We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Setting and Good Food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pirate Bay Beach Bar and Restaurant

Pirate Bay Beach Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #39 of 269 Restaurants in Willemstad
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: Caribbean, Bar, Seafood, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The friendliest and most tranquil place on Curaçao is at the picturesque Pirate Bay Beachclub and restaurant, where you will find all the right ingredients that an authentic Caribbean Beach Bar & Restaurant ought to have. With Spirited atmosphere, a sprinkle of salt and a healthy drizzle of YO HO HO, Pirate Bay is where people meet and friendly staff is serving up smiles with your ice cold drinks. Our tasty international and local dishes, served on the beach, with soft sand under your feet, while enjoying the beautiful sunset, are a definite must. Come enjoy our daily Happy hours from1 5pm-6pm and our Friday XL Happy hour from 5pm-7pm with swinging live music. And for the romantic spouses to-be, we offer a beautiful location for your unforgettable tropical wedding ceremony. We are open 7 days of the week from 9am till 11pm
Middleton, Massachusetts, USA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Setting and Good Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We ate here twice on a recent stay at the Hilton Curacao. The restaurant is right on the beach and about a 10 min walk from the Hilton. We enjoyed the fish, chicken, and pasta. The prices are reasonable ($16-$25 for main course). One night they had a reggae band. The first night we had excellent service. The second time, the service was poor. My wife asked for a glass of water 2 times. After waiting 30 min, I needed to go the counter and tell someone that we have already asked twice. After I complained, the promptly brought the water.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    318
    438
    235
    88
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
104 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“unenven food quality in a nice setting”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

First the good things about this restaurant: the view is lovely. As mentioned in another review, if you make a reservation for dinner, you are likely to be given a table directly on the beach, which is lovely. Now for the food. I was there twice; the first time, the service was good, the food was O.K., not great, but the view made up for it. The second time, for lunch, the food was terrible. I ordered the red snapper and was served a very old piece of fish that did not even resemble red snapper and was not edible. Even the rice was very dry and appeared to have been cooked days before. If you go there, be prepared for very uneven food quality, ranging from average to well below. This place is nice for a drink but don't expect fine dining.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank worldtraveler42139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Ate here three times on our trip!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

My family visited here two nights in a row, the food was so good, and they had more beer choices (great for my dad!) than other restaurants. Service was good, right on the beach, and at Christmas they had trees decorated on the sand. Also had my fav. drink, Kolita. Highly recommend this place, one of my favorites.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bumblebrie223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
83 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“great setting on the beach with tiki”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

The restaraunt is right on the beach so there are not many people at the bar/restaraunt area during the day & dress is casual. It has a great pirate setting making use of tiki style. If you make reservations they will place you at a table they set up on the beach during the evenings. The food was not spectacular but by no means bad--at all. I was expecting caribbean style food on the island in general & found the food is pretty much american. On sunday that I was there they had a regge band play that was quite enjoyable. The only disappoint is that I was told that is the only day of the week with live music. It did get more crowded for the band on Sunday than any of the other nights that I was there...DON'T FORGET THE OFF or you will get eaten alive by the mosquitos.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank plnashville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penn Yan, New York
Level Contributor
108 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Met someone while staying at the Marriott who recommended this restaurant. We decided to take a chance and arrived at 5 PM on a Friday night. We appeared to be the only people dining there but we were obviously eating very early. The menu was somewhat limited and we had trouble finding something that really appealed to us but we decided on the Jack Sparrow Pasta and the Chicken Skewers. Both meals were OUTSTANDING! We could not have been more pleased. The prices were pretty reasonable compared to most restaurants in the Netherland Antilles. Also you can sit at a table in the sand on the beach and watch the sunset. I highly recommend this place!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank symsdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pirate Bay Beach Bar and Restaurant also viewed

 
Willemstad, Curacao
 

Been to Pirate Bay Beach Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing