We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (383)
Filter reviews
383 results
Traveler rating
193
105
43
21
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
193
105
43
21
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews walking distance split level nice studio tourist attractions are dipping pool bars and restaurants shower and toilet daily maid service watching tv small pool soap and shampoo emma bridge air conditioning late check sitting area safe area cable tv
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 383 reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2019

This is a fabulous beachfront location, a nicely appointed apartment, close to the downtown area, local restaurants and with a lovely swimming pool as well. We very much enjoyed our stay here. With a daily cleaning service we were very well looked after.

Date of stay: February 2019
Thank katemccombie_5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen M, General Manager at Pietermaai Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2019

Hi Kate,
Awesome review! We are more than pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
Hopefully, we can welcome you again in the future for your next visit!
Kind regards,
Team Pietermaai Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2019

We spent one week in one of the apartments across the street from the main hotel building. Check in was a breeze and staff were very friendly and responsive. The place was everything we could wish for: breathtaking views of the ocean, spotless clean and well equiped with everything we needed for our stay and more, including secure parking, daily maid service and beach towels. Bedrooms were spacious, had king size beds with comfy mattresses and air conditioning. Kitchen was fully equiped and had high end appliances that worked perfectly. The only thing missing was a corkscrew.
The overall decor was extremely well chosen to put one in an island relaxation mood right away. We really enjoyed our stay in Pietermaai and would definitely reccommend this place as a home base to explore the island.

Room tip: For best sunset views choose an oceanfront apartment/room.
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel2ins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen M, General Manager at Pietermaai Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2019

Wauw, this is something we want to hear! What a beautiful description. We get the same feeling you must have had during your stay. Let us know when your next visit will be! We would love to host you again.
Kind regards,
Team Pietermaai Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2019

We booked this “4star Boutique hotel” from the nice photos and the location.
We had make a reservation for a Pietermaaiweg Split-Level Suite.
Let me start by saying that fancy is not what we would look for in a hotel..clean is a must!
We arrived at the hotel at 21.00 as we had inform them through booking.com ..since the check in was until 22.00...the reception “front desk” was closed and an amazing lady guest of the hotel.. who helping us to call the manager of the hotel...informed us ..that every day the front desk is close after 20.00 ..also the hotel manager write the same at many answer reviews in TripAdvisor..
As we was waiting for somebody of the hotel coming for our check in ..the amazing hotel guest lady had already inform us that the hotel has small apartments all over in this area.
After an hour ...a nice lady from the hotel staff had arrived to show us the room.
The room was two blocks away from the hotel on a dark and riskiness road..and the big surprise was the room...
The smell of the bathroom was unbearable in all over the apartment...plus
..the moisture of the walls...the noise from the next bars ..since the windows have no glass or screens and not fully shut..
As you can read in many reviews they use as an excuse “that the shutters is something we can change,because we are part of the UNESCO””
How it comes some of the “hotel “rooms to have window glass and some not?..
Does the horrible smell of the bathroom..the muddy walls..the dirty and neglected room ...has to do with the rules of the UNESCO.?.
We had asked for a cleanest room..the lady of the hotel staff was telling us ...”that is your reservation room...I can conduct your position but I cannot do something else..”
We left from the room after few hours..of course they are so unprofessional..they have never asked for our passports for the check in...and we have never get a receipt..even by e-mail 12days after....

Room tip: Don’t spend your holidays in this “HOTEL”
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Agapi1237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen M, General Manager at Pietermaai Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2019

Dear guest,
How unfortunate that you had such a negative experience with us. We would like to clarify some of your mentioned problems.
First of all, we are sorry for the inconvenience regarding the check-in procedure. As it is well known that the reception closes at 08.00 PM, we will investigate the problem to figure out what went wrong.
We are glad to hear that our staff helped you properly to check-in, which hopefully, made it more bearable after all.
Moreover, the smell in the bathroom is of course not how it should be. Did you mention the problem to our staff? We will let our housekeeping and maintenance department have a look at the issue.
Furthermore, we are sorry to hear that you experienced a lot of noise from the area during your stay. The Pietermaai District is a lively neighbourhood with a lot of bars and restaurant. There is not that much we can do about that since we are located in the centre of the city. More quiet areas are up to the east or west side of the island.
Besides that, we are busy with approvals to get windows in the rooms. Unfortunately, as you mention already, it is not that easy to just implement them. Some of the rooms have windows, as these were in when we started the hotel.
Finally, we do not ask for passports during check-in, due to privacy reasons. Have you received the invoice already? We would be more than happy to send this to you.
We hope you saw some beautiful treasures on the island and we would like to thank you for choosing to stay with us.
Kind regards,
Team Pietermaai Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2019

The hotel is small but lovely. The staff are wonderful. Here you are not a "room number" but an important guest. The hotel is very centrally located to a lot of restaurants and bars. There is a tiny city beach, but there are buses that will take you to the bigger and more well known beaches. Just walk over to the bus terminal near the water. The tiny buses take you. The taxi will be about 27 gilers!! the bus is only 3 gilders...I highly recommend. Just a fair warning though, alot of the tourist I spoke with found their credit cards did not work at the ATM's. Mine didn't work on the entire island including restaurants or merchants!! So, bring emergency cash just in case.

Room tip: The rooms to the back can be a bit noisy at night and early morning. I didn't find I needed the airconditioner though. Nice breeze.
Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taskew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen M, General Manager at Pietermaai Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2019

What an amazing review, we are more than pleased that you had such a wonderful experience with us. We will definitely share your comments with the team, as it will turn a smile on their face. Let us know when you will be returning to the island and we will make sure that you have another memorable time!
Kind regards,
Team Pietermaai Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2019

Pietermaai Boutique Hotel served its purpose for our week long stay. Overall, the room was very clean and comfortable with nice furniture and a small kitchenette. The staff were friendly and were quick to respond to email inquiries. The location is great as there are numerous bars, coffee shops and restaurants within a few blocks.

It should be noted that if you stay in a room near the main drag, it can be very noisy until about 2am on weekend nights, as nearby bars play loud music. Our small AC unit worked, but the room was still very hot during the day. We also had some very steep stairs in our unit, so if that would be an issue for you should definitely request a room without those.

But overall, the room was a good deal for the price and I would recommend it for those looking for a simple hotel.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Venture813007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen M, General Manager at Pietermaai Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2019

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay!
We are more than pleased to read that you have enjoyed the room and your stay.
You are absolutely right, that for some people the stairs might be an issue. Luckily, as you mentioned already - there are other rooms available without those stairs.
We are sorry that you had some noise disruption of the nearby bars, we hope it did not affect your stay in a negative way.
Thank you for your recommendation and if you are planning a second trip, you know how to find us!
Kind regards,
Team Pietermaai Boutique Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews