We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Kept Secret!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I spent my 40th birthday at Scuba Lodge with 4 of my girlfriends and we couldn't get enough of this place. The staff is wonderful! They greeted us with a drink upon arrival, which is fitting since the bar also serves as the registration desk. We were all starving after our trip down, so we were able to order dinner, go get settled in our room and we were shocked to find our dinner waiting for us on our dining table on the expansive balcony (we were in the 3 bedroom suite). The meal was DELICIOUS (as were all of our meals)!

Our room was MASSIVE and we all had plenty of room to spread out and enjoy ourselves. We basically had the pool to ourselves the entire stay and the view of the ocean was very nice.

The location is great for walking, which we did each day, but before venturing into town, find out what time things shut down (very early on certain days).

Scuba Lodge is a great place to stay. The only drawback is that there is no beach, but you can take a taxi to one of the nearby beaches (which charge a fee). None of us seemed to mind. We LOVED Scuba Lodge and would definitely return!

Room Tip: Absolutely opt for a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank travel_divaNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (688)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

289 - 295 of 688 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2013

Room was very basic, but the view was amazing! We had to walk a bit to the hotel with luggage and then up stairs. The security guard offered to help. We checked in after a long travel day and gave us a beer while we were filling out the paper work, so nice! We ate a late dinner with our feet in the sand. We didn't use the pools, but they looked beautiful. We were very close to shopping in Otrobando.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SoarMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed at scuba lodge for a short holiday. (9 days)

The hotel is located close to city center, about 10 min. walk.
The hotel landscaping is gorgious.(lots of vegitation) Two swimmingpools, one with a breath taking view over the Caribbean Sea.
From the restaurant and terrace you have a amazing view over the Caribbean Sea. The view gives you the ultimate holiday feeling.

We stayed in a standard room close to the street side. The rooms closer to the sea are better situated.
The room itself was basic but fine. It is spacious enough to have a comfortabel stay.
The bathroom was modern and clean.
With a few minor improvements, like a fullsize mirror and decoration, the room would be perfect.

The breakfast came in a basket. The content changed daily and it all tasted fine.

The staff is nice and helpfull. They advised and made restaurant reservation for us, which turned out to be really good. We also had dinner twice at the hotel restaurant. The food was really good, especially the bbq. The bbq is only on thursdays make sure to make reservations.

Definately a place to try out.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Daniellev202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We (2 adults & 2 kids) had smoothies and a coffee. Coffee did taste good (which is not everywhere the case at Curaçao) and the smoothies were super fresh made and delicious. Very nice people who run this hotel and restaurant. Truly interested in their customers! We will definitly go their more often, also for lunch op diner.

(My aunt and uncle spend their holiday in the Scuba Lodge Hotel for 6 nights and were very happy too.)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vivian293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed in a town bedroom apartment at Scuba Lodge in February. It was great. Right on the ocean east of the main tourist area in town. It was any easy walk, but too far for the hordes of cruisers to venture from their mother ships.The area is in the process of gentrification, with a few old derelict buildings on every block. A few nice restaurants are the neighborhood. The staff is extremely helpful, friendly and comprised of beautiful young Dutch people. The place had the feel of a Ralph Lauren ad.

Our large apartment was outfitted in the latest European appliances, fixtures and cabinetry. Only some clumsy livingroom furniture and insufficient lighting for reading marred the overall effect. There was a dishwasher, a clothes washer, a blender and a Senseo coffee maker. Tip: bring some Senseo coffee pads from home. They are hard to find on the island.

The layout of the very large upstairs bedroom was odd.It had its own bath with large stall shower, modern free standing tub and toilet In a space twice what was needed. But the stairs from below opened into the bath, and the first thing to be seen is the toilet and anybody using it. There was no door between the bath and the bedroom. And almost no flat surfaces in either space. Where do you put your toiletries?

Diving is a bit quirky, too. No boat and no shore diving on site. But daily van trips to good sites, always with a guide. Diving is much better in Westpunt, however.

We had a great time, and will happily return.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Evanescent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Things sure change. Some 18 years ago, Pietermaai and Penstraat were adventurous. Avila Beach dominated the area as a Grand Dame, but now the neighbourhood is rocking. Once you enter Scuba Lodge, the friendly staff will kindly welcome you with some cold drinks and an update about the island. Leave your shoes in the car for the rest of your stay . Wonderfull rooms, but try to book one of the amazing suites in the yellow, green or blue caribbean houses. You 'll feel like having your own place in this sizzling neighbourhood where resto's and bars pop up. Nevertheless, you 'll like the quite atmosphere with the house reef and infinity pool. Barefoot luxury, don't expect a 5 star resort . The dive guides are fabulous and look for great spots to go shore diving. Be prepared to find sea horses and beautiful corals. We look forward to our next visit !

Room Tip: One of the suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alanthesailorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

The Hotel is very nice - no doubt. We had a wonderful big, spacious apartment with seaview. The old building was very tastefully restored with nice furniture, a great lounge area on the terrace and a phantastic kitchen. The hotel is located in the nicest and upcoming parts of the city - Pietermaai, only a few minute walk from the town center. There is no beach, but you can use a ladder directly into the sea - next to the small infinity pool. Next door is the stylish San Tropez Ocean Club - a good (but not disturbing) alternative for the night out.

What annoyed us most was, that housekeeping kept entering our apartment without prior knocking our announcing. Even more disturbing was, that they did not came through the front door, but through their separate entrance in the back of the Apartment. This happened several times throughout our stay, while we were still in bed, taking a shower, preparing meals etc. "Do not disturb"-signs would definitely help. We even found the staff walking through the apt when we came back one afternoon - although normal housekeeping time was long over.

The front desk staff was not well organized - people kept changing every day without informing each other about what was discussed with the guest the day before. After two nights, we had to move out of our apartment because there was a double booking and they gave priority to the other guest. The upgrade we received for the inconvenience was ok, but the treatment and the handling was still unprofessional.

Room Tip: The two and three bedroom apartments are wonderful, for families, friends or - if you can afford it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sansibar22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scubalodge, Manager at Scuba Lodge & Suites, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2013

Dear guests,

First of all we want to make our apologies for the inconveniences you have encountered during your stay at our hotel.

At the moment of your review we were already working on the 'Non Disturb' signs. We totally agree on this matter and highly value the privacy of every guest.
As for the reservations matter we're looking into your situation so this won't happen again.

Again we make our apoligies and hope you will visit us once again to see the improvements that we have made.

With warm regards,

Yvette Kuijper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Willemstad hotels
2 mi away
Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort
2.3 mi away
Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao
0.1 mi away
BijBlauw
BijBlauw
#4 of 32 in Willemstad
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club
3.7 mi away
Papagayo Beach Resort
Papagayo Beach Resort
#11 of 32 in Willemstad
348 reviews
1.1 mi away
Baoase Luxury Resort
Baoase Luxury Resort
#1 of 32 in Willemstad
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scuba Lodge & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scuba Lodge & Suites

Address: Pietermaai 104, Willemstad, Curacao
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Willemstad
#2 Family Hotel in Willemstad
#3 Romantic Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range: $115 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scuba Lodge & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scubalodge is the premier ocean front boutique hotel in Curacao. Made of in total 5 monumental buildings, every room and apartment are different! And so is the staff! With a very relaxed and personal atmosphere guests are like staying with friends! Relax in one of the two swimming pools, in the ocean in our house riff and enjoy a cocktail at the Ocean Bar. Scubalodge has a PADI Dive School and shop and the well known breakfast basket and weekly barbecue! Laid in the "quartier Latin" of Curacao, many restaurants and bars are walking distance, as is the city centre, the cruise terminal and all musea and shopping center. Explore the real Curacao in Otrabanda, the "pontjes brug" and the fruit and local market. Or take your rental car and explore the Island and all of its 70 beaches!!! Scubalodge, welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Scuba Lodge & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Scuba Lodge And Suites
The Scuba Hotel Willemstad
Scuba Lodge & Suites Curacao/Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing