We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful planning and service for our event” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pirate Bay Beach Bar and Restaurant

Pirate Bay Beach Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #39 of 269 Restaurants in Willemstad
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: Caribbean, Bar, Seafood, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Romantic, Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The friendliest and most tranquil place on Curaçao is at the picturesque Pirate Bay Beachclub and restaurant, where you will find all the right ingredients that an authentic Caribbean Beach Bar & Restaurant ought to have. With Spirited atmosphere, a sprinkle of salt and a healthy drizzle of YO HO HO, Pirate Bay is where people meet and friendly staff is serving up smiles with your ice cold drinks. Our tasty international and local dishes, served on the beach, with soft sand under your feet, while enjoying the beautiful sunset, are a definite must. Come enjoy our daily Happy hours from1 5pm-6pm and our Friday XL Happy hour from 5pm-7pm with swinging live music. And for the romantic spouses to-be, we offer a beautiful location for your unforgettable tropical wedding ceremony. We are open 7 days of the week from 9am till 11pm
Pittsburgh
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful planning and service for our event”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

Our daughter recently surprised us with a wonderful 50th Anniversary celebration and renewal of our vows at Pirate Bay Restaurant. Judary Salome, the event manager/planner there, did a great job of planning for the event--from the details starting with a welcome drink, through the beautiful ceremony with Father Curtis, to the gorgeous cake and champagne. This was following by a torch-lit dinner on the beach. Very beautiful and something we'll always remember. The staff of Pirate Bay was very friendly and the food was wonderful.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank steelerfans86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    318
    438
    235
    88
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Previously Hook's Hut - great live music and good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2011

Been twice while staying at the Hilton. Evening dinner although they are open for lunch too. Snorkelled across from the Hilton Beach to Pirate Bay and made reservations direct from the shore. Great atmosphere. Sunday night live music (Reggae) started 7.30 pm and Wed night salsa started 10 pm which was a shame cos we couldn't stay out that late our son was a bit tired. Food prices in line with Hilton's. Our tables were on raaised decking areas so we got a good blend of the seaview and the music, but they have candlelit tables directly on the beach too.
Had nice times at this restaurant would definitely go again if I were to return to the island...

  • Visited August 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KandB4Eva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food is good, price is right, and venue can't be beat!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2011

Loved dining on the beach at Pirate Bay. The first night in Curacao we had dinner there because we are staying at the Hilton, which is a short walk from this restaurant. I had the goat cheese salad and it was really fantastic. Tonight we returned for dinner here after a day of shopping in Willemstad; we had burgers and fries which really hit the spot after many seafood meals. We may return a third time on our 8 day trip in Curacao.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank franb197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, TN
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2011

If we had known about Pirate Bay at the start of our trip we would have eaten there more often! We stayed at the Marriott which had horrible food. Pirate Bay is within easy walking distance and we ate there on our last night in Curacao. The food was delicious and the prices were very reasonable. We ate on the beach with the ocean just a few feet away. The atmosphere was casual with a gorgeous view of the sunset. We loved it!

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LesKnoxville_TN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Atmosphere and Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2011

We were staying at the Hilton next door and ate dinner at Pirate Bay 4x's. The atmosphere was excellent. You can eat on one of two raised wood platforms in the covered dining area or if you are lucky, right on the beach with the waves lapping at your feet. The food was very good and the seafood was very fresh and delicious. Prices were reasonable and their drinks were great (they make a fantastic mojito). This is not the place to eat if you are in a rush as service can be a bit slow especially later in the evening when they are really busy. Appetizers and drinks come out quick but the meal can take near an hour. However, if you are into a nice relaxing meal, it is totally worth the wait.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jabbycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pirate Bay Beach Bar and Restaurant also viewed

 
Willemstad, Curacao
 

Been to Pirate Bay Beach Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing