We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Scharloo
Nearby Hotels
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Avila Beach Hotel(Willemstad)
$318
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Scuba Lodge & Suites(Willemstad)
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of $135/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$214
$197
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$296
$253
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hilton Curacao(Willemstad)
$166
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$207
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$205
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$150
$125
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $143/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (103)
Filter reviews
103 results
Traveler rating
40
48
10
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
40
48
10
2
3
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 103 reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Good place within very easy walking distance of all highlights of Willemstad. Nice, very clean and big room, good bathroom. Friendly and good service. Two things keep this from a 5: the room I was in looked onto a blind wall and was thus a bit dark, and while the hotel has a very nice garden and dipping pool it was kind of quiet when I stayed. Still, I'd say absolutely value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BobP60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 9 nights in March in an apartment facing the main patio/ courtyard area. I travelled as a single woman and was glad that I chose an apartment where I could cook meals instead of eating out every day. The rooms were very clean and had both fans and A/C. I was NEVER too hot.

It took a little while to adjust to the lack of glass windows which made the rooms feel a little darker than I'm used to, but I'd seen similar comments from travellers at other hotels in town. After a day I was fine. You can open the slats for some light or I also had the option of leaving one or both of my front doors open during the day (and even into the night).

I felt quite safe at this hotel. The gate locks at 6pm every night (guests are given a key) and the security guard was very friendly.

The location of the hotel itself was perfect. I didn't rent a car and was able to walk to Punda (the main town area) in a couple of minutes via 1 of 2 bridges. The bus station was also close by so I took frequent trips to the beach by mini bus (about $2 US). The Seaquarium beaches (Cabana Beach, Mambo Beach, etc) are about 15 minutes away and cost $3 US for entry plus another $3 for a beach chair.

Also:
- eat at the food hut close to the bus station if you can. They make great, cheap local dishes! The lemon water (not at all acid) was also a nice thirst quencher.
- a small grocery sits across the street from the food hut.
- have a shake at one of the Batido shake trucks (had a great watermelon shake there - have it with milk). TASTE your shake before you leave though. Once I was given the wrong shake.

Room Tip: Loved my room facing the main patio. If people are a little loud while eating breakfast in the morning, you might hear them if you're a light sleeper but otherwise it's beautiful. They're usually ok. Guests can also use the microwave, sandwich maker or kettle in the hotel's main kitchen. A great bonus.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kia_DP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Across from the floating market, on the edge of Scharloo/Waaigat, we stayed at this lovely little hotel. It has a small number of very comfortable rooms surrouding a small inner garden with flowers, trees and a small pool for relaxation.
All main attractions are within walking distance and after a night on the town this hotel is an oasis of silence.

Room Tip: Any room is good, if it doesn't have a balcony it has a small terrace outside.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MargotMAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Great location and frendly staff. Rooms are clean and bathroom is with warm shower.
5min walk and you reach New Market where you can eat breakfast less than 3$, pancake and coffee. If staff arrenge barbeque dinner at hotel, you should go there. At 25$ you can eat and drink as much you like.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VilleVantaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Hotel Scharloo is full of character and a very nice place to stay, right in the heart of town and with in easy walking distance of everything. The room we had was clean and spacious and overlooked the pool area. Ine and the staff were friendly and very helpful and we had no complaints about anything.

It was our first time in Curacao and we enjoyed our stay. The best place to eat is The Old Market where you can eat local food at cheap prices and it's only half a mile from the hotel but it is not open in the evenings. Take the bus from the bus station (next to the old market) to the local beaches but get off at the Aquarium because you can enter the beaches for free at that end. Cabana Beach and Mambo Beach are lovely and the Aquarium right next door is worth a visit.

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the pool area where you will have a veranda and a view
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank islandhiphopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews