We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Willemstad
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (959)
Filter reviews
959 results
Traveler rating
664
236
44
10
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
664
236
44
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dive shop breakfast basket infinity pool blue building bbq night dive staff dive sites within walking distance boutique hotel standard room dive trip small hotel ceiling fan welcome drink washing machine bedroom apartment the security guard
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 959 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Everyone is very friendly. Access to the beach next door is nice. Rooms are tidy. Kitchenette was a nice addition. Walking distance to many shops and restaurants. Staff is very knowledgeable and helpful.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Urbanmutant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This boutique hotel was amazing! I was travelling in a group of 3 couples. We rented the 3 bedroom apartment and it did not disappoint! It was within steps of the ocean-side pool as well as the hotel restaurant and bar. It is also located near many shops and other restaurants. You don't need to rent a car if you are planning to explore the Pietermaai district. The rooms were very large and air-conditioned. The apartment had a huge living room/gathering space, a large kitchen, and each bedroom had it's own bath/shower. I think there was even another shared bathroom as well as washer/dryer and another small kitchen. We had an outdoor patio with a couch and a large table to seat six--maybe more. While visiting, the entire island had a power outage. (last time that happened, we heard was in 2016). Scuba Lodge took care of us. We dined at their restaurant with candle light and they helped us make the most of the power outage. It was quite comforting. Overall, I would recommend this hotel to anyone planning to visit Curacao!

Room tip: Pool/Ocean-Side rooms are amazing! (Green Building)
Date of stay: November 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Experience753458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2019 via mobile

We stayed here for 8 nights and it was great. We had a standard room on the second floor of the blue building (at the front) with the shared balcony and it was excellent. There are actually two pools - the infinity pool and one that’s more shaded and quiet. The service here was pretty good. We were able to rent a car through them and it was affordable. Would highly recommend Sunday Satay the value is amazing the the food is unreal. We only ate at the hotel a couple of times but it was always pretty good. The deals at happy hour are great. Curaçao overall is a quiet place. Everything closes at 6 except for on Thursday’s so it’s really hard to find local affordable food after lunch. We ate lunch at the Old Market a lot and it was unreal.

A couple of things could make this hotel 5 stars in my opinion. The room didn’t have a “do not disturb” sign for the door and housekeeping is around 9:30. So if you want to sleep in you can’t because you’ll be waken up by housekeeping. The shared balcony is great but it’s not shaded at all and once it’s 8 am it’s way too hot to sit directly in the sun. Then as well when it rains there’s not really anywhere to go because the balcony isn’t covered at all. The day it rained when we were there we sat in the restaurant but felt obligated to order drinks. When we went to the beach we noticed lots of people had coolers to bring food and drinks. If the hotel could offer a cooler for you to take that would be great.

Overall I would recommend staying here.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 586amandaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2019

The hotel is located in the best spot on the island. You can walk to many places to eat, Willemstad is close, most importantly the dive operation is 50 yards away.

The staff is very nice and accommodating. The dive crew is very good, fun, and professional.

Rental car... if you plan to dive daily, I recommend not getting a car. The only reason would be for driving to different beaches. Honestly, it's all nearby. You can walk to small supermarket for snacks, beer, etc. There is also American fast food within walking distance if you crave a McSomething or a Subway sandwich.

Rooms... we had the smallish Valentine suite which overlooks the water. It was perfect. The air conditioning kept us cool. There is a small fridge, small stovetop to prepare something if you decide to stay in. We planned for a few but only did this one night.

The bar is super convenient with drinks, food, poolside service. Everyone is super nice. The tables are right on the water by the seawall. Sunsets happen every day (humor).

Diving... the most healthy reef life I have seen. Shore diving is easy here and you dont swim long distances to get on the reef. If the chance to boat dive the east end, DO IT! The dive shop rental gear is in great shape. They offer skins to wear. My wife and I only wore a rash guard shirt. The water is perfectly warm. You can also snorkel right off the property.

The ultimate must do... go spear fishing for lionfish and the chef at scuba lodge will prepare for a reasonable fee. It is SO good.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Coastal07298000287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2019 via mobile

First things first: The staff is perfect, well-trained and highly professional!

Now the „But“:
Serious health problems and sickness is a question of time for the customers of breakfast at scuba lodge.

As sad as it is and as friendly as the staff is - there is not a single doubt that the breakfast at scuba lodge is not only not even rudimentary sufficient, but it‘s dangerous and provocing serious infectional deseases for the customers who have it.

The bred basket is made of cotton and it is not washed in a 90 degree celsius desinfection-washmachine after each use but just used again with the next customer. The problem raises when deafs directly fly into it when the customer is finished. If the cotton-bred basket is used again with the next customer (what happens all the time) the risk of serious infectional deseases is real and high. The operator of scuba lodge should act immediatly on that issue to prevent the worse. We are in the middle of an resisting-antibiotica-crisis and those things - obviously only brought up by the operator to maximize his profit - should be strictly regulated.

Besides that the breakfast is not sufficient. You can choose the bred-basket or (!) the pancake - non of which is able to saturate just even rudimentary. Jam and butter are served in the most little of all possible portions and in plastic or metal boxes (environment?!). I save up every comment on the amount of bred and let the reader check my fotos.

I am just praying they don‘t reuse the food which is left and where the deafs were on for other customers.

All the rest is okay. Regarding the rooms price-quality-relation is on a lower middle niveau but Jesus is happy to help you out if something is missing. Lunch and dinner are low quality. Staff-Crew-Members are all openminded and gayfriendly.

Room cleaning works good.

Date of stay: October 2019
1  Thank PietH150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scubalodge, Public Relations Manager at Scuba Lodge & Ocean Suites, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2019

Hi Piet,

First of all, thank you for recommending us to other travelers. We're happy knowing that you describe our staff and service level as 'perfect'! We will make sure to share your kind words with the rest of our team as this will serve as an encouragement to provide the same excellent service for all our guests. We will give a special compliment to Jesus who was able to make your stay with us even more enjoyable! :-)

Regarding your feedback on our breakfast. We aim to clean-up the tables as soon as guests leave; not just to be able to accommodate new guests but also to avoid situations as seen in your pictures. We try to encourage guests to not feed the pigeons and we are sorry they detracted from your recent visit. However, we take food hygiene extremely seriously and would like to reassure people that our bread baskets get washed on a regular basis. We can also assure you that your leftovers are under no circumstances served to our next guests.

Our breakfast platter has been a guest favorite for many years, but it's not the only option that we offer. You can also order eggs with bread, pumpkin pancakes, grilled sandwich, French toast, or yogurt bowls for breakfast. We are more than willing to create satisfying alternate dishes for those with special requests or dietary restrictions. Just let your waiter know what you are looking for and we'll do our best to accommodate you!

Over the last years, we have launched multiple initiatives to reduce our plastic waste and our impact on the environment. So far we have banned plastic straws, foam containers, and individually wrapped mints from our restaurant, and we recycle all of our soda cans. Of course, there is always more that we can do. Please know that we continue to explore other opportunities to further reduce our environmental impact.

Please feel free to contact our Chef and Restaurant Manager directly at chef@scubalodge.com so that we may ensure your experience is a better one next time around!

Kind regards,

Team Scuba Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews