We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Ranked #2 of 32 Hotels in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 25, 2012

We loved this hotel! While it's a great value and has a great location (good restaurants nearby), the staff definitely makes it.

This is not for the resort or cruise type of person. The atmosphere is low-key and relaxed.

They make the diving very easy there, you can just grab the gear and go on your own if you want. You can also get certified if you aren't already, you can shore dive right in front of the hotel or you can go to one of the sites around Curacao with or without a Scuba Lodge guide.

The owner is doing a lot of upgrades, many of the photos shown by travelers are obsolete already. We stayed in one of the regular rooms but we got a tour of the apartments - they are spectacular. We are already planning our trip there next year with some friends so we can stay in one of the apartments.

Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Halli10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (654)
There are newer reviews for Scuba Lodge & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

322 - 328 of 654 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2012

I went to Curacao with a few friends and could not be more pleased! We stayed in one of the new apartments, which was spacious, had new appliances, nice bathrooms, etc. We had a last-minute addition to our group and Yvette and the rest of the staff went out of their way to figure out how to make things work out (while we were probably a pain). The entire trip the staff was unbelievably helpful and accommodating in making sure everyone felt at home and was great about offering suggestions as to what to do while in Curacao.

As for the scuba instruction, Tom and Daan were patient and fun while getting people started. They explained things clearly and eased people in, so even those who were nervous felt good the entire time. Everyone that I spoke to had a blast and it was great not having to worry about the logistics (but they would come up with suggestions and plans based on specific requests we had around what we’d like to see & do on dives). We were able to get certified in a few days and are excited to go again!

I travel a lot for business and considered using points to book a stay at a larger chain, but this was far and away the right choice. While it will not have the “glitz” factor of resorts (which I somewhat appreciate anyway), the personality and charm of the place more than makes up for it. I will recommend this place to friends with full confidence that they will have a great experience.

On a side note, on Thursdays they have a BBQ, which we decided to forgo to venture out on the island. In retrospect, I would advise staying (if the timing works out) as it’s a great chance to get to know the other guests and staff.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Scuba Lodge provided everything we could need -- affordable diving instruction, flexibility with last minute changes to our party size, and a relaxed, courteous staff.

Just a short walk from the Pontoon Bridge, the Scuba Lodge is a great place to escape big hotel chains without forgoing comfort or hospitality.

Room Tip: The individual rooms are probably good for two people given that there's a single king-size bed...
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kyle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

The view, the staff and the hotel are simply fantastic. Felt in love with the place and the Island.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sorpmosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Mitch and Sam from UK

We have just come back from holidaying at Scuba Lodge and it was out of this world. What makes Scuba Lodge unique is the very friendly staff. They are passionate about making your stay as comfortable and memorable as possible and making you feel really welcome and part of the Scuba Lodge family. Nothing is too much trouble and they will do anything for you. Because of the friendly atmosphere all the guests were friendly to each other and we ended up becoming friends with 5 guests and spending our holiday with them.

Tom & Dan do a brilliant BBQ evening every Thursday with as much meat and shrimps as you can eat and Uri the chef will make you anything you ask for if he has the ingredients and you ask really nicely!

I learnt to dive 8 years ago but hadn't dived since after a bad experience. Tom, the Dive Instructor, took me on a one-to-one refresher dive and helped me overcome my fears step by step until I felt comfortable to go under water. We ended up diving to 7 metres and I really loved it. So much so that I did another 4 dives whilst I was there. My husband is an experienced diver and he said that I wouldn't have got that attention anywhere else.

There is a small private beach and infinity pool with sun loungers which overlooks the ocean and a deck where you can sit and have great food and drinks on all day long. The hotel rooms are adequate and very clean with fresh towels everyday if you want and sheets changed every 3 days. The showers are hot and the air conditioning is effective and quiet. There's even a flat screen TV with DVD player and a safe.

There are loads of bars and restaurants within 10 mins walk from the hotel and we felt very safe walking around at night. Everyone in Punda is very friendly and willing to help if you get lost.

Scuba Lodge is heaven on a caribbean Island!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SammyMitchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for four nights. We picked this hotel because it's walking distance from downtown Willemstad and also fronts the ocean. The location is perfect for shopping and sightseeing, but also for hanging out in a beach chair and reading or listening to the waves. The diving facilities would have been a plus if we hadn't had some medical issues that unfortunately kept us out of the water. We really enjoyed our stay. Scuba Lodge has a relaxed vibe, thanks in large part to the very friendly staff consisting of dozen or so young Dutch guys and gals. It was nice to see that a laid-back, casual atmosphere can go hand in hand with professionalism and service-mindedness. The staff made sure that the hotel was very well run. Food was also very good. We had Christmas Dinner at the hotel, and everything was just perfect. Lovely menu, fast attentive service, and the food was very well prepared. Even though having dinner at the hotel was our second choice--we had wanted reservations at a restaurant that was fully booked that night--we're glad we did. We had dinner at the other restaurant the next night, and the food wasn't as good as the Christmas Dinner at Scuba Lodge.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Juud1014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

We just return from our Christmas holiday in Curacao. I stayed at the Scuba Lodge only because of the reviews on Tripadvisor. The Scuba Lodge was great, Very clean and a good location to town. My son and I stayed in one of their rooms for 3 nights then moved over an apartment from the wife and daught showed up. We were very pleased with the apartment and everything that was offered. I think what really makes Scuba Lodge so good, is the staff. Keep it up guys and will see you agaian in April.

Room Tip: If more than 4 people, you should really take an apartment. Well worth the cost.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Willemstad hotels
2.2 mi away
Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao
2.0 mi away
Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
BijBlauw
BijBlauw
#3 of 32 in Willemstad
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club
3.7 mi away
Papagayo Beach Resort
Papagayo Beach Resort
#12 of 32 in Willemstad
330 reviews
1.1 mi away
Baoase Luxury Resort
Baoase Luxury Resort
#1 of 32 in Willemstad
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scuba Lodge & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scuba Lodge & Suites

Address: Pietermaai 104, Willemstad, Curacao
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Willemstad
#2 Family Hotel in Willemstad
#3 Romantic Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range: $128 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scuba Lodge & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scubalodge is the premier ocean front boutique hotel in Curacao. Made of in total 5 monumental buildings, every room and apartment are different! And so is the staff! With a very relaxed and personal atmosphere guests are like staying with friends! Relax in one of the two swimming pools, in the ocean in our house riff and enjoy a cocktail at the Ocean Bar. Scubalodge has a PADI Dive School and shop and the well known breakfast basket and weekly barbecue! Laid in the "quartier Latin" of Curacao, many restaurants and bars are walking distance, as is the city centre, the cruise terminal and all musea and shopping center. Explore the real Curacao in Otrabanda, the "pontjes brug" and the fruit and local market. Or take your rental car and explore the Island and all of its 70 beaches!!! Scubalodge, welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Scuba Lodge & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Scuba Lodge And Suites
The Scuba Hotel Willemstad
Scuba Lodge & Suites Curacao/Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing