We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Pretty good place for the money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 't Klooster

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel 't Klooster
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
Winter Park, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Pretty good place for the money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

This little hotel is well located, about a kilometer from the flooating bridge in downtown Willemstad.
The price was good, the staff VERY VERY attentive, when everything was closed late night, i wanted to eat cereal and they went out of their way to provide us milk and cereal. They have an excellent staff. The place is clean, has hot shower. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: any room would b good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank willco c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    76
    19
    7
    4
See reviews for
10
91
31
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We got a really good price and stayed at this hotel for a few days - very good choice. The hotel is clean, the staff is friendly and the price is a lot better than other hotels in the area. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 4Excellence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
118 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

This hotel is located just off the city center of Willemstad. The hotel is a former monastery and has a very peaceful inner courtyard around which the rooms are situated. The rooms are neat and clean, and they are comfortable. I had no complaints about anything, although the pool is really small. What I found was that I loved really relaxing in the yard and taking a quick dip. I did not have breakfast or dinner there. The bar though is very nice and is located in the former chapel. All in all a place I recommend to people going to visit Curacao.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip-Beekman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradera, null, Aruba
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Nice and Cozy..love it, great ambiance. Grand cafe Augustines was nice and life music, she was awesome. Food is good. The place is very clean and relaxing. Love the rooms and is located very central. Breakfast was good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hairo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

The building is a beautiful combination of old and new. The restyling is brilliant. I loved the old floor and I could feel the building's history.
However the suite wasn't very comfortable. It was dark, humid and not easy to breathe. And mosquitos came through the wooden windows.
The staff was very casual, in my opinion a bit too loose. It was not easy to find staff in the evening. Fortunately the security guard Mr. Bob made up for it.
For a short stay it was OK.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sofia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimini, Italy
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We were there for our 2012 Christmas holidays.
First: we arrived late in the evening from a very long intercontinental flight and were barely greeted by the young lady at the reception. We had paid a deposit before arriving in Curaçao and were asked to settle the full total even before getting to see the room (BIG mistake).
Upon arrival in the bedroom, we immediately realised it was filthy, however we were just too devastated from the journey to do anything but collapse on the bed and fall asleep. The following morning I reported the problem to another young lady at the reception, who would not believe me and looked down on us as if we were just two troublemakers who always have to complain about something. I therefore invited her to visit the room, and when shown the bunches of hair on the floor, the wooly dust balls, the fingerprints on the taps, etc., even she had to admit it was not ok, especially for the outrageous price they were charging us. She said she would make sure the bedroom was thoroughly cleaned that day.
We went to the beach, came back at around 2 pm and found the bedroom had been somewhat cleaned, but there were still bunches of hair in the wardrobe. Since I saw the cleaning lady in the nextdoor room, I asked her directly if she could please clean there as well. She picked up the hair with her barren hands and seemed puzzled that I minded that sort of things.
Well, we said, we're only staying here for a few days, let's make do and not spoil our holidays, even though for the price we are paying, this sort of (bad) service and (lack of) cleanliness are a rip-off. It was Christmas, and we all feel better persons that time of the year. Then...
I admit this is not the hotel's fault, but it contributed to a nightmarish experience. During the night between Christmas Eve and Christmas Day, at 3.00 am (that's in the middle of the night, just in case you missed the detail) we started hearing very loud noises of an organ playing, mikes being tested, singers warming up, furniture being moved around. They were getting ready for the Christmas function, which ran from 5 am to 7.30 am, plus all the greetings outside on the yard. We happened to be in room 18, facing directly the side of the church, and the hotel has no glass windows you can close to reduce the noise, only the wooden shades you cannot really ever totally close. So, it felt like mass was being celebrated in our bed and of course we could not get any sleep at all from 3 onwards.
Then, as we were packing our stuff, ready to leave for the northern part of the island... the cherry on top of the cake: we found a pair of used, worn and dirty knickers in one of the upper shelves of the wardrobe. I have photos, go look for yourselves. So much for the thorough cleaning!!!
Also, I saw more than one pen marks on the bed sheet, I just hope whatever washing programme they used at least killed any germs.
For all of the above-listed reasons, my warm recommendation is to avoid this place if you can.

Room Tip: Dirty rooms, noisy surrounding, unfriendly staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Claudia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We spent a week at the Klooster in the middle of March.
We choosed this Hotel by chance, just having a look at the price and some reviews.
It was a good choice: the Hotel is quite new, very clean, comfortable and in a good position.

The prices in Curacao are quite high, but this was reasonable.

Didn't have meals there, because we preferred to have a look at different places.
But their restaurant, menu and prices looked good.

We would suggest this hotel and book it again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank R C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Willemstad hotels
0.3 mi away
The Ritz Village Hotel
The Ritz Village Hotel
#15 of 31 in Willemstad
4.0 of 5 stars 268 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#4 of 31 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 stars 507 reviews
0.1 mi away
BijBlauw
BijBlauw
#3 of 31 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 stars 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club
0.2 mi away
Pietermaai Boutique Hotel
Pietermaai Boutique Hotel
#20 of 31 in Willemstad
4.0 of 5 stars 157 reviews
2.0 mi away
Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 't Klooster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 't Klooster

Property: Hotel 't Klooster
Address: A. de Veerstraat 12, Willemstad 00000, Curacao
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 31 Hotels in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 't Klooster 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel 't Klooster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 't Klooster Curacao/Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing