We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Willemstad
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (959)
Filter reviews
959 results
Traveler rating
664
236
44
10
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
664
236
44
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dive shop breakfast basket infinity pool blue building bbq night dive staff dive sites within walking distance boutique hotel standard room dive trip small hotel ceiling fan welcome drink washing machine bedroom apartment the security guard
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
80 - 85 of 959 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2018

Living in a private atmosphere surrounded by the garden direct to the waterfront. Nice rooms with aircondition and little pantry with a nice balkony - our appartement names "Valentine Suite" was modern designed. The service was kind and courteous.
The restaurant was good but a little overrated.

Room tip: ocean view is a must! - Valentine Suite
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philipp B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carin K, Public Relations Manager at Scuba Lodge & Ocean Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2018

Hi Philipp,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and fellow travelers. We're happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. We're pleased to read you felt our staff is kind and courteous, as our friendly service is something that we are most proud of. If you have more detailed feedback regarding our restaurant, we'd be happy to hear from you per mail.

Warm regards,

Team Scuba Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2018

I’ve visit Curaçao 3 times and had stay at Scuba Lodge twice. No other hotel beat their perfect combination of views, laid back ambiance and their great hospitality. Their staff is amazing, I traveled with my father, which has Parkinson’s disease, and they accommodate all our needs for him to have a great vacation. Adrianne and Eugene at the front desk, they rock, always with a smile and great suggestions on what to do or where to go. Melanie at the restaurant such a nice person. The hotel staff makes this hotel more special than any other. On my next trip to curaçao I'll definitely stay at Scuba Lodge.

Room tip: First floor rooms has easier accessibility.
Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank rommelp96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scubalodge, Public Relations Manager at Scuba Lodge & Ocean Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2018

Dear Rommel,

Thank you so much for your kind words! We shared your review with our entire team to honor their hard work. Adrienne, Eugenia, Melanie and the rest of the team send you their love. Your kind words are very inspiring and encouraging to all of us. It's great that we could offer you and your father such a great holiday and help you where needed!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Scuba Lodge for a 3rd time in the near future!

Team Scuba Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2018

Pros:
View -- can't be beat
Sound -- the sound of the waves hitting the rocks and lulling you to sleep
Bed -- super comfortable and you CAN get a comforter if you request it
Staff -- Friendly and accommodating
Pool -- plenty of chairs, infinity pool overlooking the ocean
Location -- walking distance to town -- you do NOT want to drive in Curacao. We had a car but it's really hard to drive there.
Grounds - Lovely. It will be hard for us to find a hotel with such nice grounds in the future.
Room -- large -- 2 bedroom apartment. Not super fancy inside but just perfect for the price and who spends that much time in the room anyway? Air conditioning in bedrooms worked great. 3 TVs, 2.5 bathrooms.
Beach -- they don't have one on premises but there's a public beach right next door, Beach 88, which is small but not crowded ever. After visiting other beaches that were attached to hotels, I was happy that we had no beach at the hotel. We felt like we were in our own little oasis.

CONS:
Oh Scuba Lodge -- we loved it there so much we would have loved to give 5 stars, but this is where you fell really short.
The Restaurant -- Food, not great. We ate dinner there our first night as it was late and we didn't know where else to go. Just ok. Thursday night, we booked the barbeque as we were told how great it was. The American view of what makes a good barbeque is quite different from the Dutch one. Chicken on a stick, a dried out piece of fish in foil (really it was inedible), a slider (I think they thought it was a hamburger but again, in the U.S. it was a slider) not on a bun with some spices I couldn't eat, and then a small piece of filet mignon (which was very good). add in a very odd assortment of food in the buffet, and that was what you got for $25 per person. We should have known the price was too good.

Service in restaurant: Terrible. I think this is a Curacao thing as we faced this in a lot of places but there seemed to be no management of the restaurant staff. Who was in charge? We'd be seated for 15 minutes with no wait staff and then the waitress comes up to us and say "are you seated here?". Not sure what that meant but the funny thing was, it happened to us twice!

Honestly, we'd go back to the Scuba Lodge in a heartbeat -- would not eat in the restaurant again and would make sure to have the kitchen stocked with breakfast foods especially so we didn't need to rely on the on-premises breakfast. But other than that, this is a fantastic place!

Room tip: get a room facing the ocean -- there's nothing better than that sound!
Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank 11AliceK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carin K, Public Relations Manager at Scuba Lodge & Ocean Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2018

Hi Alice,

Thanks so much for sharing this review with us. We feel proud knowing that our team has been able to raise the bar for your future vacations and that you think of us as 'a little oasis'. We have shared your kind words with our team and we all hope that we get to welcome you back in the future. It would be a pleasure having you as our guests again!

Regarding our restaurant; we have forwarded your feedback to our Restaurant Manager and she would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We always strive to learn, grow, and better our services with the comments provided by our guests and you've given us some pointers that we will definitely take under consideration.

If you return to Curaçao in the future, please drop us a message. We would love to welcome you back to Scuba Lodge and would really appreciate a chance to show you what our restaurant is capable of offering!

Sunny regards,

Team Scuba Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2018 via mobile

Scuba Lodge was the perfect down to earth hotel for our trip . The ambiance was laid back but beautiful . The bedroom was comfortable and clean with no needed frills . The staff is amazing - special hello to Adrienne, Calvin (i think )and Eugenia ! So helpful and so sweet !The location is perfect as everything is in near walking distance . The food and drinks were great as well ! Thanks Scuba Lodge!

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank YoungTraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scubalodge, Public Relations Manager at Scuba Lodge & Ocean Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2018

Thank you for your kind words and for the shout-out to Adrienne, Kelvin, and Eugennia! We are glad to know that our team was able to offer you the perfect hotel for your trip to Curaçao.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2018 via mobile

Okay, we were with 12 that night, but it was not at all crowded, and the orders were not that complicated.. it literally took hours to get our main course, appetisers were brought rather wuick, but after that we waited 1.1/2 hours for our main courses, and when they finally came, the fish was cold and they blamed the tenderloin for the slowness of getting our food. Besides all tenderloins were well done, whilst some of us ordered a medium rare one. Basically only the hamburgers were good! Very disappointing, and I am not even starting on the mix up over the drinks, pretty disastrous!
Never again with a big group! They cannot handle that!

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Lyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carin K, Public Relations Manager at Scuba Lodge & Ocean Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2018

Hi Lyn,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. Although we are pleased to see that you liked our hamburgers, we seemed to have disappointed you in a few areas. Our apologies for the waiting period you experienced for your main course and the mix-up with your drinks. Please note that this is not a reflection of service we strive to provide at our restaurant.

We have discussed the challenges listed with our team. And although there is not a good explanation for what happened this evening, we all hope that you give us another opportunity and visit us soon. Please do get in touch with me at amber@scubalodge.com before your next visit so we can meet and I can ensure that you will receive the true 'Scuba Lodge-experience' that we strive to offer all of our guests.

Amber
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews