachclub and restaurant, where you will find all the right ingredients that an authentic Caribbean Beach Bar & Restaurant ought to have. With Spirited atmosphere, a sprinkle of salt and a healthy drizzle of YO HO HO, Pirate Bay is where people meet and friendly staff is serving up smiles with your ice cold drinks. Our tasty international and local dishes, served on the beach, with soft sand under your feet, while enjoying the beautiful sunset, are a definite must. Come enjoy our daily Happy hours from1 5pm-6pm and our Friday XL Happy hour from 5pm-7pm with swinging live music. And for the romantic spouses to-be, we offer a beautiful location for your unforgettable tropical wedding ceremony. We are open 7 days of the week from 9am till 11pm
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Good.”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Was a little scared walking in. Looks like a dive bar on the beach. But the food was good. Service could be better. Good reggae band.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    344
    474
    254
    91
    54
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
curacao
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“The food smell dead, like long time dead”
Reviewed January 31, 2014

This is a feet in the sand, table on the beach type of a place.
But we order fish and the smell was horrible, like take this away now smell. We left money on the table and just walk out. The service was done by young girls that where not happy about being there, and I get that with the smell. This use to be a nice enough restaurant but with the new owner it has become a health danger.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank isabellaguevara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Curacao
1 review
“Pirate bay is nice tho”
Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

The food was delicious. Dessert too
And also a black tall guy that bring your food to your table is so HANDSOME smelling hella fine, well mannered and the pretty lady that attend us too at the table (very kind).. only thing that bothers is the bugs and there isn't enough light too see the menu but other then that I'll definitely come again
Great place/dinner .

Helpful?
Thank kendramain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
1 review
“Tourist trap”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Went there primarily to watch the sunset as we had reserved a beach front table
Food was average at best, the JERK CHICKEN described on the menu as HOT was bland and over cooked certainly not like any I have ever had.
Other dishes at table described as average at best.
Like others have mention the worst part of this restaurant experience was the service.
Slow at best, staff had the attitude they were doing you a favor
Typical tourist trap

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carole E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PirateBay, Director of Sales at Pirate Bay Beach Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Carole E,

Thank you for writing the review about Pirate Bay.
I hope you had have enjoyed the sunset.
First of all, I'm really sorry that you feel like we are a typical tourist trap.

Hopefully you also told the staff that the 'Jamaican Jerk Chicken' wasn't the way it should be.
The service will have our attention and we hope that you will visit again some day.

Kind regard,
Sjoukje Kleefstra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, NC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Pretty good food, great music, terrible service”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

I'll start with the good - we were there on a night that they had a reggae band that was enjoyable to listen to. The food was pretty good - pretty standard restaurant fare.

The negatives were the mosquitoes and the bad service. It took forever to get anything. We had to ask for water three times before we finally got some. My wife would have ordered a second drink, but they didn't come to the table often enough, so she didn't bother.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PirateBay, Director of Sales at Pirate Bay Beach Bar and Restaurant, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Jeff G,

Thank you for writing a review about Pirate Bay. We appreciated it.
Nice to hear that you liked the atmosphere, music and the food.

Currently it is the rainy season in Curacao. Certainly on the water are indeed a lot mosquitoes, unfortunately we can not do anything about it. About the service, it was very busy and the waitresses where working the fast as possible. I'm sorry that we haven't often enough been to your table to ask if everything was okay.

However we hope to welcome you again at Pirate Bay.

Kind regards,
Sjoukje Kleefstra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pirate Bay Beach Bar and Restaurant also viewed

 
Willemstad, Curacao
 

Been to Pirate Bay Beach Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing