We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A First Class, Low Key Beach Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Baoase Luxury Resort
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in Willemstad
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2012

Visited Baoase with my girlfriend recently and overall, it was a great experience. The landscaping is particularly pleasing and makes the relatively small property quite interesting and seem much larger than it is. The staff was very accommodating and nice, absolutely no complaints there. We were even able to get snorkeling gear (pool guy was super nice and accommodating) and used the on site kayaks for a bit. We stayed in a second floor suite and had some issues with our hot tub, but it didn't impact our experience at all (was apparently leaking below the porch). I made a reservation for a romantic "picnic-style dinner" on the beach and it blew away my expectations. Every detail was very well taken care of and the food was amazing. Definitely worth additional cost. If you are looking for a quiet, relaxing beach vacation, Baoase is a great choice.

Room Tip: 2nd floor suites seem more private than 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DTHNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (548)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

321 - 327 of 548 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2012

Terrific spot. We arrived and were upgraded to a villa! Absolutely beautiful accommodations. Every luxury. Prompt and courteous service, full amenities. Always a place to sit on the little beach, lovely enclosed lagoon. Even had their "own" pelican that would dive for fish all day! A very nice base to travel from to other adventures, too. Claire, the daytime concierge, was absolutely perfect. Will definitely come there again!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank AFSurgeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

went here for our honeymoon. this place was absolutely unreal. Private to the nth degree. Service unbelievable and friendly. Food was unreal, best we had on the whole island. Bedroom was great, outdoor tub/shower....awesome. Pool area, 2nd to none. Private lagoon as good as it gets. Close to everything and staff helps with everything you could ask for. Carlos, snorkeling and scuba, is a must

Room Tip: if it is just two of you, no need for an entire villa. Just get the small banyan tree room. Bedroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 11S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

The hotel was merely OK. For what was supposed to be a "luxury" property, I was a bit upset to see plastic flowers in the room and no writing paper or pen. You also couldn't put out a "do not disturb" sign on your door, which, even though we weren't really disturbed (except one time), didn't give us a comfortable feeling. We felt that someone could enter the room while we were there at any time. I was also quite upset at the fact that if we wanted to eat breakfast, there was a "minimum" charge of $40.00 per person - no matter what we ordered. For my wife and myself, that meant that breakfast for the week we were there cost us $560.00. If we wanted to use the pool, we had to use the one that was attached to a villa that was already occupied by another couple - also not very comfortable.

Room Tip: If you choose a villa, be prepared that the pool there won't be yours to use exclusively. Altho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

My Finacé and I booked this hotel for our Thanksgiving vacation, but also so we could look at it as a possible destination wedding location.

The rooms are stunning! Well designed for the smallish space. The dark wood accents and modern yet sleek and sexy decor makes the room very romantic. We had what they called a Honeymoon Suite. Housekeeping manages to be mysteriously out of view, yet upon our return from a day full of sun, our room was alawys spotless and clean.

Do take note. There IS NO REAL GYM. They have a small space, across the street from the hotel, that has one bike, one decent treadmill and one rickety treadmill. And it is uncomfortably HOT. Yes there is air condition, but the windows don't seal, or close, so it never cools down. Silly really.

Service at dinner is VERY good. It is rather inconsistent during the day time however, with long wait times for drinks/coffee, and in-between courses. Even getting the basics like a menu or napkin would take 15-20 minutes most days.

Angelo the Bartender is great! Make sure HE makes your drinks and you will be happy. He knows how to make everything! Even a Yellowbird Cocktail. I do wish the "welcome drinks" had alcohol in them. It's the first time I ever had a "virgin" welcome drink.

The food at the restaurant is very good, especially at dinner, but the kitchen does tend to be inconsistent with portion sizes (ordered the same entree two nights in a row and the second night it was half the size of the first). Over-salting is another common occurrence keeping the restaurant from reaching a more outstanding level of dining. But sitting on the beach enjoying a meal with someone you love, while hearing the beautiful water roll in and out is just lovely.

If only the music was MORE ROMANTIC. Michael Jackson's Thriller at dinner? Seriously? And Nelly signing "it's getting hot in here, so take off all your clothes". There were kids at the table next to us! Not Appropriate. I felt like I was at a Beaches Resort, or a Club Med. Yeesh! It's a shame because the setting is so romantic. Some jazzy 'world' music or spa-like Asian music would be more appropriate to match the theme of the Hotel.

Speaking of a spa, it was very nice to have a massage by the beach under a gazebo, but there is no actual Spa on property. Not yet at least. The Hotel does have an expansion planned.

If you want to see the town, rent a car. Taxi's are extremely pricey for short distances. The hotel is located a short distance from downtown Willemstad, but it is not walkable. They have OFF bug spray in the room. Use it or you will get destroyed by Mosquitoes!

While on Property, visit the land turtles and have them show you the live Conch shells!

A beautiful Hotel...great for a vacation. Just not the right wedding spot for us! The sunsets from the edge of the beach are a MUST SEE! And the pink colored quartz rocks make a perfect perch to watch it from.


This Hotel i

Room Tip: I'd recommend a room on the second level. The resort is quiet so no matter which room you have i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank MValetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

My husband and I chose Baoase to celebrate our 1st wedding anniversary and we couldn't have enjoyed our time in Curacao more. The resort is absolutely stunning and the staff went above and beyond every single day we were there. Our room was perfect and the staff was so helpful in booking day trips for us, massages and transportation. We want to bring our friends back to experience it! Thanks for an unforgettable trip!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ashley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

We have stayed at many hotels in Curacao and around the world but none compare to the complete experience at Baoase.

From the moment we walked into the gated entrance, we felt completely pampered and happy! Our villa was beautiful with all the amentities of a warm and welcoming home. The food was excellent.

We did have some problems with the shower door and a dishwasher we could not get to work but problems were addressed promptly and it was minor compared to our incredible experience there.

The staff is warm and friendly and even fixed us a "to go" breakfast for our plane ride. The service was good and we fell in love with this resort! I highly recommend this to any family or couple looking for a complete get away.

We can't wait to get back there!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank suznads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Willemstad
0.8 mi away
Van der Valk Kontiki Beach Resort
1.1 mi away
Scuba Lodge & Suites
Scuba Lodge & Suites
#2 of 32 in Willemstad
678 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lions Dive & Beach Resort Curacao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
BijBlauw
BijBlauw
#4 of 32 in Willemstad
361 reviews
2.6 mi away
Papagayo Beach Resort
Papagayo Beach Resort
#10 of 32 in Willemstad
339 reviews
4.5 mi away
Santa Barbara Beach & Golf Resort, Curacao
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baoase Luxury Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baoase Luxury Resort

Address: Winterswijkstraat 2, Willemstad 00000, Curacao
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Willemstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Willemstad
#1 Family Hotel in Willemstad
#1 Luxury Hotel in Willemstad
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Willemstad
#1 Spa Hotel in Willemstad
#1 Romantic Hotel in Willemstad
Price Range: $564 - $1,491 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Baoase Luxury Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The ultra-exclusive resort promises to provide an unforgettable experience to guests seeking a peaceful retreat in comfort and style. With 23 extravagant rooms, suites and villas, the resort is the ultimate getaway for luxury seeker. In line with the love of Balinese style, something unique and highly luxurious was created. Different elements were incorporated in the design of the resort such as cool, dark woods and vases, antiques, and other elegant artefacts scattered throughout the property to set off the natural beauty of the surroundings. The resort’s philosophy of barefoot elegance brings luxury back to its essence. Unique are the water basins located at the guest room entrances. They are designed so guests can wash their feet before entering their accommodation which is also a Balinese custom. The ultra-exclusive resort promises to provide an unforgettable experience to guests seeking a peaceful retreat in comfort and style. Baoase distinguishes itself from other luxury resorts in the Caribbean by offering impeccable attention to detail, an unparalleled level of service and- a commitment to creating a unique holiday spot for the world’s most discriminating traveller. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TravelUp, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Baoase Luxury Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baoase Luxury Hotel Willemstad
Baoase Luxury Resort Curacao/Willemstad

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing