We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boca Gentil Villas & Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Boca Gentil Villas & Apartments
Heerhugowaard, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

We were staying in S09, seapelican villa and it has been amazing. The villa is direct on the coastline and the view is just amazing. The villa itself has a master bedroom with private bathroom, a second bedroom with a private bedroom and two bedrooms which are seperated by a half bathroom. The livingroom is spacious and the tv has some nice channels.
The kitchen is practical and has all needed utilities. The open bar which looks out to the terrace is amazing.

Since you tend to live outside a lot in Curacao the outdoor space is huge. The porch and the infinitypool are amazing and the sun is shining all day and the water is beautiful.
We had the luck to see some wildlife during our stay. We had the luck of seeing a school of dolphins and also a flock of Flamengo's flying by. There is no direct beach access but within 3 minutes walking you find the famous Papagayo Beach hotel and multiple beach resorts which are free accessable with your resort key.

Also within walkingdistance you can find a small supermarket and if you have rented a car, which I would absolutely recommend, you can visit larger supermarkets within a 10 minute drive.

The villa's are expensive, but I have to say that It is worth the money.
We will most certainly come back to this area of Curacao.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vincent O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    7
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Neptune Beach Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

We spent one week in Villa Blue Lagoon in the Boca Gentil resort area. The home is not on the water but it is elevated to provide beautiful views of the water and the sunset from all of the outdoor living spaces and the infinity pool. It is just a 2 minute walk to the Papagayo and Chogogo resort areas. There is free access to these beaches for staying in the Boca Gentil resort. Grocery store is a 2 minute walk as well. In the hotel areas there are many restaurants although a bit pricey. It is a short drive to Willemstad. I wish there was a way to write a review for Monique the property manager. She is fantastic. She picked us up at the airport. She arranged rental car at the house when we arrived. She had fresh cut flowers in the house. She is awesome.
It is an expensive area so rental prices are high

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thebutcherclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

We rented an apartment there for one Month, ending up spending € 6.500,- rent, plus a deposit.
We had no working coffee machine in the kitchen, no toaster, not enough towels for the beach and the bathroom, so I ended up washing towels everyday, not enough glasses nor dinner plates
(4 of each for a family of 3) no extra sheets, so you would have to wash them wary in the day and hope that it would dry in time. Our bedroom had BLACK sheets and purple walls, that attrackted a lot of mosquito. When we arrived there was no hot water in the entire apartment, they repaired this the next day, there was a safety deposit box but it couldn't be used because the lock was broken, there was an alarm system but we were told we couldn't use it because the rental company didn't know how it worked. The lighting in every room was very poor, there was no place you could sit and read a book at night. We were eaten by mosquito every night, because no one had sprayed the garden nor under the terrace as we have seen people doing at various hotels at that time.
Electricity and water had to be paid extra after our stay.
There was no parasol or another place to sit in the shade on the porch nor was there shade or a parasol at the pool.
Security was very efficient and friendly. There was someone driving around in a car the whole night from a security firm.
There are several agencies offering these apartments, there are several blocks and they have all different owners so you might get lucky and get a better deal. We were in Sunrise 6.
Also I heard that first floor apartments have less mosquitos than ground floor apartments.

Room Tip: Check out several agencies offering these apartments since prices and furniture and decoration may v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CAMuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

We lived on Curacao for several years and I was born there so we are pretty much locals.

We usually stay at the Avila Beach Resort, but due to the pricey season and the length of our stay we decided to rent an apartment this time. To be fair, we had a great time, but this was not due to the apartment. The walls are all types of colours and combinations, the dark purple wall, black polyester sheets, black bed and dark floor make the master bedroom a Walhalla for mosquitoes! (and not just any, but the kind that are known for carrying Dengue fever!) NOTHING helped! No amount of Deet spray, insecticide, deet candles and mosquito coils helped! The dark furniture couldn't be used because every time you sat down you'd be eaten alive! Same problem on the porch. MANAGEMENT OR OWNERS must urgently do something against the mosquito problem!!!

Added to that, we were told that we weren't allowed to use the alarm system (it turned out it didnt work), the safe was broken, both are a MUST in Curacao, we didn' t have any hot water the first day, there weren't enough towels, dishes or other tableware. And the funny smell turned out to be two dead lizards in the spare bedroom, one which was half eaten and covered by maggots and the other which was already mummified! The stove didn't work properly and the pans were disgusting and though there was a private pool, staying there after 12pm was unbearable due to there being no parasols to provide shade and you cant move the sunbeds, these are bolted to the deck.

We paid €6'500 rent for a 4 week stay, we didn't even have a toaster or a functioning coffee machine!

The beach is nice, but is FAR too small to be shared by Papagayo, Boca Gentil, Morena, Chogogo and Livingstone together.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Asagineechan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We booked a Boca Gentil villa in September of 2012 for our January vacation. One week before our trip we were notified that they had double booked and the apartment was no longer available. Instead they put us in a larger unit with a private pool, however it was not directly on the beach, but a 5 min walk away.

The unit did have a private pool, which was gorgeous and comparing to the photos we had seen did seem larger, however it was a 15min walk to the beach - too far for my inlaws to walk, so we had to drive. This unit was also not as kept up as the photos of the unit we booked. The biggest disadvantage was that it was right next to a construction site, which was not noisy, but it stirred up the mosquito's and the house had no screens!! Only wood louver windows which did not keep them out and we got eaten alive!!

My advice is this if you want to book with Boca Gentil: Do not expect to be staying in the unit you booked ( I do think they double booked on purpose) do not expect to be on or right beside the beach (not that it was really too far, but not what we had booked) and BRING MOSQUITO NETTING!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ReneesReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehorse, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I just returned from a wonderful vacation, rented one of the ground level condos of the Bayside group. 3 minute walk to the well stocked grocery store. Amazing beach side grills. Bus stop nearby to go to Punda (Willemstad). First time getting a condo, usually stay in all inclusives. WOW. beautiful location. I'm back a day, and already looking at airfare to return. We had some early morning dog barking across the road, but overall never saw or heard our neighbours. Great place to relax.Thank you to Sandra J for answering all my questions, and Cor V, for leaving me his card for any emergency. Felt very safe

Room Tip: open the doors and windows when you arrive and get the stale air out, after that the place is amazin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Ponsioen_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at Sunrise, its a part of the complex and shares a pool with 3 other appartments. The facility is the finest weve seen at Curacao, very clean and modern with a lovely grochery store and fitness facilities. The walk to the beach is reasonable and the beach itself while not the finest has sand and surf and a great dive shop. The restaurants were good but fairly pricey 25-35 pp.

The only knock we had was the rental company curacaoxl had a limit of 1 toilet paper roll and 2 garbage bags for our week, didnt do any midweek visit/clean and the landlord left us a phone number but there werent any phones! the mosquitos were pretty bad but they had netting for the beds....

All in all though a great week, we finished our 2 week holiday up island to explore the western sections, which was a good idea.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank holtzfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Willemstad
0.2 mi away
Papagayo Beach Resort
Papagayo Beach Resort
#16 of 31 in Willemstad
4.0 of 5 stars 262 reviews
1.7 mi away
Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort
3.6 mi away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#4 of 31 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 stars 508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Papagayo Beach Hotel
Papagayo Beach Hotel
#17 of 31 in Willemstad
4.0 of 5 stars 199 reviews
2.1 mi away
Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao
0.4 mi away
Livingstone Jan Thiel Resort
Livingstone Jan Thiel Resort
#5 of 89 in Willemstad
4.0 of 5 stars 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boca Gentil Villas & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boca Gentil Villas & Apartments

Property: Boca Gentil Villas & Apartments
Address: Jan Thiel z/n, Willemstad, Curacao
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 89 Specialty Lodging in Willemstad
Hotel Class:3 star — Boca Gentil Villas & Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Boca Gentil Villas & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boca Gentil Villas & Apartments Hotel Willemstad
Boca Gentil Villas And Apartments
Boca Gentil Villas & Apartments Curacao/Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing