We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central and good service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pietermaai Boutique Hotel
Ranked #13 of 32 Hotels in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Central and good service”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

If you don't want to spend your time in a resort, but like to walk around, have a stroll in Otrabanda, shop, have awa limunchi at the terraces, visit some musea AND in walking distance of the best restaurants near the sea or harbour: it's just the place to be! If you want to see something of the island you can rent a car or book an excursion, they always have pick-up services. The appartments are great, the service is the best. In the afternoon you can enjoy happy hour, later dinner at Mundo Bizarro or Ginger (or go into town) and in the evening they always have some activities like a Tango-evening or Cuban Night, or next door to Jazzclub Miles: never al dull moment!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mada_999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilfred H, General Manager at Pietermaai Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for your honest and very positive review ! We are glad you enjoyed our Apartments so much and especially like the fact that you enjoyed the surroundings so too. We hope to see you again soon in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    65
    23
    11
    9
See reviews for
14
118
42
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Algonquin Highlands, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Stayed here for 10 days over Christmas and New Years and we had a fantastic time. The room we had was 2 levels with a kitchen and shower. A back door lead out to patio in a tropical garden area with chairs and a small pool. We spent many evenings here and it was very relaxing. The staff were very helpful in assisting us to track down lost luggage from the airline. They went well out of their way to make our as enjoyable as possible. I would definitely return in the future and highly recommend it to anyone wanting a quiet place within walking distance to the shopping district in Willemstad.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pemmink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilfred H, Owner at Pietermaai Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Hi,

Thank you for reviewing our apartments! We're glad you enjoyed your stay so much, and got your lost luggage back. We hope to see you again soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willemstad, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights with my family, we had the best time ! In the day we relaxed in the oase-like garden and went around exploring the surroundings and the nearby beach. In the evening we visited the bars in the pietermaaistraat, which had great Cuban music and Jazz. The apartments were very stylish and well maintained. I'd widely recommend staying there !

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Pietermaai Smal Apartments offers the traveller an all-in-one experience. Guests enjoy a spacious two-floor loft complete with latest furnishings and updated bathroom and access to two delightful, private pools and lounge areas, a great nearby cafe and night-time jazz bar, all steps from the cities great sightseeing and shopping excursions. Emile, the Manager of the complex is helpful and personable. The complex is still a work in progress, so now is the time to take advantage of low rates as the neighbourhood develops.

Room Tip: Bring shampoo, soap and books - there's no TV or small extras as this is an apartment not a hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jules276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilfred99, Guest Relations Manager at Pietermaai Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Thank you for your review ! Great to hear you had a unique experience and appreciated the apartments & the surroundings. We'll notice Emile about your compliments!

We of course hope to see you again soon!

The Pietermaai Apartments management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oranjestad, Aruba
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

i stayed there 3 nights last week and really enjoyed it. specially the fact that it is located in a residential area, walking distance from down town Willemstad and some really nice restaurants closeby (ginger, mundo bizarro etc.). More than enough parking space.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wonders-Aruba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilfred H, General Manager at Pietermaai Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for your honest and very positive review ! We are glad you enjoyed our Apartments so much and especially like the fact that you enjoyed the surroundings so too. We hope to see you again soon in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We enjoyed our stay. There was noise from the building area next door, which was a bit annoying at times.

Our apartment was spacious and well equipped. We cooked at 'home' almost several times, which was a good option. The pool is small but enjoyable, and great for cooling down every now and then.

We were able to park at the street near Mundo Bizarro, which was close to our apartment.

We enjoyed our stay very much, and will definitely return in the future.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diek v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilfred H, General Manager at Pietermaai Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
Hello Diek,

Thank you for your review, and great to hear you enjoyed your stay!
We sincerely apologize for the noise during the day, coming from the construction works sometimes. A lot of the District's monuments are completely renovated so expect your possible future-stay to be even better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

We booked this place because it seems quaint, affordable and not far from the main part of town. We also planned to cook rather than eat out most meals. We were very disappointed. When we arrived, the front desk clerk was very friendly but when she showed us our room, she said she could provide a mosquito net if needed. If she thought we'd need one, why did she have to ask? Who wants to be bitten? And from where would she hang it? She also pointed out the ocean view. True, except you had to look through the construction fencing and rubble to see it. Of the 8 slatted windows, 3 of them did not close properly. We rigged a kitchen knife to one to keep it shut against the majority of bugs. There was no microwave or oven, only 2 burners, therefore, limited cooking. There was no hot water in the sink in the kitchenette area or in the bathroom sink. When I asked how other guests washed the dishes, it was suggested that they must've heated water on the burners. Let's hope so. Dishes washed in cold water cannot be as clean as those washed in hot water.
The space in the bathroom was extremely limited, approximately 18 inches between the shower stall and sink. I knocked my arm every time I entered that area. And, because this was an attic style room, the ceiling was slanted such that I had to bend my head to climb into bed. Same problems with the toilet area in the bathroom.
The area in which this place is situated is "up and coming". Meaning that it could be a bit unsafe for single women at night if you walked in the wrong direction and, because there is no parking provided, you have to hope for the best when looking to park and hope that it is not too far to walk.
There ARE positives. Many of the rooms have lovely albeit tiny terrace areas. Not our room. The staff did try to help and offered us another room. At least this one had glass over the windows; again, no terrace area. We were also given a welcome drink which was nice. However, the reception is not manned at all times although there is a contact number for emergencies assuming you have phone service.
The building is charming but, for the price, it needs some changes to accommodate guests requiring an area to cook, hot water and room to move.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wegobeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Willemstad hotels
0.2 mi away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#2 of 32 in Willemstad
622 reviews
0.1 mi away
BijBlauw
BijBlauw
#3 of 32 in Willemstad
339 reviews
2.8 mi away
Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort
0.7 mi away
Curacao Suites Hotel
Curacao Suites Hotel
#8 of 32 in Willemstad
161 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hilton Curacao
Hilton Curacao
#15 of 32 in Willemstad
1,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pietermaai Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pietermaai Boutique Hotel

Property: Pietermaai Boutique Hotel
Address: Pietermaai 51, Willemstad 000, Curacao (Formerly Pietermaai Apartments)
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pietermaai Boutique Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pietermaai District, once the area of the Curacao well-to-do, has untaken a huge make-over after a long period of neglect and abatement. However, the last 2 years Pietermaai District is working hard to be the new 'Quartier Latin' of Curacao.The colorful Pietermaai Apartments are located in the historical neighborhood of Pietermaai District in Willemstad. The apartments are divided from the sea by a narrow road. The center of Willemstad is only 500 meters away. Just like the neighborhoods Punda, Otrabanda, several clubs, shops, restaurants and cinema's. The well-known Cabana Beach is 4 km. Away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Pietermaai Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pietermaai Smal Apartments Hotel Willemstad
Pietermaai Boutique Hotel Curacao/Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing