We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient, comfortable and with staff which go that extra mile!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Boutique Hotel 't Klooster
Ranked #17 of 32 Hotels in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
Vomo Island, Fiji
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Convenient, comfortable and with staff which go that extra mile!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

After having our first choice hotel unable to accommodate us we had to make a last minute change and choose between two hotels....we decided on T'Klooster due its fairly decent reviews and location. We headed to Curacao with few expectations but wanted to be within walking distance from where all the action happens. T'Klooster provided our exact requirements being only a 5 minute walk from all the cafes, shops, Pontoon bridge etc. On arrival we were welcomed by the receptionist who sat us down in the garden along with a cocktail while she confirmed our reservation before showing us the room. This was small but comfortable with high ceilings which gave us a a sense of having more space. The room was equiped with a small quite air conditioning unit, tv, radio alarm and easily enough storage for two people. There was a small kitchenette with a kettle and a fridge with a useful storage unit which is useful if bringing any food back to the room. Strangely we had the choice of two showers, one indoor and one outdoor, this was convenient as it allowed us somewhere to dry our swimsuits. The hotel has a typical caribbean architecture with a nice modern touch. The garden area doubles up as a nice chill out area where you can enjoy your drinks or meals or soak up the sun beside the small pool on the loungers or the hammocks provided. Located within the hotel is the Grand Cafe Augustinus, a converted Chapel, now bar/restaurant. We had the pleasure of eating there and the food was really superb matched by the service of the staff. This is somewhere we would definately stay again due to the great treatment we recieved from all the staff we encountered. A special thanks to Robbie who literally went that extra mile for us!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 24Sabrina78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    87
    21
    10
    4
See reviews for
12
108
34
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
164 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

The hotel is a landmark itself. It has been converted from a kloister into a hotel and they left many details of the older era. We had a deluxe room which had still most of the original tile left. The bar used to be the chapl, I believe. The highlight is the bautiful garden with both a sitting area and a pool area. They have all kinds of plants which really gives it a tropical feel. There are mosquitos, but they provide free mosquito spray. One of the two reason I do not give this hotel five starts is the breakfast. For what they offer it is definitely overpriced. The other reason would be the location. It is a little far from the city and beaches. The staff is very very friendly and helpful. My husband and I got very sick during our trip and they called a doctor for us to come to the hotel. The chef would even cook us vegetable soup - just for us - although this was not on the menu at all! Even though we were really sick, I can tell you that this soup was delicicous! Again, I can only repeat how friendly and helpful everyone is and how relaxing the atmosphere in the garden area is. This hotel is a great alternative to the pricier ones in the city and definitely worth it to check it out!

Room Tip: Go deluxe!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Danella23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trogir, Croatia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. What was really annoying that room walls are paper thin and we heard sounds all night. Towels were old and looked dirty, they should have been replaced a long time ago. First evening we had a good dinner and service by a young fellow at their restaurant, but the disappointment came in the morning with the 15 USD p.p. breakfast. They had a poor selection of food and we couldn't even have a cup of tea as the water both days was totally cold. There were eggs and pancakes to order, but the second day our order was even REFUSED by the lady serving breakfast (probably she didn't feel like working?!). For this price or a lot cheaper you can get a better breakfast anywhere downtown and this we realized on our last day.
There is a school right next to the hotel, that means on weekdays you will be woken up every morning at 7:15 am by the school bell and the screaming kids.
Additionally, there were some construction works in the hotel during our stay, we heard the noisy workers on the roof and even seen them watching into our room that was quite uncomfortable.
Overall, the location of this hotel is good (10-15 minutes walk to downtown), they have a very nice garden and patio, and we give a big plus to the ladies at the front desk who were always helpful and well-informed.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Utazonagykovet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2011

I did quite a bit of research when choosing where to stay on Curacao before choosing this hotel. I thought the downtown location and the former purpose of the building looked pretty cool, and I really wanted to like it. I agree that after having seen it in person, the location is kind of weird. We had a rental car, so it wasn't a problem, but it's in a commercial area by a school and other businesses. We could hear traffic going by our room all night long, every night. I didn't see anything in the neighborhood we would want to walk to.

The service from the management was really what left me underwhelmed. I'm not sure if it was just the nature of the place (maybe people there aren't as warm as they are in other Latin/Caribbean countries), but the management sitting in their air-conditioned office seemed less-than-eager to help. The other staff (the women working in the kitchen, the chef, the bartender, the night watchman) were all friendly and helpful, though. The restaurant was excellent,and the chef was very flexible in dealing with dietary restrictions.

When my friend arrived a few hours before I did, she was checked in and saw that the price they quoted her was more expensive than what we'd received in our email reservation. We got that straightened out the next morning, but when she had checked in, they didn't really show her the room--we had no idea until the 2nd night that we had another little bedroom behind a locked door.

The way the bathroom shower is made, water was always left standing when you were done using it. And then when you closed the bathroom door, the towels didn't dry (no AC in bathroom) because of the humidity. I'm not sure why, but they didn't empty the trash while we were there.

I liked the garden area with the comfortable seats and beautiful tropical plants. Make sure you use insect repellent, though.

By the way, it was much muggier in that downtown area than where we stayed on the beach.

Room Tip: Not sure if there are rooms that don't face the street, but if there are, be sure to ask for one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Brasilicana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

It's a renovated abby a very long way from anywhere you would care to walk through a not so attractive neighborhood. A street bum wandered into the outdoor patio where I was trying to have a drink and dinner begging for money. Rooms a pretty goth and kind of stale and grimey. You can to better for the price in Willemstad.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Derfy1357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Level Contributor
104 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

The hotel was a little challenging to find but I did find it. The best thing about the hotel is the restaurant. Yes pricey but the chef was very nice and cooked what we wanted. He cooked the seafood and it was heavenly!!!
If I had to do it again I wouldn't pay for breakfast because it is very expensive. It is convenient but it is the type of breakfast that you get at a Comfort Inn for free.
The first night we ended up sharing a bed because we didn't know there was a separate bedroom behind a locked door until we asked the next day about the cost of the room for what we were promised. The also wanted to charge us more than what was agreed so it is a good thing we had a copy of the email we sent them.
They don't have American adapters for electronics so make sure you have the round ones for Europe. There is free wireless, yeah. The neighborhood is transitioning so I wouldn't walk at night. You can also park on the street easily. Ask for a room away from the street because there is lots of traffic all times a night. The flowers on the property are really beautiful!
I was there for the jazz festival and the hotel has alot of information to help us navigate the event.
The last thing…mosquitoes are everywhere and I was bitten in the room many times. They do have bug spray.

I would stay again if I wanted to be in the town but I enjoyed the resorts better!

Room Tip: Away from the STREET!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank atina1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

Hotel Klooster is a very cute and quaint European style hotel. It is in a safe part of town about a 15 minute walk from the floating bridge and local shopping areas. We were there during a holiday,flag day, so many things were closed on the weekend. The hotel was very quiet, not a lot of guests in July, but it was a nice place to go and relax.

The rooms were small, perfect size, with a small tv. They were very clean and the AC worked great. It was quite relaxing. There are coffee pots in the room. Remember to bring an adapter and energy converter if you are coming from the US, as they have European outlets. We brought adapters but did not bring a converter.

The free WIFI was nice. They also had a breakfast in the morning, we did not eat there, but it looked plentiful. The staff there was amazing and very helpful. The interns were also great, kind and extremely helpful online and in person.

The pool is small, but nice to soak in on a hot afternoon.

I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank litabaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Willemstad hotels
0.1 mi away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#2 of 32 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
0.1 mi away
BijBlauw
BijBlauw
#3 of 32 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pietermaai Boutique Hotel
Pietermaai Boutique Hotel
#13 of 32 in Willemstad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Ritz Village Hotel
The Ritz Village Hotel
#18 of 32 in Willemstad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
2.9 mi away
Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club
0.9 mi away
Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel 't Klooster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel 't Klooster

Property: Boutique Hotel 't Klooster
Address: Abraham de Veerstraat 12 | Pietermaai, Willemstad 00000, Curacao
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 32 Hotels in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Boutique Hotel 't Klooster 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boutique Hotel 't Klooster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boutique Hotel 't Klooster Curacao/Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing