We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantasy Island”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Baoase Luxury Resort
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 15, 2010

We stayed at the Baoase mid May for only 4 nights. We did not want to leave. This was an incredible experience. The resort grounds with private island and swimming lagoon, beautiful quiet beach and incredible landscape were perfect. No crowds. We felt as if we had the whole resort to ourselves. There is only 11 suites and villas total. Very personalized service. Outstanding dining with the very talented Chef Rik working in a temporary small kitchen made us some fabulous plates. Prime filets, fresh fish and fruits , tasty sauces and desserts. Rik should really excel with the addition of the new kitchen opening soon. Rik's brother Ronald runs the beach bar. He and his entire staff were most accomodating and we had a fun time with them Drinks were made to our wishes. Creative suggestions on "house specials" for both food, drink. and dessert. First class, informal dining and drinking in a beautiful beach setting. Our suite was perfect for the two of us. Private, quiet and very romantic. We slept like babies every night, took afternoon naps and totally relaxed like no other place we have ever been. i plan on returning in the near future with my entire family for another amazing vacation. This is a very special upscale place with very special caring people. Thank You Baoase for a wonderful time.

Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank fifties1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (540)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

360 - 366 of 540 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2010

What a beautiful resort and wonderful staff. The people who work there are a blast. Rick is the best chef in the whole wide world - he can make anything taste good! All the staff are cute and pretty and soooo nice. Go there, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arichtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2010

We were at Baoase for 3 days with our children. The villas are beautiful and the setting is amazing.
Unfortunately the staff is not good enough and there the villas are not perfect, this makes its not worth the price you pay for the stay.(looking at other resorts where we have stayd and payd this kind of price for a villa with private pool and service)

The breakfast buffet was always late served and there was not much to choose from.
For the evening we had 3 days the same soup to choose from, as well as the desert.
We had dinner with some friends with children and we had to wait for the food for 1,5 hours.
In the villas there are shutters missing in bedrooms , so the room is not dark and makes you wake up at 5 in the morning.

When checking out, we had to wait for 1 hour because the administration is a mess and we almost missed our flight!

Kind staff but not suit to work at this kind of hotel, it looks like the owner has a passion for Azian style hotels but unfortunately has no clue about Azian hospitality and training for the staff. The staff should stay a weekend at the Hyatt to see how well trained the staff there is, how quick they take orders etc.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tristan028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2010

Ill be brief -

the resort is very small but the villas are actually very well done and very confortable.
some of the storage areas in our villa (2) were impractical but overall the living quarters were A+. the kitchen was a real plus especially with small kids and there is a supermarket nearly next door which was very convenient to stack the fridge up.
the villa shared pool is lovely and lots of fun for kids
the artificial beach is also very nice although may be it was the island/wind/time of year - the water wasnt as clear as i had wished.

the resort kitchen is tiny - actually smaller than small but RIK does a great job given what he has to work with. meals were lovely - i do agree that breakfast is the weak link but we arent big breakfast people so did not affect us too much.

overall service was attentive but i do agree that some do need a little more training.

good resort, location is so-so. i did love the sea side terrace a shor stroll away on the beach. kids had a great time. it is a mini amanyara - should get better as they work out little kinks.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UBTESTING9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2010

We just return from our boase experience,good folks , good vibes, zero know how to run a luxury resort, the dogs barking all night is a major problem, all service personal is part time and training, zero hotel experience, kitchen chef (rick )does miracles out of a small tiny kitchen for lunch and dinnner, breafast very weak, they try very hard to help you but the experience is not there, they must bring in good experience full time staff,from luxury resort experience to help them make this place special, we wish them lots of good things for the future cause they have worked hard...us

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mherandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2010

we had a wonderful stay at BAOASE Resort in Curacao.
The villas are very nice and the service we experienced excellent.

One step from villa into swimmingpool and 20 steps from the beach: great!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jassperr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2010

I heard of this resort after seeking advice on the forums for a romantic dinner. I checked out the website and we actually changed our travel plans so that we could spend our anniversary here. (We spent our first five nights at the Marriott and the last few here.) And I am so glad we did.

The resort is stunning, in all respects. From the luxuriously appointed rooms, to the beautifully furnished decks, to the incredible beach, to the secret grotto in the circular saltwater infinity pool - everything was breathtaking.

We were greeted by name in the comfy reception area and even though we were 2 hours early, they quickly prepared our room while we had a drink on the beach and a complimentary welcome snack.

The staff is very eager to please and everyone was just lovely. They walked around to see if we needed anything, offered suggestions on restaurants and things to see and do, made custom drinks (which they practically jumped into the pool to serve us!!) and were just plain NICE!

The only not-completely-positive thing I can say is that the meals were little bit off. I will preface this by saying that the breakfast chef was new and they are still working out some kinks.

We got to the beach for dinner at 6:30. We were told that the Chef would come by and tell us what was on the menu. So we sat around for about 45 until he showed up and told us about the Lobster special. He then asked if we were ready to order, surprised when we asked if there was anything else on the menu. Don't get me wrong, the food was excellent. And I did get the lobster special. But the service was just a bit 'strange'.

For breakfast the chef comes out to the beach and asks what you want. So on the first day when we asked what our options were he said - anything you want. My husband asked for sausage and eggs and some toast. I asked for an omelet with cheese. He brought a plate with sliced ham and cheese with some fresh donuts. And then he brought us each a plate of eggs. No sausage. We were in a bit of a rush so we ate and left. The second morning I got a bagel with lox - delicious! and my hubby asked for sunny side up eggs with bacon.(He asked if there was bacon available and the answer was YES) First the donuts and some homemade sunflower bread - both delicious. Then the eggs. Then a plate with sliced strips of ham fried up. He stopped by several times to check on us and make sure we were enjoying it. Once again, everything delicious! (Especially the frothy Iced Coffee with fresh coffee beans) but the service was a bit 'strange'. If you are prepared for that and are flexible, you will have no issues.

The property is lush and inviting. Its very natural and very secluded.
The rooms are stunning. Every detail was taken into account when decorating. The beds are comfortable, the sheets are luxurious, the decor is fabulous. Its a pleasure to walk into your room at night after the turn down service with candles and incense and flowers on the bed. And the huge deck is sumptuous. Ours was on the second floor, overlooking the ocean with a large hot tub on one side and a dining table with candles and a tablescape on the other. The rooms around the pool have even bigger decks with outdoor couches and larger dining areas, with stairs leading directly into the saltwater pool.

Lastly, the beach and the water are phenomenal. Its absolutely a stunning setting. Privacy, quiet, seclusion. Clearly lots of effort was made to use natural elements and incorporate them into this beautiful setting. From the handcarved wooden 'lounge chairs' to the man-made swim up island, with foliage and beach chairs that make you feel like the king of the world, this beach is breathtaking.

We will definitely return to Baoase and have already recommended it to friends and to our travel agent. It was a glorious end to our vacation and we absolutely can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EMG311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Willemstad
1.1 mi away
Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao
0.9 mi away
Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort
1.1 mi away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#2 of 32 in Willemstad
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
BijBlauw
BijBlauw
#6 of 32 in Willemstad
356 reviews
4.1 mi away
Floris Suite Hotel - Spa & Beach Club
4.5 mi away
Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baoase Luxury Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baoase Luxury Resort

Address: Winterswijkstraat 2, Willemstad 00000, Curacao
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Willemstad
#1 Romantic Hotel in Willemstad
#1 Family Hotel in Willemstad
#1 Luxury Hotel in Willemstad
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Willemstad
#1 Spa Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range: $563 - $1,322 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Baoase Luxury Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultra-exclusive resort promises to provide an unforgettable experience to guests seeking a peaceful retreat in comfort and style. With 23 extravagant rooms, suites and villas, the resort is the ultimate getaway for luxury seeker. In line with the love of Balinese style, something unique and highly luxurious was created. Different elements were incorporated in the design of the resort such as cool, dark woods and vases, antiques, and other elegant artefacts scattered throughout the property to set off the natural beauty of the surroundings. The resort’s philosophy of barefoot elegance brings luxury back to its essence. Unique are the water basins located at the guest room entrances. They are designed so guests can wash their feet before entering their accommodation which is also a Balinese custom. The ultra-exclusive resort promises to provide an unforgettable experience to guests seeking a peaceful retreat in comfort and style. Baoase distinguishes itself from other luxury resorts in the Caribbean by offering impeccable attention to detail, an unparalleled level of service and- a commitment to creating a unique holiday spot for the world’s most discriminating traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelUp, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Baoase Luxury Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baoase Luxury Hotel Willemstad
Baoase Luxury Resort Curacao/Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing