We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Rice Table” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tempo Doeloe - CLOSED

Tempo Doeloe
Price range: $5 - $37
Cuisines: Asian, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: It's located in the Netherlands Antilles, on the island of Curacao (just to the right of Aruba). Please add this country !
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Rice Table”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Even the small rice table (13 dishes) is huge. The dishes are varied and delicious. In addition to the 13 dishes, diners are served three types of chips with dips, soup and rice. Choose this restaurant on a night you've got an appetite.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jacquelyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    62
    32
    24
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
192 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A Treat for a Cruise Visitor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stopped at the Island on a Cruise and wanted an authentic dining experience. Fortunately, we got together with a local resident who we had done a cooking tour with on a previous visit. She took us to Tempo Doloe to experience the rice table. The restaurant is at a high spot allowing cool breezes to flow through the open air setting and affording wondeful views of the surrounding area..

We discovered that they have a lunch buffet and were able to sample over 10 dishes via the buffet after a very filling soup. Since my wife does not enjoy overly spicy dishes, the chef came out and explained each dish to us. After a bowl of soup and several trips to the buffet we were stuffed and content. We will definitely go back when we return to Curacao.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bucskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Must Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

We had dinner at Templo Doeloe. It is a short walk from the Marriott and Hilton.

The location is fantastic, We sat outside and enjoyed the ocean and beautiful sunset. We were the only one's at the restaurant. Multiple staff members stopped by to chat. Millie, our waitress was great.

The food was amazing. We tried the mini rice table and two other dishes.

A must visit if you are staying at the Hilton or Marriot.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank firesan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great restaurant!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

We went to this restaurant twice during our stay in Curacao..it was close to our hotel. The rice table was a fantastic meal! The staff were friendly and generally attentive! The senery and atmosphere were very nice!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bwklei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellin, Colombia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Nope that's not Italian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

'Tempo Doeloe' is Indonesian (Malay) meaning 'the time of the past' or shorter: 'the old days'. But trust me when I say that in the here and now you can eat very good Indonesian food. Take the rice table (rijsttafel) and enjoy the different snacks in a pleasant atmosphere. Highly recommended if you do not know the kitchen (what is possible if you are an American or Colombian or Venezuelan) and a good vehicle to fight the nostalgia for Indonesian food if you're Dutch.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank DrTripgourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tempo Doeloe also viewed

 
Willemstad, Curacao
Willemstad, Curacao
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing