We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute and tranquil hotel in the middle of the city...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Boutique Hotel 't Klooster
Ranked #17 of 32 Hotels in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cute and tranquil hotel in the middle of the city...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

Hotel Klooster is a very cute and quaint European style hotel. It is in a safe part of town about a 15 minute walk from the floating bridge and local shopping areas. We were there during a holiday,flag day, so many things were closed on the weekend. The hotel was very quiet, not a lot of guests in July, but it was a nice place to go and relax.

The rooms were small, perfect size, with a small tv. They were very clean and the AC worked great. It was quite relaxing. There are coffee pots in the room. Remember to bring an adapter and energy converter if you are coming from the US, as they have European outlets. We brought adapters but did not bring a converter.

The free WIFI was nice. They also had a breakfast in the morning, we did not eat there, but it looked plentiful. The staff there was amazing and very helpful. The interns were also great, kind and extremely helpful online and in person.

The pool is small, but nice to soak in on a hot afternoon.

I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank litabaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    87
    21
    10
    4
See reviews for
12
108
34
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bonaire
Level Contributor
136 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2011

While visiting Curacao from neighboring island Bonaire for the Curacao North Sea Jazz festival (which was incredible, by the way!!) we looked for a small boutique hotel within walking of Willemstad. We found what we were looking for in "t Klooster" and more. How about being treated as a VIP-guest in a tastefully remodeled monastery? Former monastery chapel is now a stylish grand-cafe/restaurant, there is a secluded inner court yard with plunge pool and the rooms are perfect for a few days in the city.
We highly recommend "t Klooster" to friends & family

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MMBonaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2011

This is a really good place to stay if you're a diver - you can park your car for free on the street right outside the hotel (you will absolutely need a car on this island if you're shore diving), and our room had a private, secure outdoor shower where we could rinse the gear and hang it up to dry. It's very convenient to the main roads, so it's a good home base.

The rooms are clean and spartan (in a good way), but a bit snug. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom is clean, but is not air conditioned. So you won't be taking a leisurely shower....They have a fridge in the rooms, which turned out to be a lifesaver. Most of the restaurants on Curacao are expensive and profoundly awful. Really. Just the WORST. And we travel a lot in the Caribbean and weren't expecting anything particularly good! Anyway, after several days we gave up on eating out, bought stuff at the grocery store, kept it in the fridge, and made ourselves sandwiches. All that said, we didn't eat at the restaurant in the hotel (I understand the food is actually okay). And there is ONE good place to eat - the Indian restaurant in the Rif fort. The fort is the biggest tourist trap on the island, and the rest of the restaurants in the fort are the worst of the worst, but inexplicably, the Indian restaurant is just excellent. Give it a try - as a bonus, it has a great view of the ships coming into the port.

But I digress. The hotel courtyard is very nice and has a small cool-off pool. They serve drinks out there. It's verrrrry pleasant. They also serve breakfast out there. You can get a cooked breakfast, and they also have a little breakfast bar with some fruit and hard boiled eggs. Watch out, though - even if you just have a single egg off the bar, they charge you full price as if you'd had a full cooked breakfast. I had a $15 hard boiled egg before figuring that out.

The hotel is not on any beach, but Curacao's beaches are not great (the diving, on the other hand, is simply outstanding). That said, the Avila Hotel beach is within walking distance and is very pretty, despite being man-made. They serve good drinks there too!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VespaGirlNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2011

The hotel was in a good location, close to the city center and about 15 min and $30 taxi from the airport. ThE garden or courtyard of the hotel was nice and quiet. Aand the pool was cute but small. Overall the hotel was as expected.. Nothing grand . The bed was comfortable enough and had enough pillows and the ac worked perfectly, which u definitely need in that country. The shower was clean and had hot/cold water. The staff was awesome and helpful, especially Michael the chef. The kitchen was being repaired and they only offered buffet breakfast at $15 usd. OverAll I would definitely go to the hotel again if I rented a car and for some crazy reason I would ever go to Curacao again!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trinily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2011

Clean well maintained modern rooms surrounding a tropical courtyard with a small pool. When the front desk is "closed" the staff remain easily accessible, often hanging out in the hotel's restaurant/bar. The breakfast buffet is a bit over priced, but is convenient since there are few options for food in the area that early. They usually offer breads, hard boiled eggs, cheese, ham, fruit, cereal, yogurt, juice and coffee. FREE wireless internet.

It's 5 minute walking distance to Avila Beach, it looks private since it is located in a hotel, but is OPEN TO THE PUBLIC everyday but Sunday. It's also one block from the best restaurant on the island The Wine Cellar. It's also a quick walk to Pampus, a chill late-night waterfront bar. It's about a 10 minute to the Punda. Despite some other guest's warning, I never saw any "questionable" folks in the area, but a security guard watches over the front at night.

A cab from he airport cost $30US, but by day 3, we ended up renting a car from nearby Budget (also at the Avila Hotel). Parking in the area is easy.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The_Veg_Foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2011

Though this hotel is not on the beach but the personal touch by the young couple who own it makes it a hotel with human touch. Room is not big but clean and service and staff are very good. There is wireless internet available for a fee.

Location is such that a walk of 10 minutes will take you to downtown. If given a chance I would surely comeback and stay.Special thanks to Kim & Maarten whose personal touch makes this hotel worth staying.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Freemansailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2011

Nice, clean place, almost in the middle of town. Lovely garden! Good restaurant for lunch and dinner. Breakfast is served at the small table outside the room in the garden. Rooms are not big, bathroom is a bit basic, but both are clean. Kim and Maarten are a lovely couple running the hotel. They do everything to make your stay enjoyable.
We are divers and took a divepackage with Scuba Lodge. Walking distance. Unfortunately they were fully booked, their rooms looked also very nice.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rocla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Willemstad hotels
0.1 mi away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#2 of 32 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
0.1 mi away
BijBlauw
BijBlauw
#3 of 32 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pietermaai Boutique Hotel
Pietermaai Boutique Hotel
#13 of 32 in Willemstad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Ritz Village Hotel
The Ritz Village Hotel
#18 of 32 in Willemstad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
2.9 mi away
Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club
0.9 mi away
Renaissance Curacao Resort & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel 't Klooster? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel 't Klooster

Property: Boutique Hotel 't Klooster
Address: Abraham de Veerstraat 12 | Pietermaai, Willemstad 00000, Curacao
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 32 Hotels in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Boutique Hotel 't Klooster 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boutique Hotel 't Klooster reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boutique Hotel 't Klooster Curacao/Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing