We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great meal and atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tempo Doeloe - CLOSED

Tempo Doeloe
Price range: $5 - $37
Cuisines: Asian, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: It's located in the Netherlands Antilles, on the island of Curacao (just to the right of Aruba). Please add this country !
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great meal and atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Great view, great food and atmosphere. The downside is the service, but I guess this is the norm in this island - slow, slow service. I thought it was worth it!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Debisday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    62
    32
    24
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hershey, PA
Level Contributor
84 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Best Meal Of Our Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2013

This restaurant was a recommendation from our hotel's front desk (Renaissance Hotel). We met with friends who were staying at the Marriott hotel, which is within walking distance to this restaurant. We all had the "rice table", which was an opportunity to taste many different dishes and was absolutely amazing. We opted for the 13 dishes version instead of the 17 and the five of us were stuffed by the end. One of us accidentally broke a glass while turning the center rotating table and the waitress immediately cleaned it up and brought us a replacement drink, amazing! Drinks were very good overall but the mojito was a little too sour. Highly recommended.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lamb0176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“very interesting but bring bug spray”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

This is an open air restaurant and unfortunately we didn't remember our bug spray. One of the hostesses was kind enough to give us some! Food is interesting and we wanted to try it because we had never had indonesian food. We did not get the "rice table" but the family next to us did and it looked amazing. I had the duck and it was very good. Great views overlooking the hotels/beaches below.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank jess_jared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Best service and food!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Marriott, which is less than a mile away. We loved the food, service, and drinks. We had the buffet, which was unbelievably good. The service was excellent! Having never eaten Indonesian food, we were confused as to what it was, and they explained everything very well. Make sure to ask to sit outside, the view is absolutely unbelievable. When we asked the owner to call us a cab to take us back to the hotel (we had been advised not to walk at night), he refused and drove us himself! It is a wonderful experience, and I recommend it to anyone!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jordan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
115 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“great presentation, interesting food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

I loved the idea of having the opportunity to taste a bit of everything! really a feast for my taste buds!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CPetri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tempo Doeloe also viewed

 
Willemstad, Curacao
Willemstad, Curacao
 
Willemstad, Curacao
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing