We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and pleasant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dolphin Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dolphin Suites
Ranked #15 of 43 Willemstad B&B and Inns
Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Clean and pleasant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We had actually booked a room at Lion's Dive across the street, but they were overbooked and sent us over to Dolphin Suites. The room (#3 on the ground floor) was clean, spacious, and well-appointed, and it had one of the most comfortable beds we've ever had in a hotel. All the staff at the front desk were pleasant and helpful. It's like they were determined to win us over even though we hadn't chosen to stay there. Also, it is about 10-20% lower-priced than Lions Dive, which makes sense, as it's across the street from the beach rather than right on it.
One oddity - the bed had only a duvet - on a tropical island! I think we were expected to create a wintry climate with the air conditioner.
If we returned to this beach, we would choose Dolphin Suites this time.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BurroStation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    17
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

My family of four stayed at the Dolphin Suites for 2 weeks. We found it very relaxing/quiet; accommodating- I loved using their b-b-q and kitchen in our clean, open concept room; our room was big and bright with a nice sized balcony. It was great for us that Dolphin Suites was affiliated with the CDTC-it helped make our stay convenient.

Room Tip: It was great have everything adapted for wheelchairs. Though we didn't need that feature, I enjo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank etencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsford, NY, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Coming from the US and on our first Caribbean vacation we weren't sure what to expect. The price for a suite with two bedrooms was reasonable. The hotel is close to family oriented entertainment and beaches. The hotel itself is maintained very well and very clean. We had a kitchen that was quite functional although the convection oven/microwave/toaster was a bit daunting. It was an accessible suite and was nicely done with wonderfully accessible roll in shower etc. My only complaint was that the beds were not the most comfortable. After two weeks I was ready for my own bed! And I think the mattress in the smaller bedroom smelled of urine faintly. I am a stickler for smells and that did bug me. But, I know they steam clean the mattresses so hopefully this was an anomaly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MargaretAF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
europa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We spent two weeks from Dec. 25th 2012 till Jan. 8th 2013. First of all, the people at the reception are very friendly and they are happy to help anytime to solve any request or need you have. We felt like we were staying with friends the whole time. They know everything you need to know about Curacao and they arrange anything for you: car rental, tours, air-tickets reservation, internet access, Groceries, etc. The location is very quite, secured and save. It is great for families with children. The pool area offers all kind of things to play in the pool. There is also a terrace with a bookshelf, coffee and tee for the guests anytime. You can also borrow DVDs, hair dryer, and get coins for the washmashine at the reception. They clean the Suites and change the towels every day!!! the The beach is about 3 minutes walking distance away from the suites and belongs to the Lions and Dive Resort. It is a quite sand beach and with colourful fishes everywhere. Dolphin Suites can arrange for you a meal package to eat breakfast and dinner at the Heminway restaurant at Lions and dive resort.
My recommendations:
1) If you rented a Suite, take the shuttle bus to the supermark and buy your groceries for breakfast and dinner. The Kitchen is full equiped with new stuffs and all you need to cook. Dolphin Suite can also buy the groceries for you!!!
2) If you like japanese food you must go to Ema Tai at the Riff Fort shopping mall in Willemstadt. The best japanese food with the best price ever. We ate there 5 times!!
3) Make a reservation to meet the Dolphins at the Aquarium. It is just 3 minutes away from the hotel and it is such a wonderful experience! www.dolphin-academy.com
3) Buy a snorkel and watch the colourful Fishes at the Beach nearby.
4) Rent a car and visit these beaches: Grote Knip, Porto Mari, Blue Lagoon, Blue Bay and Jan Thiel Plaza.
I am very happy and thankful for our trip and our stay in Curacao. We met other Tourists and talk about their stay, we felt very lucky to stay in Dolphin Suites.
Best wishes and have a good trip,
Griselda

Room Tip: The Suites on the top floor are the best ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank puckysita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The reason I gave two stars it that I booked this hotel expecting to have a small kitchen as advised. However the kitchen happened to be... a microwave! Well I believe it is not possible to call a room a kitchen a room without a hot plate.. moreover the space "for cooking" is really tiny and the sink for doing the dishes is the same as for the bathroom. Another downside was that I booked a "garden view room" but the garden happened to be a parking area.
The room is actually big, clean and the furniture very new, what is a plus. However apart from the glas door there is no windows.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Priscila Salern... S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Dolphin Suites, and were VERY happy with their service and hotel. We were greeted by the friendliest lady...I think her name was Karen....and each of their staff members greeted us with a warm smile. Totally impressed.

The family suite was large...loved the little kitchenette. It was squeaky clean. They have picnic tables in their lovely back yard area where you can eat....and a nice little pool. There isn't an ocean view that I know of, but you are just across the street from the beach.

I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in Willemstad.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stacydi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middelburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here 2 weeks in a suite which has 2 bedrooms. The suites are very well equipped and spacious. Wifi in the apartments, free beach towels, daily cleaning. Small but confortable pool which is sufficient with the beach at a 2 minutes walk. A few restaurant are nearby. There is 2 times per day a free shuttle bus to a supermarket so you dont need a car. Taxi stand 50 mtr from the reception so its easy to go to willemstad which is only 15 usd. So in general, very good accommodation with dedicated service orientated staff. If I go to Wlemstad again, I will definitly book this accomm. again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Willemstad hotels
0.1 mi away
Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao
0.4 mi away
Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort
2.4 mi away
BijBlauw
BijBlauw
#4 of 31 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 stars 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#3 of 31 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 stars 483 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sunscape Curacao Resort Spa & Casino - Curacao
0.1 mi away
The Royal Sea Aquarium Resort
The Royal Sea Aquarium Resort
#11 of 31 in Willemstad
4.5 of 5 stars 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Suites

Property: Dolphin Suites
Address: Bapor Kibra z/n, Willemstad, Curacao
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Willemstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dolphin Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dolphin Suites is the first hotel in the Dutch Caribbean that is specifically designed to accommodate every type of guest, especially guests with special needs. It offers you a wide range of accommodations and facilities, including our therapy treatments and free access to the Curacao Sea Aquarium. Unwind yourself in this small-scale hotel, in its appearance as beautiful as Miami's Design and Boutique Hotels. Yet at the same time wheelchair accessible in combination with a tastefully created pool and one of the most beautiful beaches of Curacao at your doorstep. Feel welcome and at home in Dolphin Suites Curacao. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Dolphin Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Suites Curacao/Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing